$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

The Driskill

4 stars
604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
82 reviews
Great hotel in heart of austin

very nice hotel right on 6th street in the middle of everything. See full review

  • carlvalier
  • Dec 3, 2014
Excellent experience for the single business traveler!

Historic hotel was very well maintained. Staff was friendly & helpful. Food options were delicious... See full review

  • Blessed RE investor
  • Jul 29, 2014
Historic splendor meets big city entertainment

In the 1886, Jesse Lincoln Driskill, a wealthy cattle baron, businessman and civic leader, built a hotel to rival New York and Chicago. The Driskill remains a landmark of Texas hospitality, impressing visitors with a blend of old and new, antiques and state-of-the-art technology, modern and traditional architecture. Two hotel wings contain 189 rooms with fine antiques, marble from around the world and original oil paintings. This hotel is immediately breathtaking as guests enter the marble-floored lobby under a soaring, stained glass dome.

Highlights
  • Driskill Grill named one of the nation's top 25 hotel restaurants by ZAGAT
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Massage services by appointment
  • Kids amenities
Location

The Driskill is located on 6th Street in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Old and new merge in The Driskill's rooms, with a blend of contemporary and historic art peppering the walls and custom, modern furnishings. Find a Victorian-style settee upholstered with modern graphic fabric and nailhead-trimmed leather furniture, a nod to Texas ranches. Many types of upscale rooms are available.

Features

The 24-hour Driskill Fitness Studio and Spa offers cardio equipment, steam rooms, showers and dressing rooms. Guests may book massage appointments by contacting the concierge.

 

The family-friendly hotel gives children a coloring book and complimentary cookies and milk from the café and bakery. 

 

Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

Known as Austin's original socializing parlor, the 1886 Cafe & Bakery serves southwestern cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night meals.

 

The Driskill Grill, named one of the nation's top 25 hotel restaurants by ZAGAT, serves farm-to-table cuisine for dinner in an elegant setting. The Driskill Bar's low lighting creates an intimate atmosphere with comfy leather chairs, warm wood and, of course, cowhide.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (across the street)
  • Texas State Capitol Building (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 18,080 square feet of meeting space
  • Wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Driskill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Driskill Rooms

Standard
Interior View. 1 King or 2 Queens.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.9 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.3 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.9 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.3 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.7 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.1 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Driskill Grill
Repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin, the four-diamond Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. Executive Chef Jonathan Gelman brings
Driskill Bar
Providing ample opportunities for convivial conversation, The Driskill Bar offers a unique collection of quiet nooks, intimate seating areas, private groupings of period furnishings and generous spaces. Patrons enjoy a relaxed atmosphere of overstuffed le
1886 Cafe and Bakery
The cafe at the busy corner of Sixth and Brazos streets remains the social gathering place for locals and out-of-town guests alike looking for delicious, regional American foods that combine time-honored Texas comfort foods and contemporary fare with the

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The Driskill

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Myat
Business
Houston TX
Apr 17, 2013

Disappointing Stay for the price

Went for my birthday 4-12-13 Negatives: 1. Lost our Bags from our car to our room, didn't know that was possible, took 45 minute s to get our bags/ my wifes breast pump. Not good 2. Tried to get breakfast the following AM. told us 30 min wait and we couldn't sit at the bar or a table and have a drink because kitchen backed up If kitchen backed up is a possibility at a premier hotel then obviously not a premier hotel. returned and told it would be an additional 15 minutes. Decided to forego breakfast and leave. 3. 20 minute wait at the valet for our car. Again, a first rate operation wouldn't have such a wait. 4. One working elevator, slowest ever seen. Positives 1. Bars/bartenders in café and hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 13, 2011

Will not return

WILL NOT RETURN. We went for a special occasion and booked the bridal suite to celebrate in style! I was really excited - we stayed at the Driskill before and thought it was nice. I never expected so many things to be wrong on one visit. There were problems with the room. The fabric was missing off the canopy on the bed and mini bar wasn't there. They brought up a mini bar, when asked, but it didn't work - it was warm. It didn't fit in the cabinet, so they left it on the floor blocking the table. The restaurant was closed. The website didn't mention it and pre-arrival email failed to tell us. Bulbs were out, a vent was hanging from the ceiling, the tub leaked, the shower glass wasn't clean - yuck! They comped us breakfast at the bakery ($20), which was totally inadequate. I didn't want free food - I wanted a sincere apology for screwing up my birthday and failing to rectify the situation. I did give them a chance to fix it. I got a generic reply from management that was a blow off. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY - THIS IS NOT A LUXURY HOTEL. Go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mixed blessing - the nightlife can be heard IN the rooms. Insanely loud. Not good for quiet romantic trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kaizer
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Expensive for the service

