$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Nice Hotel for most part

Hotel experience was fine. Everyone was very friendly. But they put us in a section of the hotel that was very outdated. We had stayed there before in a different room that was not outdated so I think because we booked through a travel site they put us in the un-rennovated section. It was clean, just old looking and dark. But beds were comfy and nothing really to complain about so overall good stay for the price. Also, breakfast the next morning was delicious and the staff at the bistro was extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iron Cactus

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inge the Explorer
Single
New York, NY
May 26, 2010

Distance to Art District

Weekend trip to visit the Art District's Museums, Symphony Hall, Winspear Opera, Wyly Theater and Rachofsky House. Best place to stay without renting a car, is the Fairmont Hotel, because of close walking distance to most events, could not get in (lots of weddings), Adolphus next best. [...] guaranteed deluxe kingbed room, only got a queenbed,on a low floor. I was charged $9.50 for a bottle of Fiji Water (maybe 1 liter)which had been sitting on top of the mini bar (crazy), never opened the minibar. No concierge was ever on duty, and bellhops pretended to be concierges and claimed to be able to get you tickets to the opera, which never happened. When I called the reception at 11pm to complain about this lack of service, security answered and laughed. There definitely was no 5 star service!!!!I had read that the hotel serves high tea in the lobby in the afternoon and when I happened to walk into the lobby tired from walking back from the Arts District in 90 degree heat,I asked to be served tea. I was told that only if I had made a reservation could I get this service. I finally found a waiter who was willing to get me a pot of tea after I explained that I was a hotel guest and not a walk-in with a reservation.....it's a convention hotel that does not care about individual travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus Flagship store

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Health Insurance Guy
Business
Memphis, TN
May 23, 2010

An Excellent Stay In Downtown Dallas

I arrived early but was checked into a room with no hassles and upgraded to a king size bed at no extra charge. My room was large, spotlessly clean and quiet. The hotel itself is opulent and reeks of class. If you are attending a conference or business meeting in downtown Dallas the Hotel Adolphus should definitely be on your short list of choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
May 18, 2010

Adolphus

Very nice and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demographer
Business
Brazil
Apr 24, 2010

Very nice

Good location, near stores, restaurants and public transit. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Mamma
Friends
killeen texas
Apr 11, 2010

Classy, clean and friendly

Friendly staff, clean room, lovely sitting area with piano player....just had a wonderful time. Great restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Five sixty

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Very nice stay

The hotel decor is old world- dark woods and antiques. The bed was so comfortable!! Everything was clean- the service was great! This was much better than the last time we came to Dallas- this hotel is very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Feb 8, 2010

Lovely hotel, bad bed

The Adolphus is a grand old hotel, nicely rennovated a few years ago. It is in the heart of downtown within walking distance of Neiman Marcus and other notable attractions. The staff is gracious and friendly, beginning with the doorman and the valet, to the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, and the restaurant staff. [...] The decor was attractive but a little faded, and we had the usual ammenities such as minibar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, etc. One downside was the lack of good lighting especially in the bathroom. Doing makeup there was a challenge. The only full length mirror was in the walk-in closet with the dimmest light I've ever seen. But the worst thing was the mattress. On the side nearest the bedside phone, the mattress was completely broken down, presumably by people sitting there to make phone calls. Sleeping on that side of the bed was not just uncomfortable, it was impossible. Fortunately, it was a king bed, so there was room to move away from the broken portion. I should have notified the hotel of the problem and perhaps they would have moved us to another room but, since we were there only two nights, it seemed a hassle to pack up and move. I did mention this at checkout and was told they would "check into it." No hotel should let their mattresses become so old and broken down -- even in those rooms that they offer to discounters. I was very disappointed with this part of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Antonio, TX
Feb 3, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.

Great Room although alittle small for what we paid for it. Very comfortable bed and the hotel looks gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Decatur, Ga
Dec 2, 2009

My thanksgiving stay at the Adolphus

I love old historic hotels. One of my favorites is the Biltmore in Downtonw LA. The Adolphus remineded me of that genre of hotel. I also love old Downtowns, once the proud centers of major Americans cities, allowed to decline and now climbing slowly back to life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Adolphus is right down the street from the original Neiman Marcus and there are restaurants in the area. We were there to see friends and family but felt there was lots to walk to that was of interest.

Back to menu Return to top