$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

BEST WESTERN on the Island

3 stars
View map of 14050 S Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6026

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Extened our stay

We had such a great time and the hotel was so nice, we stayed an extra day. Very nice staff, great... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 2, 2014
Great Thanksgiving Get Away

My husband and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The room was ready when we arrived, clean... See full review

  • Kelson
  • Dec 1, 2014
Escape to this Corpus Christi, Texas hotel located on beautiful Padre Island and enjoy convenient access to the beach, Texas A&M and Padre Island National Seashore. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN on the Island where guests will be greeted with warm Texas hospitality and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price in a location offering all the luxuries of island relaxation close to city excitement. Guests staying at this Corpus Christi hotel will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television with HBO®, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access, some with Corpus Bay views. Start the day off right with a complimentary full breakfast or with a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool. To help making traveling to South Padre Island even more comfortable, the BEST WESTERN on the Island features complimentary boat parking for all guests. There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN on the Island while visiting South Padre Island TX. Guests can spend the day at the beach enjoying windsurfing, fishing and surfing or hiking and biking through nearby Padre Island National Seashore. Craving a little city life? Take a quick drive to downtown Corpus Christi, located just 12 miles away from the hotel. And no trip to South Padres Island is complete without participating in some local bird watching. What's more, the BEST WESTERN on the Island is also situated close to Texas A&M making this Corpus Christi hotel ideal lodging when visiting friends or family. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN on the Island is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Corpus Christi, Texas. Make a reservation today and save!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN on the Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN on the Island Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Dining

Subway
0.10 mile(s) from Subway, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Snoopy's
0.25 mile(s) from Snoopy's, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, seafood and burgers
Farah's Waterhole
0.50 mile(s) from Farah's Waterhole, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, lounge
Island Italian
2.00 mile(s) from Island Italian, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Padre Cafe
1.50 mile(s) from Padre Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Whataburger
0.10 mile(s) from Whataburger, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Padre Pizza
1.00 mile(s) from Padre Pizza, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
bar/lounge
0.50 mile(s) from Pelican Lounge, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, dining and drinks
Good N Crisp Chicken
1.00 mile(s) from Good N Crisp Chicken, bar/lounge, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Fried Chicken
Tsunami
1.50 mile(s) from Tsunami, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, dining and drinks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Island

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ninko
chicago area
Jan 27, 2011

nice place to stay

good central location for fun and sun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to beachs,fishing and nightlife

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie C.
Business
Savage
Jan 7, 2015

Not great

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days on a family vacation. The room was comfortable, but not clean. We found dirty underwear behind the tv and used soap in the closet. Wi-fi didn't work consistently and we had to go to the front desk 3 times to make the stupid clean tv remote work. The hotel staff wasn't awful, but they seemed annoyed about needing to help us. On the positive side, we were not a far drive from the beach and the breakfast was awesome. Waffles, eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits and all the other continental basics. I was impressed with the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bryan
Dec 2, 2014

Extened our stay

We had such a great time and the hotel was so nice, we stayed an extra day. Very nice staff, great breakfast and clean rooms. Location is great for food, fun and fishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelson
Business
Bryan
Dec 1, 2014

Great Thanksgiving Get Away

My husband and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The room was ready when we arrived, clean and very nice. The breakfast was really good, waffles, eggs, gravy and biscuits along with pastries and fruit. The hotel is pet friendly - we didn't have any pets, but when we asked to be moved to another room due to a new checks in's pet, they took care of us right away, no problem. The staff was always friendly and helpful and Smiling ! We decided to extend our stay one more night and they gladly accommodated us. Great Stay. We will book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kuzina Mediterranean Grill 3801 Saratoga Blvd. Corpus Christi. AMAZING food, Very Fresh and Tasty, uses quality meats and vegetables. Pricing is also great.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ready to travel anytime
Business
Fort Collins,CO
Oct 22, 2014

needs remodel

The hotel was in need of updating. The outside was very dirty. The staff was great and were working as a team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Segways were really fun. The owner gave a wonderful tour. This is in Corpus Christi.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texasboy tnell
Business
Odessa, Tx
Sep 7, 2014

beach getaway

Staff was friendly and professional upon check in. Beach is only a short drive away. Very relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Thai restaurant across the freeway is awesome.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ECarol
Business
Fredericksburg, Tx
Sep 3, 2014

Location was good

This Best Western is located away from the water but between the two beach areas. We were on a trip to check out the area and this was a good location to start from. Pool was across from our room and provided the water experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Transplants
Business
Scertz, TX
Aug 14, 2014

Quick Getaway

Stayed a couple of nights just to see the Island and Corpus Christi. We chose this hotel because we travel with our dogs. The staff were very pleasant. The room was ok and could probably stand a little renovation in the near future. I didn't sleep well the first night because of other patrons (no fault of hotel) and an uncomfortable mattress. It probably should be replaced. I wish they would consider landscaping a dog area because ours wouldn't walk on the available grass due to abundant burrs and stickers. All in all, we still had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc's has great shrimp.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RR Vacay
Business
san antonio, tx
Aug 5, 2014

just ok

Room was clean and ac worked great..only flaw was the refrigerator/freezer DID NOT WORK..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joeshm0
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 30, 2014

Enjoyable stay

We only stayed for one night, but the staff was extremely friendly and the location was great. The beds were comfy. Shower head was kind of broken - but I didn't mind. I'm easy to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NMCatcher
Business
Las Cruces, NM
May 24, 2013

BEWARE of what may hit your credit card after you leave

The stay was fine, but beware of what may hit your credit card after you leave. I recently stayed at this hotel after making a 14 hour drive pulling a boat. I was extremely tired, as you might imagine, and was only interested in a comfortable quiet place to sleep. The first thing I did after checking in was to go to a local sea food restaurant named “Doc's” and had a good meal. I returned to the hotel with going to bed as my highest priority ( I was making the return 14 hour drive the next day#. Before I went to bed I turned on the TV to check the Masters Golf Tournament scores and noticed that the TV screen was broken #I did not break it#. I thought it was pretty shoddy to have a broken TV in the room, but it came on and I saw the scores and then I turned it off and went to bed. I got up the next morning and drove home. Nothing ever crossed my mind about telling anyone about the TV because I assumed they were already aware. Bad assumption on my part! One week later we saw a charge for $500 on our credit card #in additional to the room charge#. The Best Western hotel never called to ask about the TV. They just charged my card #which is scary in itself)! After calling and talking with someone at the hotel, I called Best Western Customer Care and related the story to a very nice representative. She said she would check into it and we would hear something in about 7 days. We received a call from the hotel manager with an explanation of how their “procedures” work for inspecting the room and implied that it was fine when I checked in, but that they were going to refund the $500 and that it would take about three weeks. Well three weeks passed with no refund. I called Best Western Customer Care again and talked to a different representative who was less nice, but still business like. I was told that I signed a statement saying I was responsible for damages. Does anyone read the fine print on a check in card? I was informed that the manger had denied our refund, and that was the end of the story. The story is not over because I have gotten our credit card company involved, so we will see. I am a 63 year old retired businessman and belong to several hotel, airline and rental car frequent traveler programs. I have traveled extensively over the last 40 years and this is the first time something like this has happened. If you stay here DON'T use a credit card because if the toilet quits working you might get a charge for a plumber!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top