$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Driskill

4 stars
604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
82 reviews
Great hotel in heart of austin

very nice hotel right on 6th street in the middle of everything. See full review

  • carlvalier
  • Dec 3, 2014
Excellent experience for the single business traveler!

Historic hotel was very well maintained. Staff was friendly & helpful. Food options were delicious... See full review

  • Blessed RE investor
  • Jul 29, 2014
Historic splendor meets big city entertainment

In the 1886, Jesse Lincoln Driskill, a wealthy cattle baron, businessman and civic leader, built a hotel to rival New York and Chicago. The Driskill remains a landmark of Texas hospitality, impressing visitors with a blend of old and new, antiques and state-of-the-art technology, modern and traditional architecture. Two hotel wings contain 189 rooms with fine antiques, marble from around the world and original oil paintings. This hotel is immediately breathtaking as guests enter the marble-floored lobby under a soaring, stained glass dome.

Highlights
  • Driskill Grill named one of the nation's top 25 hotel restaurants by ZAGAT
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Massage services by appointment
  • Kids amenities
Location

The Driskill is located on 6th Street in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Old and new merge in The Driskill's rooms, with a blend of contemporary and historic art peppering the walls and custom, modern furnishings. Find a Victorian-style settee upholstered with modern graphic fabric and nailhead-trimmed leather furniture, a nod to Texas ranches. Many types of upscale rooms are available.

Features

The 24-hour Driskill Fitness Studio and Spa offers cardio equipment, steam rooms, showers and dressing rooms. Guests may book massage appointments by contacting the concierge.

 

The family-friendly hotel gives children a coloring book and complimentary cookies and milk from the café and bakery. 

 

Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

Known as Austin's original socializing parlor, the 1886 Cafe & Bakery serves southwestern cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night meals.

 

The Driskill Grill, named one of the nation's top 25 hotel restaurants by ZAGAT, serves farm-to-table cuisine for dinner in an elegant setting. The Driskill Bar's low lighting creates an intimate atmosphere with comfy leather chairs, warm wood and, of course, cowhide.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (across the street)
  • Texas State Capitol Building (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 18,080 square feet of meeting space
  • Wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Driskill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Driskill Rooms

Standard
Interior View. 1 King or 2 Queens.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.9 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.3 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.9 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.3 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.7 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.1 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Driskill Grill
Repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin, the four-diamond Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. Executive Chef Jonathan Gelman brings
Driskill Bar
Providing ample opportunities for convivial conversation, The Driskill Bar offers a unique collection of quiet nooks, intimate seating areas, private groupings of period furnishings and generous spaces. Patrons enjoy a relaxed atmosphere of overstuffed le
1886 Cafe and Bakery
The cafe at the busy corner of Sixth and Brazos streets remains the social gathering place for locals and out-of-town guests alike looking for delicious, regional American foods that combine time-honored Texas comfort foods and contemporary fare with the

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The Driskill

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 82
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef011
Business
Dallas,tx
Jun 3, 2014

Quick recharge of batteries

Staff is verry polite and friendly . Service at hotels bakery was fast and on point. Room was comfortable and clean. Over all , great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lady bird lake,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacquesaholic
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jan 20, 2014

Good stay, better options for the money

The Driskill is upscale, Texas luxury. It's an older place, so the rooms are a bit small, the elevator is slow, and the amenities are a bit limited; but that all builds up the charm. We were very happy with the check in process and the professionalim of the staff, but it's more of a mid-40s on up hotel. My girlfriend and I are both in our early 30s, so security made sure to ask us if we were actually staying at the hotel when we came in one evening. We were dressed up from dinner and drinks, but they are on 6th Street, so better safe than sorry is the key I'm sure. I'd stay at the Driskill again, but I just feel that there is better bang for your buck elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on 6th Street (W. 6th a good bit aways from the rowdy party goers at night) and perfectly situated near good restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCCM Travel
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2013

Everything a hotel is supposed to be...

At the height of the original Texas boom. Stately surroundings, fantastic atmosphere, great bar and lobby, engrossing experience and all at a better than the competitors price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Myat
Business
Houston TX
Apr 17, 2013

Disappointing Stay for the price

Went for my birthday 4-12-13 Negatives: 1. Lost our Bags from our car to our room, didn't know that was possible, took 45 minute s to get our bags/ my wifes breast pump. Not good 2. Tried to get breakfast the following AM. told us 30 min wait and we couldn't sit at the bar or a table and have a drink because kitchen backed up If kitchen backed up is a possibility at a premier hotel then obviously not a premier hotel. returned and told it would be an additional 15 minutes. Decided to forego breakfast and leave. 3. 20 minute wait at the valet for our car. Again, a first rate operation wouldn't have such a wait. 4. One working elevator, slowest ever seen. Positives 1. Bars/bartenders in café and hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courto
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Apr 5, 2013

Awesome!

This hotel was amazing from the staff to the location to the room. Overall excellent stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHenricks
Business
Lewisville, Tx
Jan 30, 2013

Amazing staff!

My (now) Fiance proposed to me at this hotel this past weekend, and we were VERY impressed with the staff. They went above and beyond to help him execute his plan, and to make it a special night for us, from the conceirge, to the bartenders, to the restaurant staff. The level of service here is amazing. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, ornate wood carvings, marble, and tiffany stained glass style throughout. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking 6th (where he proposed) and it could not have been a more perfect location. After our night, we went out on 6th street, literally walked right downstairs, and there we were, extremely convenient. We did have a slight issue with them charging us for some stuff in the room that they told us was complimentary, but after a quick phone call, the charges were removed. We will definitely be returning here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located ON 6th street, perfect for a night out without having to worry about getting "home" even if you've had a bit too much to drink :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icebergtoarugula
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 16, 2013

24 hours layover in Austin

Wonderful historic hotel with exceptionally helpful staff! We had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry23
Business
Texas
Jan 2, 2013

OVERRATED

We stayed for New Years eve and the location was great. The room was lacking. For $400, the room was quite small. The bathroom was only 4x5 ft wide and very crampt. You could not turn around in the shower because your shoulders actually touched the walls and that is because I am short. There was also no coffee maker or microwave in the room. I would only stay there again for the location if I was desperate for the location at that price. Also the decor did not match the rest of the hotel. It almost seems that the some of the floors that was least expensive were thrown together. The service however was good. I just think for that kind of money, I expected a lot more in comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Picky
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 2, 2012

Austin Getaway

Wonderful, interesting hotel. Location was perfect. Definetely will stay there again. The staff members were great. We were in Austin to visit our son & had a great time. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

SoCo is a great shopping area with a variety of interesting shops. "Uncommon Objects" is a favorite. Home Slice Pizza is a favorite for excellent pizza also in the SoCo area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Nguyen
Business
Houston, tx
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing special except location

The staff was nice but my room was so small. Even smaller than my own room at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top