$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Oct 26, 2010

A Classic

In Dallas for my SMU reunion. Stayed in a junior suite. Large, beautiful room, traditionally decorated. Very quiet and clean. Very comfortable bed and soft sheets. We checked in early and our room was ready. The lighting in the hallways is fluorescent, which is not really flattering. The bath has a lighted makeup mirror, which I always love having, as I have one at home. The staff was great, from the front desk to the bartender in the French Room bar. Location was great, just about 10 minutes to SMU from the hotel. Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The French Room bar is great place for a nightcap!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 18, 2010

Wonderful hotel

I only stayed one night, but I had an excellent experience in this hotel. My rate was excellent and I was in a small suite (which I had not requested)--a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful. The complementary sedan for close travel was super. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant I ate at within the hotel was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J&R's MOM
Business
Pelham, NH
Oct 14, 2010

trip

Although I did not spend that much time at the hotel. I found it so nice. The rooms are enormous! I couldn't believe when I walked in and saw how big they were. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and next time I am in Dallas I will stay no where else but the Adolphus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 5, 2010

Busy Weekend but....

I was very disappointed, Valet parking was expensive @ $24.00 a day. Sheets were stained(so the housekieeper said),looked dirty to me. NO apology by her or hotel. I had to call housekeeping twice before someone showed up after 45 min. or so, crunched for time, I had planned on a short nap before getting ready for the evening...but after waiting, not much time to do that. When I went to wash my hands, NO SOAP!!! Tiny bottle of conditioner would not stay in bath dish in shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 4, 2010

TX / OU weekend - Adolphus

Nice, Older hotel in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tulsa
Oct 3, 2010

good family getaway

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richardson, TX
Sep 27, 2010

Adolphus Hotel: downtown Dallas, TX

Anniversary overnight get-away. It was a great to stay here. I'm in the lighting business, so I notice it everywhere. The hotel needs to update their lighting to the most effective lighting and energy efficient lighting sources. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roma Restaurant & Bar: Great Italian food and wine at a very reasonable price. It's on Main Street.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abilene, tx
Sep 20, 2010

nice stay

Hotel in heart of downtown Dallas, valet parking only, costs $24 a day. Historic place, the lobby and common areas were very impressive with antique furniture and art, intricate architecture. The room was ok, you could tell it was old, I prefer modern rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Euless, TX
Sep 12, 2010

small bed

Disappointed in room. We were supposed to get either one king or two beds, instead we got one full size bed. We arrived late and had a wedding to attend, so didnt have time to ask for another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 30, 2010

Yuck! Very, very disappointed!

I was extremely disappointed with the hotel. I chose specifically because of all of the glowing reviews. Previous reviewers must have VERY LOW expectations for a hotel. The decor is very dark and dingy, old decor (yes, OLD, not antique--think of circa 1980 grandma's house--busy florals everywhere, lots of knick-knackery). Ancient TV, brown toilet, old dark bedspread, uncomfortable room set-up, no ice on any of the floors (you have to call room service to get ice), no business center. I was really looking forward to having a lovely room to come back to at the end of long workdays (I was traveling on business)--not a chance. If I had not prepaid, I would have left and gone somewhere else asap. Do not believe the photos on the hotel website; it looks nothing like that. From now on, I am only staying at the Fairmont or ALOFT when staying downtown Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top