$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Austin gem

A centrally located hotel; not to far from 6th street, but not too close. I attended a meeting that... See full review

  • Buckyone
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great Time. Weekend stay

This is a beautiful place to stay and is located close to everything in Downtown Austin. 6th street... See full review

  • J Andrews
  • Aug 25, 2014
A grand hotel in downtown Austin

Affectionately called the "Stephen F" by native Austinites, the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel has flourished in Austin's scene since it opened in 1924. Named for the state's founder, the luxury hotel sweeps guests into its intricately decorated lobby with a grand marble staircase, gold accents and dark wood furniture, restored to keep 1920s classic ambiance in perfect standing. The hotel contains the perfect mix of elegance, convenience and local flavor.

Highlights
  • Spacious fitness center with indoor lap pool
  • Massage treatments available onsite
  • One block from 6th Street nightlife
Location

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin is located in downtown Austin, a block from 6th Street.

Rooms

Rooms at the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel combine luxury with local flavor by incorporating decorative touches such as framed prints of the Texas state flower and wooden headboards emblazed with a lone star. This adds to the upscale elegance that saturates each room using features like Italian furniture, marble bathrooms with gold accents and French doors in suites. Guests enjoy wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

The InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel's on-site health and fitness center provides guests with plenty of space to work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment with individual TVs, as well as a heated indoor lap pool, changing rooms and shower facilities. Book a massage or relax in the hotel's Jacuzzi. With an executive club level room, guests enjoy use of the executive floors where they can have breakfast or enjoy a drink.  Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

Stephen F's Bar & Terrace draws locals and visitors with its high-end, club-like atmosphere and impressive tequila menu. The Terrace serves drinks and appetizers and has outside seating overlooking Congress Avenue and 7th Street. Go for a fine dining experience at the Roaring Fork restaurant, where fresh entrees are cooked over a wood fire.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (1 block)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Capitol Building (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Perry's Steakhouse and Grille
Perry's Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downtown landmarks. This location features unique decor, patio seating and Perry's award winning menu.
Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's wood fired cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Manuel's
This restaurant features award wining Mexican cooking and is located on the heart of Congress Avenue. They are well known for their margaritas as well as their Sunday brunch which features live music.
The Coffeeshop at the Hideout Theatre
Locally owned and operated, the coffeehouse is open morning to night, weekdays and weekends, and serves beer, wine, fresh sandwiches, pastries, Amy's ice cream, as well as an assortment of beverages and coffee drinks. You can bring food and drink from the
South Congress Cafe
An icon on SoCo, serving brunch all day and offering an extensive and eclectic dinner menu after 5 p.m., the South Congress Cafe is known for its boar chili, carrot cake and French toast. Happy hour is Monday to Friday from 3 pm to 6 pm
Quattro Gatti Ristorante
Quattro Gatti is a contemporary Italian eatery in the heart of Austin. Enjoy a variety of menu items like spaghetti al pomodoro, margherita pizza, and salmone ala verde as well as an assortment of wines from a diverse wine list.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorn Fan 96
Dallas
Sep 10, 2012

Good value for tune up game weekend

Because UT had a tune up game, room rate was discounted and very good value for this downtown, very accessible location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Great old/non-tricked up quality hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna, happier at the Hyatt
Business
Vermont
Apr 22, 2009

Not a Trustworthy Hotel

I made my non-refundable reservation via Orbitz. I knew my flight into Austin would not arrive until after midnight, so I called the hotel to let them know I would not be checking in until after midnight. I was told over the phone that this was fine, and that they would make a note of this for the reservation desk. When I arrived, around 1am, I was told that my room had been sold and that they had no rooms left. They offered to pay for me to stay in another hotel for one night and then I could come back to them! Blow that! Like I want to pack and unpack for one night!!! I insisted they find me another comparable hotel and pay for my entire stay, not just one night. What is the point of making a reservation if it has no meaning to the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Feb 22, 2010

nice cozy room...

