$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Feb 22, 2010

nice cozy room...

Nice location, beautiful lobby... excellent service and a well maintained building; though the carpet was in need of cleaning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NikkiMac
Business
Dallas
Jan 5, 2014

Great location, beautiful hotel

The hotel is lovely. We stayed in a standard room, which I felt was quire small. I would spend a few extra dollars for a king suite should I have a chance to return. The staff is wonderful! Valet parking is mandatory and there is a charge. It's a nice perk, but remember to tip(which can also add up if you take your car out). However, you are within a block of the famous 6th street, so you may not need it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park your car and walk. There is a mandatory valet (not a ton of parking downtown, so it's nice to have secured lot).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kctem
Business
Baltimore Md
May 2, 2014

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly. but i think it was overpriced, especially the parking $31 dollars. #overthetop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Y789
Business
Reno, nv
May 2, 2014

Nice clean good location

Staff could have been more welcoming, but all else was really very good. And better overall than the next hotel chain where I stayed for a similar price in the same part of town. Also a better location and very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel for ever
Business
Paris, France
Nov 8, 2009

That dear Stephen F.

Going back to the Stephen F.Austin is like going home. Its size is just right, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even if it is a pity some room service staff have no English. And even if, although I had paid all my expenses in full on leaving and made sure I had, my credit card has been debited for no valid reason...As I have not a US credit card I am charged by my bank a ridiculous amount for $3. It all had to do with phoning from the room I think. The charge for local calls is ludicrous: 1,50 $, whatever the time spent. Also it is a pity the public phone that used to be off the lobby has been removed and not been replaced. Which makes it awkward if you do not have a cell phone. as I did not, not living in the U.S. Have not had time to deal with that charge I did not owe yet. But pity that should happen. The bar on the second floor boasts with reason the best terrace in Austin. The view from there on the Capitol is great. The bar food is pretty uneven though and that side of things could be improved. The crab cake from the first floor restaurant, though, is incredibly good. As for the rooms, they are "friendly", comfortable without going overboard. Pity I had no light in the small lobby as it made the closet rather dark. The bathrooms are fine too. Will go back there with pleasure if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Modern Art Museum practically next door. Ransom Center on campus with great free exhibitions. The Capitol, of course,all of it, including its restaurant where you come across people working there. For music the South Congress Continental, for sure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greenie444
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 2, 2012

We Know the Generators Work

We were there the night the lights went out on Sixth Street. Someone crashed into a transformer or something. We made a bee-line for the hotel, which was a short walk from the Blue Moon Bar and were pleasantly surprised that the lobby lights were on. People were in the hotel restaurant under low lighting and the elevators functioned just fine. No lights in the room all night, but who cares? Had to wait until 9:30am for hot water, but who cares? It was a Sunday morning. Thankfully, the whole staff kept their composure as they handled the more irate guests. I thought things went well, given the circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all valet, so plan to cruise up and down the area until you know where you want to go and then have the car parked for the remainder of your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Business
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdia
Business
TN
Jun 16, 2012

Austin Vacation

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation to Austin! We enjoyed the hotel so much. It was the perfect location to walk to many of our downtown destinations. The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorn Fan 96
Business
Dallas
Sep 10, 2012

Good value for tune up game weekend

Because UT had a tune up game, room rate was discounted and very good value for this downtown, very accessible location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Great old/non-tricked up quality hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacciM
Business
Ohio
Feb 28, 2013

Business Trip

Hotel was great for my business trip. Would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top