$166 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
44 reviews
Great Austin Weekend

Top notch hotel, located right in the center of it all in Austin TX! See full review

  • Michael
  • Mar 23, 2015
Austin gem

A centrally located hotel; not to far from 6th street, but not too close. I attended a meeting that... See full review

  • Buckyone
  • Oct 14, 2014
A grand hotel in downtown Austin

Affectionately called the "Stephen F" by native Austinites, the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel has flourished in Austin's scene since it opened in 1924. Named for the state's founder, the luxury hotel sweeps guests into its intricately decorated lobby with a grand marble staircase, gold accents and dark wood furniture, restored to keep 1920s classic ambiance in perfect standing. The hotel contains the perfect mix of elegance, convenience and local flavor.

Highlights
  • Spacious fitness center with indoor lap pool
  • Massage treatments available onsite
  • One block from 6th Street nightlife
Location

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin is located in downtown Austin, a block from 6th Street.

Rooms

Rooms at the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel combine luxury with local flavor by incorporating decorative touches such as framed prints of the Texas state flower and wooden headboards emblazed with a lone star. This adds to the upscale elegance that saturates each room using features like Italian furniture, marble bathrooms with gold accents and French doors in suites. Guests enjoy wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

The InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel's on-site health and fitness center provides guests with plenty of space to work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment with individual TVs, as well as a heated indoor lap pool, changing rooms and shower facilities. Book a massage or relax in the hotel's Jacuzzi. With an executive club level room, guests enjoy use of the executive floors where they can have breakfast or enjoy a drink.  Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

Stephen F's Bar & Terrace draws locals and visitors with its high-end, club-like atmosphere and impressive tequila menu. The Terrace serves drinks and appetizers and has outside seating overlooking Congress Avenue and 7th Street. Go for a fine dining experience at the Roaring Fork restaurant, where fresh entrees are cooked over a wood fire.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (1 block)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Capitol Building (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Perry's Steakhouse and Grille
Perry's Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downtown landmarks. This location features unique decor, patio seating and Perry's award winning menu.
Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's wood fired cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Manuel's
This restaurant features award wining Mexican cooking and is located on the heart of Congress Avenue. They are well known for their margaritas as well as their Sunday brunch which features live music.
The Coffeeshop at the Hideout Theatre
Locally owned and operated, the coffeehouse is open morning to night, weekdays and weekends, and serves beer, wine, fresh sandwiches, pastries, Amy's ice cream, as well as an assortment of beverages and coffee drinks. You can bring food and drink from the
South Congress Cafe
An icon on SoCo, serving brunch all day and offering an extensive and eclectic dinner menu after 5 p.m., the South Congress Cafe is known for its boar chili, carrot cake and French toast. Happy hour is Monday to Friday from 3 pm to 6 pm
Quattro Gatti Ristorante
Quattro Gatti is a contemporary Italian eatery in the heart of Austin. Enjoy a variety of menu items like spaghetti al pomodoro, margherita pizza, and salmone ala verde as well as an assortment of wines from a diverse wine list.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna, happier at the Hyatt
Business
Vermont
Apr 22, 2009

Not a Trustworthy Hotel

I made my non-refundable reservation via Orbitz. I knew my flight into Austin would not arrive until after midnight, so I called the hotel to let them know I would not be checking in until after midnight. I was told over the phone that this was fine, and that they would make a note of this for the reservation desk. When I arrived, around 1am, I was told that my room had been sold and that they had no rooms left. They offered to pay for me to stay in another hotel for one night and then I could come back to them! Blow that! Like I want to pack and unpack for one night!!! I insisted they find me another comparable hotel and pay for my entire stay, not just one night. What is the point of making a reservation if it has no meaning to the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheOtherDude
Business
California, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Stuck in the last century

Nice hotel in a great part of downtown Austin. The view from the hotel bar is awesome. My major complaint is they don't offer internet in any of the rooms. You have to pay extra per day and they put a 6MB limit on internet usage, thats just ridiculous. Also the tv was one of those old small boxy tube sets, so lame, who uses these anymore? Also the fridge in the room is stocked with cheap soft drinks and waters that cost an arm and a leg-- so there's zero room to put anything you buy in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for one burgers at the Jackalope on Thursdays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Jane
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 13, 2011

In the heart of downtown

This hotel is right smack in the middle from all the action, on the east and west side. Want something more rowdy with great drinks and amazing live music? Head on over to East 6th St. Want to chill? Go in the opposite direction on the West side. It's all within walking distance. If you have a car, you can easily head on over to South Austin, where there's plenty to boast of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NikkiMac
Business
Dallas
Jan 5, 2014

Great location, beautiful hotel

The hotel is lovely. We stayed in a standard room, which I felt was quire small. I would spend a few extra dollars for a king suite should I have a chance to return. The staff is wonderful! Valet parking is mandatory and there is a charge. It's a nice perk, but remember to tip(which can also add up if you take your car out). However, you are within a block of the famous 6th street, so you may not need it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park your car and walk. There is a mandatory valet (not a ton of parking downtown, so it's nice to have secured lot).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kctem
Business
Baltimore Md
May 2, 2014

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly. but i think it was overpriced, especially the parking $31 dollars. #overthetop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Y789
Business
Reno, nv
May 2, 2014

Nice clean good location

Staff could have been more welcoming, but all else was really very good. And better overall than the next hotel chain where I stayed for a similar price in the same part of town. Also a better location and very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacciM
Business
Ohio
Feb 28, 2013

Business Trip

Hotel was great for my business trip. Would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 2, 2010

Great Location

Great, easy and quick checkin. Stayed overnight for nusiness and thought it was a great price for short notice. Breakfast inculded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbcvdfsa
Business
Dallas
Jul 14, 2014

Work Retreat

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the action but just far enough away to enjoy peace quiet when needed. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The comfort of the bed was average which was somewhat dissappointing for a 4 star hotel. You can tell the hotel was remodeled, the entry was grand but the room seemed very hodge podge and somewhat strange if the decor matters. The bathroom was very nice with the exception of the hard towels that felt very scratchy. The hotel is a great price considering the location but be aware, there are extra charges for EVERYTHING. The usual upcharges and more. Overall a nice place but I may try another on my next visit to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top