$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Super 8 Austin North/University Area

3 stars
View map of 8128 N. Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
116 reviews
Nice, no frills hotel

I stayed here on Valentine's day weekend and I enjoyed myself. I liked the continental breakfast.... See full review

  • Chris3022
  • Mar 10, 2015
Good place to stay

It was awesome. Clean and great breakfast. Great service. Staff was great. Live love love the... See full review

  • Ashley H.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Austin budget hotel near the University of Texas
A budget hotel with an outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sundeck, the Super 8 Austin North is five miles from the University of Texas and not much further to downtown Austin's entertainment, shopping and dining. Guests can wake up and exercise in the on-site fitness center then grab a free continental breakfast in the lobby. Business travelers appreciate the free Wi-Fi throughout the property, plus a business center with printing, copy and fax services.  

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and sundeck
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Microwaves and refrigerators in rooms
  • Five miles from the University of Texas

Rooms

Guests at the Super 8 Austin North choose from rooms with one or two queen beds. All rooms feature a TV, table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, toiletries and hair dryer. Those who need extra space can upgrade to a suite, which has a bedroom and a separate living room with comfy chairs, a couch, coffee table, TV and table and chairs. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

A free continental breakfast fuels business and leisure travelers before a day of exploring local spots like the University of Texas and downtown Austin. Back at the property, an outdoor pool, deck and Jacuzzi vie for leisure time, along with a fitness center equipped with cardio machines.  

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak (6.2 mi/10.1 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (10.5 mi/17 km)
Attractions
  • LBJ Presidential Library (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (5.6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (6.2 mi/10 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space for up to 50 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelmomma
Business
NC
Feb 13, 2011

Cheap, but not up to par

Location...the night before I left, there was a drug deal in the neighbor hood that ended up with the dealer being killed. Before that I was just being careful, but not really scared of the location. Check in was great The clerk was friendly and efficient. The room at first glance was clean and spartan. However, when I turned on the air, it was pretty noisy, especially at night! The bed was in need of replacement. It was not comfortable at all. The linens were pratically thread bare. But it was clean and didn't smell. I would suggest is economy was you priime concern and the neighborhood didn't scare you, this place would do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KlovezJ0327
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

super8 is a roach hotel

lots bugs, horrible smell. I will never ever go back to this place again. it was such a shame how it would get 3 star reviews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kato kat
Business
corpus christi
Jul 11, 2012

you got what you paid for

our room was the last room on the hallway, near the back door, ( first floor). all through the night and early morning we can hear people coming in and out - banging doors- very noisy. when we were checking out. we suggested to the clerk that the back door should be locked when it gets dark for security reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
regretstaying
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 29, 2013

Bed Bugs & Pink Eye

My roommate and I both suffered from severe bed-bug bites after staying two nights at this hotel. Upon our arrival the room was musty and there was old popcorn on the floor near the bed. I awoke to bugs crawling in my bed on the second morning that I awoke. My roommate began to show signs of conjunctivitis on the second day there and by the time we checked out we both had a full case of pink-eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SueAnn Sullivan
Business
North Richland Hills. TX
May 19, 2013

Hotel stunk

I requested a no smoking room and got a smoking room. The air conditioner was broke. We requested another room. They said they had none available. So we tried to fine another hotel and could not find another place to stay. So we drove back home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diego1
Business
Fort Worth
Oct 30, 2013

Smoke smoke smoke

It doesn't matter if you get a non smoking room the whole place smells like an ashtray. The AC unit sounded as if it was going to come off the wall and the elevator shook at every stop. The springs in the bed were completely shot and the doors slammed all night. Not only this but what was unusual was the stray cat carousing the halls all night. I give it an F+ just better than sleeping in the car. The continental breakfast must have been in another continent as it was sure not all there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going anywhere in Austin you will have to do a 2 mile turn around to get back to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Do not stay here bad service...

Do not stay here. From the start I knew it would be a bad experience when I first called the Super 8 and asked for basic directions - in other words all i wanted to know was the exit. I did not hear the lady clearly and automatically she game me attitude like I was an idiot. this continued when I did not realize the exit she mentioned was also I main highway. She assumed I knew what that was...which I did not so already I was confused by the directions. She again reiterated with rudeness and so it began. I arrived an a man just pulled back behind me and he managed to get in front of me at the counter, big deal. It turned out to be a big deal because the man and the receptionist bagan innocent flirtations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Oct 31, 2009

Getting what you pay for...

Upon arrival there were some teens and other young adults just hanging out on the property at 2:00 AM. Allowing them hang by the front door and in the lot at that hour does not make a traveler feel safe because nothing good can happen from allowing teens out at that hour. There was also a suspicious car parked in the lot that looked like it was casing the joint was also noted with the desk attendant who did call security. Not a place I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel has "live" late nite entertainment...Just not the kind I prefer in a hotal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
My Mistake
Business
Abilene,Tx
Jun 24, 2014

Wrong Choice!!

My wife and i were in Austin for our 35th Aniversary, soon as we arrived at the hotel we knew we had maded a mistake! Location of the hotel was in a bad neighborhood.Pulled up to hotel only to find check-in clerk out side smoking,failure to acknowledge our presence.Room omg...sheets were brown,room smelled moldy. We were booked for three nights,however,we stayed only one,took a lost for the other two.Founded another hotel did'nt want to completely blow our week-end. Nothing right about this place. Wondering how could this place be rated 3 stars?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert K.
Business
Ocean Ridge
Feb 22, 2015

I will never stay in another Super8

Upon check-in, I was given a smoking room that positively reeked. The hotel was fully booked so I was told there was nothing that could be done except to give me a bottle of air freshener. I slept two nights with the windows open and still felt sick. This is the second time this has happened to me at a Super8. I will NOT stay at this chain ever again. The fact that most people checking in were paying with cash was a pretty good indication of the clientele.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top