Nice location, beautiful lobby... excellent service and a well maintained building; though the carpet was in need of cleaning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GettaRoom
Business
Hawaii
Oct 18, 2011

worn out carpet

I had worn out carpet and a vacuum tube television, but the the Driskill across the street had worn out carpet too, although it had an LCD TV the reception was poor. Both hotels had those annoying refrigerators that are full of $8 dollar beers and $7 peanuts. I think the Bottom line is that they know they have the best location so they don't try to make the rooms that nice. I had several meals at both hotels and they were good but nothing I would call incredible and fairly high priced, the embassy suites up congress two blocks had nice rooms with a huge free breakfast, but not having the location it wasn't quite "it" although these weren't "it" either. In my opinion Austin is lacking in a first class Historic Hotel. A really nice staff doesn't compensate for not keeping the place up.That goes for the Stephen F. and The Driskill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive across the river a couple miles and up congress ave and go to the continental club, great music in a decent old bar, and if you can get in, stay at the Austin Motel across the street for about 20% of the cost of this room or the room at the Driskill.Eat at the Magnolia cafe or try a Franz hamburger. in one weekend you would save enough money to buy a nice high end pair of cowboy boots at Allen Boots up the street two blocks.All within walking distance of the Austin Motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheOtherDude
Business
California, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Stuck in the last century

Nice hotel in a great part of downtown Austin. The view from the hotel bar is awesome. My major complaint is they don't offer internet in any of the rooms. You have to pay extra per day and they put a 6MB limit on internet usage, thats just ridiculous. Also the tv was one of those old small boxy tube sets, so lame, who uses these anymore? Also the fridge in the room is stocked with cheap soft drinks and waters that cost an arm and a leg-- so there's zero room to put anything you buy in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for one burgers at the Jackalope on Thursdays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs.K71
Business
Austin
Aug 6, 2012

Less than Perfect

The hotel and staff were perfectly fine, but there were some discomforts that we experienced (maybe due to the age of the hotel or maintenance problems). Our hotel room never got below 82 degrees the length of our stay( and there are no ceilling fans and the windows do not open) and the tub drained slowly. When we checked out we mentioned this to the hotel staff who said they would look into it. I was slightly disappointed that we were not a discount on our valet parking or something that would have made us feel that they wanted to make up for the uncomfortable temperature in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hahlbrock
Business
Mexico
Nov 28, 2013

Front Desk

Every body was helpful with the exemption of one front desk attendant that made our request to stay one more night a little trouble full since our reservation was made through your service. This is something that has happen before...in general the hotel front desk personal does not appreciate when the reservation are made through your service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Jane
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 13, 2011

In the heart of downtown

This hotel is right smack in the middle from all the action, on the east and west side. Want something more rowdy with great drinks and amazing live music? Head on over to East 6th St. Want to chill? Go in the opposite direction on the West side. It's all within walking distance. If you have a car, you can easily head on over to South Austin, where there's plenty to boast of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Claremont, California
Jan 2, 2011

Not Bad, Not Great

The Hotel is charming and clean. The staff were all polite and profesional. The location is right downtown walking distance to the Capital and the all of downtown resturants and bars. Room service was good and priced like any good hotel (expensive).Motel 6 has better TV's. Probably the worst TV I have ever seen. The shower was very poor, low water pressure and not what you would expect from a "good" hotel. No gift shop. Bed was "make your back sore" soft. This is no Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars with plenty of character.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2009

SFA Austin adds extra charges!

When booking the room on Orbitz you were given three option. 1)Traditional Room 2) Queen 3)King Now when you click on two persons and have these options one would assume two standards would be in the traditional room. No, that is not correct. They charged me an additional 30 dollars! Room has great beds but tiny and not worth the cost. Many other options in Austin that are much better and with friendlier staff! Will not stay here ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
Mar 4, 2011

The bad, and the really ugly

Ended up in smallest room of the house... I had other expectations because I am a repeat customer. Never again sorry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top