$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

The Driskill

4 stars
View map of 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Driskill

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Myat
Business
Houston TX
Apr 17, 2013

Disappointing Stay for the price

Went for my birthday 4-12-13 Negatives: 1. Lost our Bags from our car to our room, didn't know that was possible, took 45 minute s to get our bags/ my wifes breast pump. Not good 2. Tried to get breakfast the following AM. told us 30 min wait and we couldn't sit at the bar or a table and have a drink because kitchen backed up If kitchen backed up is a possibility at a premier hotel then obviously not a premier hotel. returned and told it would be an additional 15 minutes. Decided to forego breakfast and leave. 3. 20 minute wait at the valet for our car. Again, a first rate operation wouldn't have such a wait. 4. One working elevator, slowest ever seen. Positives 1. Bars/bartenders in café and hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courto
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Apr 5, 2013

Awesome!

This hotel was amazing from the staff to the location to the room. Overall excellent stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHenricks
Business
Lewisville, Tx
Jan 30, 2013

Amazing staff!

My (now) Fiance proposed to me at this hotel this past weekend, and we were VERY impressed with the staff. They went above and beyond to help him execute his plan, and to make it a special night for us, from the conceirge, to the bartenders, to the restaurant staff. The level of service here is amazing. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, ornate wood carvings, marble, and tiffany stained glass style throughout. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking 6th (where he proposed) and it could not have been a more perfect location. After our night, we went out on 6th street, literally walked right downstairs, and there we were, extremely convenient. We did have a slight issue with them charging us for some stuff in the room that they told us was complimentary, but after a quick phone call, the charges were removed. We will definitely be returning here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located ON 6th street, perfect for a night out without having to worry about getting "home" even if you've had a bit too much to drink :)

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icebergtoarugula
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 16, 2013

24 hours layover in Austin

Wonderful historic hotel with exceptionally helpful staff! We had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry23
Business
Texas
Jan 2, 2013

OVERRATED

We stayed for New Years eve and the location was great. The room was lacking. For $400, the room was quite small. The bathroom was only 4x5 ft wide and very crampt. You could not turn around in the shower because your shoulders actually touched the walls and that is because I am short. There was also no coffee maker or microwave in the room. I would only stay there again for the location if I was desperate for the location at that price. Also the decor did not match the rest of the hotel. It almost seems that the some of the floors that was least expensive were thrown together. The service however was good. I just think for that kind of money, I expected a lot more in comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrrGrr
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great Classic In-Town Stay

The Driskill in Austin is a beautifully modernized classical hotel in the center of downtown Austin near the Capitol. Room and restaurants/bar are first class, and the staff is committed to guest satisfaction. The price is upscale but deservingly so. The hotel also is "green" in that it strives to be energy efficient and to provide wholesome, locally grown foods for those who care about that. Only problem I had is that the front desk was manned by only two people much of the time and at least one. sometimes both, were engaged in phone conversations, so one had to wait there a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homer68
Business
Portland Oregon
Dec 28, 2012

Good for the money

Staff was excellent and made the stay even better. Rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to congress and right on 6th.

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Picky
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 2, 2012

Austin Getaway

Wonderful, interesting hotel. Location was perfect. Definetely will stay there again. The staff members were great. We were in Austin to visit our son & had a great time. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

SoCo is a great shopping area with a variety of interesting shops. "Uncommon Objects" is a favorite. Home Slice Pizza is a favorite for excellent pizza also in the SoCo area.

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elena SQLEvent
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 4, 2012

Great Hotel

It was great staying at this magnificient hotel, great location, staff, breakfast. I'm planning to go back on a leisure trip and definitely stay at the Driskill. thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Driskill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devin L
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 14, 2012

Yay for Birthdays!

It was exquisite! I've stayed there before and love it. When I saw it was only $128 for a night, I jumped on that deal. When I was checking, I told the lady it was my birthday and she said she could give me a free complimentary upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

6th street is right there!

Back to menu Return to top