$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Omni Austin Hotel

4 stars
700 San Jacinto Blvd at 8th Street, 700 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
150 reviews
Awesome

This hotel is located in the middle of downtown Austin. It was very convenient to go anywhere in... See full review

  • Hotel montes
  • Aug 17, 2014
Hot spot in Austin

Great location. Easy walking distance to 6th street and other fun locations in the city. Close... See full review

  • Having fun with the fam
  • Aug 11, 2014
Luxury downtown Austin hotel

Guests enter the Omni Austin Hotel to an impressive atrium lobby with high ceilings that let in natural light. A few blocks from the Texas State Capitol and the best bars and restaurants, the hotel spoils with stunning views of downtown Austin. The heated rooftop pool provides a great place to play during the day or relax at night under the stars. On-site restaurants at the Omni Austin include the Atrium Lounge and Southwestern-flavored Ancho's.

Highlights
  • Stunning views of downtown Austin
  • Heated rooftop swimming pool
  • Spa services

Rooms

Omni Austin Hotel rooms boast earth tones and modern oversized furniture. Windows frame stunning views of the city or hotel atrium. Standard amenities include one king or two double beds, individual climate control, refreshment center and free newspaper. Omni club rooms--located on the 13th and 14th floors--treat guests to free continental breakfast and happy hour. Executive one- or two-bedroom suites come with separate living, sleeping and dining areas, plus a full kitchen. Fees apply for Wi-Fi access.

Dining

Grab a cup of Starbucks coffee and a pastry in Morsels, the on-site coffee shop or stop for a drink in the Atrium Lounge.  Ancho's restaurant is open all day and specializes in southwestern cuisine. 

Recreation
The heated rooftop pool provides a great place to unwind and enjoy amazing views of downtown Austin, while an on-site spa pampers with massages and body treatments.

The Omni Sensational Kids program caters to tykes, offering suitcases filled with games and books, a backpack and kids' menu choices.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.7 mi/10.9 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (2 blocks)
  • Texas State Capital (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Austin Convention Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • LBJ Presidential Library (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • More than 20,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Hotel Map

30.2686 -97.7402
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 7.70, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Located in downtown Austin

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Austin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Omni Austin Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe Room with 1 King. Approx. 392 square feet. Featuring a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio/alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
One Bedroom Executive Suite
Executive One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 633 - 760 sq ft. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. City or Atrium view. No rollaway allowed.
ADA Dlx w Roll in Shower 1 King
Accessible Deluxe Room with Roll-in Shower 1 King Bed 392 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars available near toilet. Roll-in shower with hand-held shower head and grab bars. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
Deluxe 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed 403 sq ft. Desk. 32 inch TV. Views of the atrium or city. Located on upper floors of the hotel. Private access floors. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
Two Bedroom Executive Suite
Two Bedroom Executive Suite 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed. 1073 sq ft. One bedroom suite with King bed with connecting Queen room. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. Queen room connects to the living room. Atrium view only. No rollaways allowed.
Omni Club 1 King
Omni Club 1 King Bed. Approx. 392 sq ft of luxurious accommodations with higher ceilings and crown molding throughout the room. The room features a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
Omni Club 2 Doubles
Omni Club 2 Double Beds. Approx. 392 sq ft of luxurious accommodations with higher ceilings and crown molding throughout the room. The room features a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. No rollaways allowed.
Executive Suite 1 Queen
Executive One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 1300 sq ft. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. City or Atrium view. No rollaways allowed.
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe Room with 1 King. Approx. 392 square feet. Featuring a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio/alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. No rollaways allowed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Driving range
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.4 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.4 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.9 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.1 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.8 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.5 mi

