$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
701 CONGRESS AVENUE, AUSTIN, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Hotel

I love this place, perfect except for one thing, they charge you like $15 to $30 a night just for... See full review

  • CalicoJack
  • Jun 15, 2013
Work Retreat

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the action but just far enough away to enjoy peace... See full review

  • biggbcvdfsa
  • Jul 14, 2014
A grand hotel in downtown Austin

Affectionately called the "Stephen F" by native Austinites, the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel has flourished in Austin's scene since it opened in 1924. Named for the state's founder, the luxury hotel sweeps guests into its intricately decorated lobby with a grand marble staircase, gold accents and dark wood furniture, restored to keep 1920s classic ambiance in perfect standing. The hotel contains the perfect mix of elegance, convenience and local flavor.

Highlights
  • Spacious fitness center with indoor lap pool
  • Massage treatments available onsite
  • One block from 6th Street nightlife
Location

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin is located in downtown Austin, a block from 6th Street.

Rooms

Rooms at the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel combine luxury with local flavor by incorporating decorative touches such as framed prints of the Texas state flower and wooden headboards emblazed with a lone star. This adds to the upscale elegance that saturates each room using features like Italian furniture, marble bathrooms with gold accents and French doors in suites. Guests enjoy wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

The InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel's on-site health and fitness center provides guests with plenty of space to work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment with individual TVs, as well as a heated indoor lap pool, changing rooms and shower facilities. Book a massage or relax in the hotel's Jacuzzi. With an executive club level room, guests enjoy use of the executive floors where they can have breakfast or enjoy a drink.  Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

Stephen F's Bar & Terrace draws locals and visitors with its high-end, club-like atmosphere and impressive tequila menu. The Terrace serves drinks and appetizers and has outside seating overlooking Congress Avenue and 7th Street. Go for a fine dining experience at the Roaring Fork restaurant, where fresh entrees are cooked over a wood fire.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (1 block)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Capitol Building (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.269 -97.742
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International, (AUS), 9.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Perry s Steakhouse and Grille
Perrys Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downtown landmarks. This location features unique decor, patio seating and Perrys award winning menu.
Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's Wood Fired Cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Manuel's
Award wining Mexican Cooking in the heart of Downtown. Famous for its Margaritas and the Sunday Brunch with Live Music.
The Coffeeshop at the Hideout Theatre
Located at 617 Congress Ave is the Hideout Coffeehouse, right below the Hideout Theatre. Locally owned and operated, the coffeehouse is open morning to night, weekdays and weekends, and serves beer, wine, fresh sandwiches, pastries, Amys ice cream, as wel
South Congress Cafe
An Icon on SoCo, serving brunch all day and offering an extensive and eclectic dinner menu after 5 PM, the South Congress Cafe is known for its Boar Chili and Carrot Cake French Toast. Happy Hour Monday to Friday from 3 to 6 PM
Quattro Gatti Ristorante
Quattro Gatti is a contemporary Italian eatery in the heart of Austin. Enjoy a variety of menu items like spaghetti al pomodoro, margherita pizza, and salmone ala verde as well as an assortment of wines from a diverse wine list.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Selective
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2011

Great hotel

Attended a wedding off premises

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location right downtown.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayanamilisa
Dallas, TX
Nov 4, 2010

Amazing hotel at a great price

I stayed at this hotel so I could see a concert that was located near 6th street. The hotel is very close to all the action and just far enough that you don't feel overwhelmed. I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Dallas but it was not as luxurious as this hotel.The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are kind and very helpful. The gym was great with water and towels provided along with baskets of fruit. I slept very very well which is pretty rare for me while I'm traveling. I had somewhat of a stressful road trip there but felt instantly relaxed at this hotel. I plan on staying again the next time I'm in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfect for those ready to hit sixth streets. Its also a safe haven to run back to when you are done partying

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Great Location and Service

I loved this place and will stay there again. If I had one complaint it would be that you are forced to pay for parking. I can see that in a really big city but not Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Great Location and Service

I loved this place and will stay there again. If I had one complaint it would be that you are forced to pay for parking. I can see that in a really big city but not Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattyH
Suwanee, GA
Mar 8, 2011

Gorgeous hotel

This hotel is beautiful and it's right in the middle of all the nightlife action. Parking is VERY high, if you don't mind your car being parked outside - there is a city parking lot right across the street from the hotel entrance and it's only $8 for overnight. Eat at Hickory Street which is also across the street - it had great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have time and want to experience a Texas Rodeo; visit Tejas Rodeo Company @ 401 Obst Road Bulverde, Texas 78163. It was a great time, you can drink, dine, dance under the starts and you can even ride a mechanical bull.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Selective
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2011

Great hotel

Attended a wedding off premises

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location right downtown.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 13, 2009

Cool, Comfortable and Welcoming

A friendly welcome and an efficient and quick check-in was how our stay at the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin began. The lobby, a cool, spacious and inviting area, is well decorated with several comfortable seating areas. Free internet access is available in this part of the hotel. The two concierges with whom we had spoken on several occasions were informative and always ready to help. The ever-cheerful desk staff were courteous and knowledgeable. Our room, an executive king, was large, immaculately clean and well decorated. It boasted a marvelously comfortable king-size bed with '7' fabulous pillows (and if these didn't suit, 3 other styles were available from housekeeping) and a cosy duvet cover. The room also contained a desk and chair, couch, occasional chair and coffee table. There was a closet with safe for valuables and a wardrobe that contained the television, drinks fridge and drawers for clothing storage. The marble-tiled bathroom was large with a shower (which my husband and I prefer to a shower / bathtub combination), pedestal sink and marble vanity. We thoroughly enjoyed our excellent Happy Hour dinner and drink in the Roaring Fork Restaurant and our breakfast on the Terrace (overlooking both Congress Avenue and 7th Street) was beautifully prepared. My husband made great use of the very well-equipped exercise/workout room and we both enjoyed our swim in the lap pool. The location of the Stephen F. Austin was perfect. It is in the centre of the downtown area close to shops, cafes, public transportation and the exciting Austin nightlife scene. We enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel and would, without reservation, recommend it to all visitors to this energetic and engaging city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food in Austin was remarkable - you will be spoiled for choice. I would heartily recommend: The Roaring Fork Restaurant in the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin, a sweet treat from the Driskill Hotel Grill and Cafe, a fabulous dinner at Lambert's (401 W. 2nd Street), Barbeque at Ruby's...The list goes on and on and on

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Feb 14, 2011

Great Atmosphere!

The service was great, the room was clear, and the bed was very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, TX
Jul 27, 2008

Great Location

The room was large and comfortable. I liked that there was a separate vanity from the bathroom sink. Bed was comfortable. The location was great for experiencing the restaurants and night life in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great choices for dinning

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattyH
Suwanee, GA
Mar 8, 2011

Gorgeous hotel

This hotel is beautiful and it's right in the middle of all the nightlife action. Parking is VERY high, if you don't mind your car being parked outside - there is a city parking lot right across the street from the hotel entrance and it's only $8 for overnight. Eat at Hickory Street which is also across the street - it had great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have time and want to experience a Texas Rodeo; visit Tejas Rodeo Company @ 401 Obst Road Bulverde, Texas 78163. It was a great time, you can drink, dine, dance under the starts and you can even ride a mechanical bull.

Back to menu Return to top