$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013
Dallas Classic

The hotel is a Dallas classic old Lady. Great location close to Main St. and many excellent... See full review

  • Dr.Ed
  • May 18, 2014

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KirstenJ
Plano, TX, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent!

Had a great time. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Crain
Dallas, TX
Oct 18, 2009

Awesome stay at Adolphus

Aweseome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A+ Adolphus!!
Dallas Tx.
Oct 11, 2009

Hotel with History!

Fantastic trip and a fantastic hotel! Service was superb and every need was met with a smile! Great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Arts district in Dallas has all you need in the way of entertainment!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toonbaby
Gainesville,Tx
Jul 26, 2009

Nice getaway

The hotel was nice. Never stayed at a 4 star hotel before. The bed was great and I loved the shower. The doorman was very nice as well as the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at an Italian resturant call Raveena. It was excellent. Would love to go back sometime soon.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MS
Jul 23, 2009

Great Hotel

It doesn't get any nicer than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adyon
Goodwell, OK
Jul 16, 2009

Amazing Deal

We were there to sell merchandise at a nearby convention. We decided to try out the Adolphus, which was even having a rather large sale at the moment, so we of course had to jump on it. Very amazing and clean rooms, full of amenities and finishing touches. The only downside if there was one, was the fact that the view was of the neighboring building's wall, so we just drew the blinds all the time. The staff was very courteous, and even though we felt under dressed when we first arrived, (long trips tend to make one look ragged) the staff didn't treat us any different than if we'd arrived in full business/suit attire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little Italian place located behind the hotel is a wonderful restaurant with a very trendy appeal.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR Guy
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 5, 2009

Friendly Service

Excellent downtown location with easy access on and off to Interstate and Highways. Impeccable service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 3, 2009

Most pleasant domestic accommodations

I rave about this hotel. Staff was welcoming at all times, room and housekeeping were attentive, and the oldest Dallas hotel is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 30, 2009

not impressed, way too hyped

I was not impressed by this place. Reading all the reviews it seemed as though everyone loved this place and raved about it. I ran into several issues that would not be the end of the world in most places but this place screams 5 star service, quality, ambiance from the rooftops so when they underdeliver it's very disappointing and they should suffer the consequences of not living up to their claims. The comforter in my room was stained. I had an awful view of a brick wall from my room. My wakeup call was about 10 minutes late. The much ballyhooed French Room was closed for two weeks for renovations/cleaning--nothing was posted about that prior to my trip and was planning on having a business dinner there. I tried to eat dinner at the Rodeo bar which is one of their restaurants--after sending back one dish for still being frozen and the next order taking nearly 30 minutes and made completely wrong I actually left without eating. At checkout when the lady at the desk asked me how my stay was and I said "Disappointing" she simply said "I'm sorry"--she showed no concern or care and didn't even want to know why it was disappointing--why even ask the question if you don't care about the answer--CERTAINLY NOT 5 STAR SERVICE. It was adequate and I got a great deal on the room so it's not the end of the world but it certainly wasn't a great experience and if I had paid top dollar I would've left very angry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dresden
Killeen, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Great old historic hotel... no pool

I really enjoyed the overall experience of the Adolphus. Be sure to expect to pay about $20 a night for parking in their garage because of Valet. There is no pool, but the rooms were very nice. Right downtown and had a great antique/historic feel. Unfortunately our first room leaked which was a two queen bed room. Our "upgrade" when we were moved was to a two queen bed "Suite", which was the same as our last room only smaller... not sure what they meant by an upgrade. Great place to stay for a weekend getaway though. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just up the street are quite a few restaurants, with a lot of tex-mex, but some Italian and some Asian cuisine.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ava Top Notch
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 15, 2009

Comfort, Comfort and more Comfort

It was a great restful place. I loved the furnishings but wasn't too crazy about the fact that my coffee cups were dirty. Made me a little uneasy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search