Dining

Anchos
Located in the glass atrium - Anchos specializes in Southwestern cuisine. Dining options include a quick breakfast or pleasant lunch or leisurely dinner. Weekdays featuring rotating luncheon buffets with favorites from the Pacific and Italy and Louisiana. Hours are Mon-Fri 0630-2200. Sat-Sun 0700-2200.
Atrium Lounge
A wonderful location for conducting business or gathering with friends to relaxing and enjoy cocktails and regional cuisine. Hours are Mon-Thurs 1100-2359. Fri-Sat from 1100-0200. Sunday from 1100-2359.
Morsels
Open weekdays for coffee breakfast and lunch. Breakfast Hours are Mon-Fri 0630-1100. Lunch Hours are 1100-1400.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Austin Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmasters
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Good location, but a little noisy

Decent hotel w/ a good, central location. But from my room you could here the music from 6th Street. It got a little old. Otherwise, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becs
Oklahoma, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Somewhat Good

Overall the experience was a good one. The staff did not explain that there was a deposit put on your credit card when you checked in, so i did almost file a dispute with my credit card. Thankfully I called and was told it would reverse out soon. The hotel did not provide me with the double beds I had requested through Orbitz. I know this is not guaranteed, but they also were unable to provide a roll away and did not offer additional blankets or options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis
Jul 18, 2011

Good price. Great location.

Just a one night stay to visit UT. Perfect location. Relaxing pool on roof. Kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 8, 2011

Nice extras

I was in Austin for a conference that was being held in this hotel. It turned out be a very good choice since this hotel was centrally located and was close to post conference activities, e.g. 6th street restaurants and bars. Besides that by joining their free loyalty program you are entitled to free *two* complimentary breakfast drinks each day (e.g. redbull + coffee).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the rooftop pool. It is small, gross, and doesn't look very appealing,

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2011

No negatives....very nice hotel

Was in town for social visit. Hotel was extremely clean, well-appointed, great location, very friendly, professional staff. Room was very comfortable, very clean, great bathroom. Found absolutely no problem in any way. Would not hesitate to stay there again, and would recommend it for others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
May 15, 2011

Nice hotel but really noisy

I booked this hotel for a girls' road trip. The hotel and staff are impeccable. The rooms were clean and tastefully furnished. We spent the weekend walking around downtown to see the sights and shop. The rooftop pool is a great spot to relax and unwind. However, I probably would not choose to stay at this particular hotel again. Our room overlooked a parking garage, and the noise from other hotel guests and the 6th Street bars kept us up at night. Additionally, there were work crews tearing up the nearby streets with jackhammers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waco
May 14, 2011

elevator and bathrooms

Got stuck in elevator for over a hour and when i chcked out the loady behind counter said" our elevators" like i did not know where i was or i was lying, so i said i am going to get car and when o get back, i would like to speak to manager by time i get back, got back and she acted like she did not even hear me and said sorry we cant do anything for the hour and a half u were stuck in elevator and missed a conference call and of course my wife at home said "sure u were stuck in elevator at 6;30 am ..at least manger fianlly step in and all they comp was the valet parking. Yipppe...also the shower made some crazy noise and woke me up in middle of sleeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sixth street is iust to wild these days...i have never seen that many trashy women in my life

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tyler, Tx
Apr 18, 2011

good stay

Great hotel in a great area. Helpful friendly staff. Walking distance to 6th street music and good restaurants. Will definitely stay again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Moonshine for dinner. Fabulous food and fun atmosphere.

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim & John
Providence, RI
Apr 12, 2011

A Very Nice Hotel

Our trip was to see family. We arrived on one of the most raucous weekends of the year in downtown Austin. The hotel was only two blocks from 6th Street where the evening festivities were centered. When we checked into the hotel, we were advised that if we were disturbed during the night by loud noises or other revelry from guests, to call the desk and it would be stopped. Even though the hotel seemed to be overrun with party seekers, we heard nothing in our room and slept as if we were the only people in the hotel. Very impressive. The food in the lobby restaurant is very good and very reasonable—a surprise for a hotel restaurant. This was our first stay at the downtown Omni and it will be our first choice when we visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmelo's Italian Restaurant on 5th Street downtown. Great food and great service. Very popular.

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Apr 11, 2011

Good weekend

Family wedding trip. We liked the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Annie's has a great breakfast at Congress and 5th. The concierge recommended it when we asked for ideas outside the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search