$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN on the Island

3 stars
View map of 14050 S Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6026

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
15 reviews
Just a night getaway

The location was great, its the first hotel beyond the bridge. Very clean. Staff was friendly. Very... See full review

  • alicia y.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Extened our stay

We had such a great time and the hotel was so nice, we stayed an extra day. Very nice staff, great... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 2, 2014
Escape to this Corpus Christi, Texas hotel located on beautiful Padre Island and enjoy convenient access to the beach, Texas A&M and Padre Island National Seashore. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN on the Island where guests will be greeted with warm Texas hospitality and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price in a location offering all the luxuries of island relaxation close to city excitement. Guests staying at this Corpus Christi hotel will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television with HBO®, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access, some with Corpus Bay views. Start the day off right with a complimentary full breakfast or with a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool. To help making traveling to South Padre Island even more comfortable, the BEST WESTERN on the Island features complimentary boat parking for all guests. There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN on the Island while visiting South Padre Island TX. Guests can spend the day at the beach enjoying windsurfing, fishing and surfing or hiking and biking through nearby Padre Island National Seashore. Craving a little city life? Take a quick drive to downtown Corpus Christi, located just 12 miles away from the hotel. And no trip to South Padres Island is complete without participating in some local bird watching. What's more, the BEST WESTERN on the Island is also situated close to Texas A&M making this Corpus Christi hotel ideal lodging when visiting friends or family. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN on the Island is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Corpus Christi, Texas. Make a reservation today and save!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN on the Island also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN on the Island Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Dining

Islander Cafe
0.50 mile(s) from Islander Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
bar/lounge
0.50 mile(s) from Pelican Lounge, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, dining and drinks
Office Lounge
3.00 mile(s) from Office Lounge, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, tropical dining and drinks
Sushibar
0.25 mile(s) from Sushibar, bar/lounge, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Tsunami
1.50 mile(s) from Tsunami, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, dining and drinks
Padre Cafe
1.50 mile(s) from Padre Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Good N Crisp Chicken
1.00 mile(s) from Good N Crisp Chicken, bar/lounge, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Fried Chicken
Whataburger
0.10 mile(s) from Whataburger, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Snoopy's
0.25 mile(s) from Snoopy's, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, seafood and burgers
Farah's Waterhole
0.50 mile(s) from Farah's Waterhole, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Island

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ninko
Couples
chicago area
Jan 27, 2011

nice place to stay

good central location for fun and sun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to beachs,fishing and nightlife

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alicia y.
Couples
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Just a night getaway

The location was great, its the first hotel beyond the bridge. Very clean. Staff was friendly. Very comfortable. And trust me, I'm a germaphobe, I check all the pillows, sheets, & towels first. But our room was very tidy. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie C.
Family
Savage
Jan 7, 2015

Not great

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days on a family vacation. The room was comfortable, but not clean. We found dirty underwear behind the tv and used soap in the closet. Wi-fi didn't work consistently and we had to go to the front desk 3 times to make the stupid clean tv remote work. The hotel staff wasn't awful, but they seemed annoyed about needing to help us. On the positive side, we were not a far drive from the beach and the breakfast was awesome. Waffles, eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits and all the other continental basics. I was impressed with the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bryan
Dec 2, 2014

Extened our stay

We had such a great time and the hotel was so nice, we stayed an extra day. Very nice staff, great breakfast and clean rooms. Location is great for food, fun and fishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelson
Couples
Bryan
Dec 1, 2014

Great Thanksgiving Get Away

My husband and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The room was ready when we arrived, clean and very nice. The breakfast was really good, waffles, eggs, gravy and biscuits along with pastries and fruit. The hotel is pet friendly - we didn't have any pets, but when we asked to be moved to another room due to a new checks in's pet, they took care of us right away, no problem. The staff was always friendly and helpful and Smiling ! We decided to extend our stay one more night and they gladly accommodated us. Great Stay. We will book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kuzina Mediterranean Grill 3801 Saratoga Blvd. Corpus Christi. AMAZING food, Very Fresh and Tasty, uses quality meats and vegetables. Pricing is also great.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ready to travel anytime
Couples
Fort Collins,CO
Oct 22, 2014

needs remodel

The hotel was in need of updating. The outside was very dirty. The staff was great and were working as a team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Segways were really fun. The owner gave a wonderful tour. This is in Corpus Christi.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texasboy tnell
Single
Odessa, Tx
Sep 7, 2014

beach getaway

Staff was friendly and professional upon check in. Beach is only a short drive away. Very relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Thai restaurant across the freeway is awesome.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ECarol
Couples
Fredericksburg, Tx
Sep 3, 2014

Location was good

This Best Western is located away from the water but between the two beach areas. We were on a trip to check out the area and this was a good location to start from. Pool was across from our room and provided the water experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Transplants
Couples
Scertz, TX
Aug 14, 2014

Quick Getaway

Stayed a couple of nights just to see the Island and Corpus Christi. We chose this hotel because we travel with our dogs. The staff were very pleasant. The room was ok and could probably stand a little renovation in the near future. I didn't sleep well the first night because of other patrons (no fault of hotel) and an uncomfortable mattress. It probably should be replaced. I wish they would consider landscaping a dog area because ours wouldn't walk on the available grass due to abundant burrs and stickers. All in all, we still had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc's has great shrimp.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RR Vacay
Family
san antonio, tx
Aug 5, 2014

just ok

Room was clean and ac worked great..only flaw was the refrigerator/freezer DID NOT WORK..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joeshm0
Friends
Dallas, TX
Apr 30, 2014

Enjoyable stay

We only stayed for one night, but the staff was extremely friendly and the location was great. The beds were comfy. Shower head was kind of broken - but I didn't mind. I'm easy to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top