When you stay at a hotel like the Driskill you think you're paying for the experience - not for the room. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The rooms are great and the location is ideal. However the service is less than ideal. The staff at the bakery was inefficient and aloof. I asked for a half hour late check out and was rebuffed. The hotel needs to figure out if it's in the accommodation business or the hospitality business. They have a great facility and once they train their staff appropriately they'll have my business again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heartspence
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 13, 2012

History and Character only take you so far...

The hotel itself is beautiful, rich with history, and perfectly located; however, that is about all you get for the price tag. The staff were incompetent and the room service was not up to snuff. We were first given the incorrect room, which then took three desk clerks to figure out. The room we got in the end, while quaint and charming, was somewhat overpriced. We have stayed in five star hotels in other parts of the world that offered twice the space and luxury at half the cost. As we are locals and were looking for a private romantic treat, we chose in-room dining. I was a little dubious about the reasonable price list when compared to the high quality ingredients that were boasted in the descriptions. Rightly so. My French dip came sans dip (they ran out and didn't tell me until after I mentioned it), with dry over cooked roast beef instead of the thinly sliced prime rib that was advertised, and a full entre salad (not the side salad that I substituted as recommended by the menu)...among other things. They comped it in the end, with no fuss, but also without inquiry as to how to fix it for future guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Nguyen
Business
Houston, tx
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing special except location

The staff was nice but my room was so small. Even smaller than my own room at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ramtuffcowboy
Business
Seattle,WA
Aug 1, 2012

Nice bldg with historical value, but not best place to stay!

Rooms here can VARY A LOT! Don't expect HUGE luxury, but small and contemporary, even the more expensive "Senate". I complained as my Senate rm was located (1) only, on 3rd floor facing A/C and other utilities on roof. Because of a wedding-party few open rms available. The best feature of this hotel is the bar area just above the main lobby. I visited twice this past yr, and it had been upgraded/changed and is even nicer now. The lobby esp. @ nite is fantastic; sort of a throwback to the "Growing West" and elegant lighting. Breakfast can be difficult for seating, and although there was PLENTY of open tables, refused to seat us w/o waiting. Staff gave some lame excuse, but I felt it was because they were short of help...a "feeling" I got throughout the hotel. I think this hotel is overrated, but a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located directly on 6th/Brazos where nightlife is only steps away; funky clubs, food, and out the door on wk ends, horse carriage rides around town (for a fee of course).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry23
Business
Texas
Jan 2, 2013

OVERRATED

We stayed for New Years eve and the location was great. The room was lacking. For $400, the room was quite small. The bathroom was only 4x5 ft wide and very crampt. You could not turn around in the shower because your shoulders actually touched the walls and that is because I am short. There was also no coffee maker or microwave in the room. I would only stay there again for the location if I was desperate for the location at that price. Also the decor did not match the rest of the hotel. It almost seems that the some of the floors that was least expensive were thrown together. The service however was good. I just think for that kind of money, I expected a lot more in comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2009

So so

Reserved a king room with city view. Given a queen room. Complained and got moved to a tiny king room with no view. Not what was advertised and not worth the money for the room type. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alli Austin lover
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 16, 2010

Okay

I've stayed at the Driskill before and have usually had excellent experiences. [...] The room was also not ready at the check-in time (which is 4pm, already on the late side for hotel check-in times). My room was not ready until an hours later and I was almost late to the wedding I was attending. Not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ana/nyc
Business
NYC, NY
Aug 28, 2010

Historic, beautiful and near the music

This is a gorgeous hotel, luxuriously appointed--but the room was extremely small and the bathroom smaller. I would not have been a happy camper if I had been paying their listed rate of $1000/night. However, I selected it because of its location and was happy I had--music and restaurants were right down the street. Overall, it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Chuggin' Monkey. Great music (especially Jonny Gray), friendly atmosphere, $3 drinks until 9 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top