$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
701 CONGRESS AVENUE, AUSTIN, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Hotel

I love this place, perfect except for one thing, they charge you like $15 to $30 a night just for... See full review

  • CalicoJack
  • Jun 15, 2013
Work Retreat

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the action but just far enough away to enjoy peace... See full review

  • biggbcvdfsa
  • Jul 14, 2014
A grand hotel in downtown Austin

Affectionately called the "Stephen F" by native Austinites, the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel has flourished in Austin's scene since it opened in 1924. Named for the state's founder, the luxury hotel sweeps guests into its intricately decorated lobby with a grand marble staircase, gold accents and dark wood furniture, restored to keep 1920s classic ambiance in perfect standing. The hotel contains the perfect mix of elegance, convenience and local flavor.

Highlights
  • Spacious fitness center with indoor lap pool
  • Massage treatments available onsite
  • One block from 6th Street nightlife
Location

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin is located in downtown Austin, a block from 6th Street.

Rooms

Rooms at the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel combine luxury with local flavor by incorporating decorative touches such as framed prints of the Texas state flower and wooden headboards emblazed with a lone star. This adds to the upscale elegance that saturates each room using features like Italian furniture, marble bathrooms with gold accents and French doors in suites. Guests enjoy wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

The InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel's on-site health and fitness center provides guests with plenty of space to work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment with individual TVs, as well as a heated indoor lap pool, changing rooms and shower facilities. Book a massage or relax in the hotel's Jacuzzi. With an executive club level room, guests enjoy use of the executive floors where they can have breakfast or enjoy a drink.  Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

Stephen F's Bar & Terrace draws locals and visitors with its high-end, club-like atmosphere and impressive tequila menu. The Terrace serves drinks and appetizers and has outside seating overlooking Congress Avenue and 7th Street. Go for a fine dining experience at the Roaring Fork restaurant, where fresh entrees are cooked over a wood fire.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (1 block)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Capitol Building (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.269 -97.742
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International, (AUS), 9.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Perry s Steakhouse and Grille
Perrys Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downtown landmarks. This location features unique decor, patio seating and Perrys award winning menu.
Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's Wood Fired Cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Manuel's
Award wining Mexican Cooking in the heart of Downtown. Famous for its Margaritas and the Sunday Brunch with Live Music.
The Coffeeshop at the Hideout Theatre
Located at 617 Congress Ave is the Hideout Coffeehouse, right below the Hideout Theatre. Locally owned and operated, the coffeehouse is open morning to night, weekdays and weekends, and serves beer, wine, fresh sandwiches, pastries, Amys ice cream, as wel
South Congress Cafe
An Icon on SoCo, serving brunch all day and offering an extensive and eclectic dinner menu after 5 PM, the South Congress Cafe is known for its Boar Chili and Carrot Cake French Toast. Happy Hour Monday to Friday from 3 to 6 PM
Quattro Gatti Ristorante
Quattro Gatti is a contemporary Italian eatery in the heart of Austin. Enjoy a variety of menu items like spaghetti al pomodoro, margherita pizza, and salmone ala verde as well as an assortment of wines from a diverse wine list.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kctem
Business
Baltimore Md
May 2, 2014

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly. but i think it was overpriced, especially the parking $31 dollars. #overthetop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 15, 2011

Leisure Trip to Austin

The hotel is great and the staff is wonderful and helpful. The location can't be beat. It's close to 6th Street and UT. Taxis aren't expensive, but it's better to drive in any case. I totally recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jadip7
Effingham, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Austin-Stephen Austin InterContinental

Great location for anyone participating in the Austin Marathon event. Starting line was 3 blocks away and finish was right outside the front door. Great restaurant (Roaring Fork) located adjacent to hotel. Chocolate Pecan Pie is the best ever! Stubbs Barbecue restaurant is a short walk away as is the Driskill Bar and Grill. Both are great ways to experience local favorites (barbecue and beef!!) Don't pass up a chance to get some Amy's Ice Cream. View of the Texas Capitol building is magnificent from the hotel and is only 4 short blocks up the hill. Just 2 more blocks past the Capitol gets you to the heart of the University of Texas campus. We also walked to Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop (Lance Armstrong's signature store) and found a great farmers market along the way. A lady selling scones at the market needs to go national with her product, they were outstanding!! Overall our experience was tremendous. The room was a good size, bed was comfortable, shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water! Above the hotel lobby was a bar (The Stephen F) with a great outdoor veranda/porch so you could sit outside and overlook the downtown area. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallas45
Dallas, TX
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

A great place to stay, but you will pay a lot for parking, taxes, and other little "add ons". A $150 night can easily turn into a $225 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biggbcvdfsa
Business
Dallas
Jul 14, 2014

Work Retreat

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the action but just far enough away to enjoy peace quiet when needed. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The comfort of the bed was average which was somewhat dissappointing for a 4 star hotel. You can tell the hotel was remodeled, the entry was grand but the room seemed very hodge podge and somewhat strange if the decor matters. The bathroom was very nice with the exception of the hard towels that felt very scratchy. The hotel is a great price considering the location but be aware, there are extra charges for EVERYTHING. The usual upcharges and more. Overall a nice place but I may try another on my next visit to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Futterwoman
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2011

Relaxing get away

I was in Austin to testify for the Meningitis Vaccine Bill being presented before the Senate. I was alone. I enjoyed the location and the hotel amenities very much. The internet service was slow and unreliable, however the hotel did credit my bill. Room service was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 2, 2010

Great Location

Great, easy and quick checkin. Stayed overnight for nusiness and thought it was a great price for short notice. Breakfast inculded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top