$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

W Austin

4 stars
200 Lavaca Street, 200 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
6 reviews
Great anniversary experience

My husband and I chose to splurge on a few nights at the W Austin to celebrate our one year wedding... See full review

  • Austin Lady
  • Nov 11, 2014
Great Anniversary Stay!

This place is AMAZING! A must place to stay! I can't wait to come back. See full review

  • BJO2
  • Sep 4, 2012
Taking Centerstage In Austin. Setting the stage for contemporary luxury, W Austin amplifies the city's electrifying eclecticism, headlining the vibrant 2ND Street District in the "Live Music Capital of the World," and pulsating with its spirit of independence and creativity. On The Marquee. Ready for showtime? On the playlist: A restaurant with thoughtfully local eats, socializing in the Living Room, getting into rock star shape at FIT, rehabbing at AWAY® Spa, and getting WET® at a pool party, all while making it easy to be green. Stay In. Rock Out. Indulge in rock star comforts of our 251 rooms—perfectly positioned windows with postcard views of Lady Bird Lake or the downtown skyline, and our signature amenities. For an encore, our Whatever/Whenever® service makes all wishes come true.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Austin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

W Austin Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Zach Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.2 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.4 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.5 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.6 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Zach Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.2 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.4 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.5 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.1 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.4 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.4 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.1 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.4 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.2 mi

Dining

Trace
Conscious cuisine thoughtfully re-defined as locavorous gastronomy, bursting with a cornucopia of Central Texas flavors. At Trace, local, sustainable produce infused with international flair is what's for dinner.
Living Room
Enter the Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in farm-to-cocktail caucusing.
WET® Bar
Laze on deck chairs by the pool soaked in sun rays, cocktail in hand and listen to the sounds of summer in the air. The WET® Bar is where it's at.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for W Austin

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin Lady
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 11, 2014

Great anniversary experience

My husband and I chose to splurge on a few nights at the W Austin to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. This hotel was absolutely beautiful and very close to our weekend destination. We had a great late night meal from Trace and enjoyed our balcony overlooking the city and hotel pool. Our room was extremely nice and very modern. The only downside was that we got charged for every little thing, including very expensive parking. However, overall-the stay was wonderful and the staff was fantastic and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Austin Java has great breakfast and coffee and is just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Cindy
Business
Oklahoma
Jan 24, 2013

Not quite what I expected

Overall, the hotel was not what I was expecting for the price. The staff in general were very service oriented. The bathroom had a tub/shower combination unlike anything I have ever seen. The sides of the tub were so high, I literally skinned my knee trying to get my short legs over the side of the tub! Otherwise the room was very clean and comfortable. The carpet in the lounge areas was quite nasty, however; very stained and definitely needs to be replaced. I did not feel that this hotel was worthy of more than 3 stars and not worth what I paid for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lambert's is great! Sort of a gourmet barbeque place. Loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJO2
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 4, 2012

Great Anniversary Stay!

This place is AMAZING! A must place to stay! I can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Second Bar & Kitchen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyrce
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 18, 2012

A wonderful experience with only minor drawbacks

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in July and very much enjoyed the hotel. The room was lovely as were the public spaces and the pool. The room was small but that wasn't really an issue. A tougher challenge was that it was lacking in storage space. Still we very much enjoyed the styling and it was comfortable overall although the bed seemed possibly a bit saggy on one side. The staff was great with the exception of one waitress at the bar. The concierge was especially accommodating to go and pick up my phone when I had left it at a restaurant so that we wouldn't have to take a cab. Also they did their best to accommodate my husband's sinus infection by changing the air filter and bringing him helpful items. The whole place is wonderful to look at and the gym/locker rooms were very nice as well. The cost of parking is silly but there is a public garage just south of the hotel where you can pay 1/3 of that cost. The only other thing that was extremely frustrating was the wifi options. $15 per day would be tolerable but $15 per day per device (i.e. one for me, one for my husband, and still can't use it for our phones) is just ridiculous. We ended up just using the wifi in the public areas but it was quite frustrating at times and not at all consistent with the image of the W as a modern and well-appointed hotel. The location is fantastic - an easy walk to many dining locations, 6th, and the bat bridge. Our favorite meals were at Uchi (wow) and The Shady Grove (the green chili fried chicken was excellent as was the pulled pork sandwich).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the garage for the city center one block south for $10 per day if you don't take your car out multiple times a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Khull
Business
Redmond, OR
Jul 23, 2012

Perfect!

Location is excellent, within walking distance to the famous 6th Street, Greenbelt, and the State Capital. Staff went over and above the call of duty to ensure our stay was the best. Rooms are very modern, clean and there are lots of places in the hotel to hang out and relax. Would definitely stay again & highly recommend to anyone who is looking to stay in the hub of downtown Austin. Would not recomend for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

6th Street has the best bars & live music that goes all week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SAOKC
Business
OKC
Jul 16, 2012

Great location

Ovrall this was an excellent property as it was well located, well staffed, clean, new and the staff was very responsive, The only negative I experienced was that the room was not cleaned on the second day of our stay until after 5 pm, after a couple of requests to do so. Otherwise an excellent property which I would recommend to all, If you are attending a show at the Moody theatre you couldn't do better as it is within steps of the venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top