$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR Guy
Business
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 5, 2009

Friendly Service

Excellent downtown location with easy access on and off to Interstate and Highways. Impeccable service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 3, 2009

Most pleasant domestic accommodations

I rave about this hotel. Staff was welcoming at all times, room and housekeeping were attentive, and the oldest Dallas hotel is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 30, 2009

not impressed, way too hyped

I was not impressed by this place. Reading all the reviews it seemed as though everyone loved this place and raved about it. I ran into several issues that would not be the end of the world in most places but this place screams 5 star service, quality, ambiance from the rooftops so when they underdeliver it's very disappointing and they should suffer the consequences of not living up to their claims. The comforter in my room was stained. I had an awful view of a brick wall from my room. My wakeup call was about 10 minutes late. The much ballyhooed French Room was closed for two weeks for renovations/cleaning--nothing was posted about that prior to my trip and was planning on having a business dinner there. I tried to eat dinner at the Rodeo bar which is one of their restaurants--after sending back one dish for still being frozen and the next order taking nearly 30 minutes and made completely wrong I actually left without eating. At checkout when the lady at the desk asked me how my stay was and I said "Disappointing" she simply said "I'm sorry"--she showed no concern or care and didn't even want to know why it was disappointing--why even ask the question if you don't care about the answer--CERTAINLY NOT 5 STAR SERVICE. It was adequate and I got a great deal on the room so it's not the end of the world but it certainly wasn't a great experience and if I had paid top dollar I would've left very angry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dresden
Business
Killeen, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Great old historic hotel... no pool

I really enjoyed the overall experience of the Adolphus. Be sure to expect to pay about $20 a night for parking in their garage because of Valet. There is no pool, but the rooms were very nice. Right downtown and had a great antique/historic feel. Unfortunately our first room leaked which was a two queen bed room. Our "upgrade" when we were moved was to a two queen bed "Suite", which was the same as our last room only smaller... not sure what they meant by an upgrade. Great place to stay for a weekend getaway though. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just up the street are quite a few restaurants, with a lot of tex-mex, but some Italian and some Asian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ava Top Notch
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 15, 2009

Comfort, Comfort and more Comfort

It was a great restful place. I loved the furnishings but wasn't too crazy about the fact that my coffee cups were dirty. Made me a little uneasy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 13, 2009

Fantastic hotel for the price

This is a great place to stay. Staff very friendly and hotel located downtown. We attended our son's graduation at UT Southwestern and was looking for a place downtown. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
"Dam Dam"
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2009

Affable Splendor

You will not believe that you are just steps away from the best cultural attractions in Dallas as you settle into the comfortable splendor of your room. The Adolphus has been a favorite of mine for years, and the staff remains among the most helpful in Texas. If you want elegant dining, stay inside and go to the French Room, and/or celebrate a special occasion with afternoon "High Tea" for under $50. But if you want moderate and varietal food, take a short walk and enjoy an outdoor cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Consider taking the train to Dallas. The Amtrak station is just six blocks away and can be reached on foot if you pack light. Dealey Plaza, the site of President Kennedy's assassination, is about the same distance. There's a surprisingly well-equipped urban market only three blocks away, threading your way through the AT&T plaza. It has an affordable and good gourmet food and wine section. The aptly named Majestic Theatre is just steps away on Elm street and offers quality live performances. We got great last minute tickets to the Dallas Black Dance Theatre. Starbucks is across the street on Commerce and Akard. If you like a full American style breakfast on Saturday or Sundays, your choices outside the hotel are limited. The only place that we found to get an American style breakfast was Mr. Kim's (actually run by his wife, Mrs. Kim!), located on Akard and Pacific. It is not fancy, but you'll have a window seat to the action in the area, and Mrs. Kim is hilarious! Finally, you can also walk off those calories by walking to the Dallas Museum of Art and West End, which has a great array of bars, restaurants, and a superb candy shop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Over-worked, Under-rested
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 1, 2009

Absolutely Fabulous

We like romantic get aways to historical hotels. This hotel was perfect. Located in the heart of Dallas, within walking distance of fine dining and shopping. Exemplary service 24/7. This historical hotel has maintain its elegance and quality of service throughout the years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adolphus is within walking distance of great dining and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria
May 25, 2009

Beautiful hotel, outstanding service!

I stayed at the Adolphus in Feb on business, loved it and returned this weekend with family. We took high tea (6 ladies attended) that was memorable with really outstanding wait staff providing the best service I have experienced. While pricey, the tea, food and the experience were well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food, shopping, the refurbished downtown area (Pegasus square and a prayer park - rock fountains and greenery) are right outside your door or within a short walk. A car ride that the hotel will provide with executive service will take you to other notable landmarks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul,MN
May 18, 2009

good

liked the car service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top