$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Driskill

4 stars
View map of 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Driskill

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 1, 2011

This Hotel is Really pretty!!

Everyone was very helpful and the hotel was really clean! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right in the middle of downtown area. You could walk or take a pedicab to most of the places you would want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-spoon
Business
Kansas City, MO
Apr 26, 2011

Luxurious Getaway at standard rates

Staff was couteous, helpful and friendly, and made calls to pools and other venues and services on our behalf and were on first-name basis with all of them, indicating that the hotel was well-connected. I used the business area to print my boarding passes and stay connected and research venues in Austin. Bakery was decadently good. The room was spotless and elegant. I loved staying in a 125 year-old hotel that was so elegant and yet only a little more than staying at a chain. It was interesting just to walk around the hotel. The exercise area was spotless and had modern aerobic equipment, cable machines and free weights. Large second floor balcony was a great place on a warm spring evening to have a drink and watch the festivities on Sixth Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many, many things to do in walking distance and/or take the Metro Bus. Even though 6th street was the nightlife district, the hotel was quiet. Lots of dining and shopping was quite nearby. The hotel also had a car available but we walked everywhere. The walking/cycling trail is minutes away and goes along Lady Bird Lake for miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SB18
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 7, 2011

Classic Austin Stalwart

Hotel was well maintained and staff very friendly. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Feb 25, 2011

Beautifully Texas

Gorgeous - absolutely a piece of Texas history in a fabulous location central to everything that is downtown Austin. Great service except in the bar, where we desired a little more attention and there seemed to be no table service during the very crowded happy hour. Beautiful room with plenty of space even though we booked the least expensive. Very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Truluck restaurant - fabulous seafood and outstanding service. One of the best meals I have ever had (black sesame-crusted tuna). Dinner for 4 with a bottle of wine was $225.00, not including tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 13, 2011

Will not return

WILL NOT RETURN. We went for a special occasion and booked the bridal suite to celebrate in style! I was really excited - we stayed at the Driskill before and thought it was nice. I never expected so many things to be wrong on one visit. There were problems with the room. The fabric was missing off the canopy on the bed and mini bar wasn't there. They brought up a mini bar, when asked, but it didn't work - it was warm. It didn't fit in the cabinet, so they left it on the floor blocking the table. The restaurant was closed. The website didn't mention it and pre-arrival email failed to tell us. Bulbs were out, a vent was hanging from the ceiling, the tub leaked, the shower glass wasn't clean - yuck! They comped us breakfast at the bakery ($20), which was totally inadequate. I didn't want free food - I wanted a sincere apology for screwing up my birthday and failing to rectify the situation. I did give them a chance to fix it. I got a generic reply from management that was a blow off. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY - THIS IS NOT A LUXURY HOTEL. Go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mixed blessing - the nightlife can be heard IN the rooms. Insanely loud. Not good for quiet romantic trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tomball, TX
Dec 3, 2010

Senate Experience

While visiting Austin to go to Sixth Street, we stayed here overnight in the Senate room. The room was lavishly decorated and it's very apparent that you're in Austin. The workout facilities are rather small, but they have a window outside where you can easily see everything going on downtown. The bed was incredibly comfortable and there was a small counter outside of the bathroom as well with a small sink. The bathroom has a large tub and subway tiles that add to the authentic feel. One drawback was that our room was close to the elevator, and you could hear people as they came and went. The location is ideal, however bear in mind that if you want to avoid the minibar there aren't many convenience stores downtown and the staff rather condescendingly informed us that there weren't any vending machines in the hotel. Also, the only ice machine available was on the fifth floor. Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Check-in was very efficient, as well as check-out. They also hand you the bill in an envelope, as opposed to having it tossed under the door as it is in some hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get here early enough on the weekend, public (metered) parking is free on the weekend. There is also a garage a block away has very inexpensive daily parking if you don't want to use the valet service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 25, 2010

Classy hotel

The Driskill hotel in Austin is quite possibly the classiest hotel I've ever stayed in (I've stayed in 15 this year). First and foremost, the staff is attentive and eager to help with any request (even if it doesn't result in money spent at their hotel). For less than I generally pay for a Hilton Garden Inn, this place is a steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Driskill Bar and 1886 Cafe & Bakery are onsite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mitchisan
Business
McKinney, Texas
Nov 1, 2010

Luxury Hotel at an affordable Rate

This hotel had it all! There was a Halloween party going on while we were staying there that occurs every year. The Valet staff was very helpful with directions and were very courteous every time we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I had the best time on 6th street. All of the entertainment you could want was right outside the door of the Hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio,TX
Oct 13, 2010

Great location, ok price

Watched a show,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kaizer
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Expensive for the service

When you stay at a hotel like the Driskill you think you're paying for the experience - not for the room. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The rooms are great and the location is ideal. However the service is less than ideal. The staff at the bakery was inefficient and aloof. I asked for a half hour late check out and was rebuffed. The hotel needs to figure out if it's in the accommodation business or the hospitality business. They have a great facility and once they train their staff appropriately they'll have my business again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top