$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Couples
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 2, 2010

Great Location

Great, easy and quick checkin. Stayed overnight for nusiness and thought it was a great price for short notice. Breakfast inculded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayanamilisa
Couples
Dallas, TX
Nov 4, 2010

Amazing hotel at a great price

I stayed at this hotel so I could see a concert that was located near 6th street. The hotel is very close to all the action and just far enough that you don't feel overwhelmed. I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Dallas but it was not as luxurious as this hotel.The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are kind and very helpful. The gym was great with water and towels provided along with baskets of fruit. I slept very very well which is pretty rare for me while I'm traveling. I had somewhat of a stressful road trip there but felt instantly relaxed at this hotel. I plan on staying again the next time I'm in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfect for those ready to hit sixth streets. Its also a safe haven to run back to when you are done partying

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Mar 28, 2010

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Liked the great location, decent rooms (size and amenities), and the proper staff. Didn't like the TV that was probably the worst TV I've ever seen in any hotel room. I expected more from the Intercontinental on that part. Otherwise, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars all around to walk to. Excellent location for a weekend stay.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jadip7
Couples
Effingham, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Austin-Stephen Austin InterContinental

Great location for anyone participating in the Austin Marathon event. Starting line was 3 blocks away and finish was right outside the front door. Great restaurant (Roaring Fork) located adjacent to hotel. Chocolate Pecan Pie is the best ever! Stubbs Barbecue restaurant is a short walk away as is the Driskill Bar and Grill. Both are great ways to experience local favorites (barbecue and beef!!) Don't pass up a chance to get some Amy's Ice Cream. View of the Texas Capitol building is magnificent from the hotel and is only 4 short blocks up the hill. Just 2 more blocks past the Capitol gets you to the heart of the University of Texas campus. We also walked to Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop (Lance Armstrong's signature store) and found a great farmers market along the way. A lady selling scones at the market needs to go national with her product, they were outstanding!! Overall our experience was tremendous. The room was a good size, bed was comfortable, shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water! Above the hotel lobby was a bar (The Stephen F) with a great outdoor veranda/porch so you could sit outside and overlook the downtown area. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallas45
Single
Dallas, TX
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

A great place to stay, but you will pay a lot for parking, taxes, and other little "add ons". A $150 night can easily turn into a $225 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2009

Great Stay in Austin

Love the location and Hotel. The bar is so nice and perfect for after dinner drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dalizzard
Couples
houston, texas
Oct 6, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

central location, great restarants, music venues. nice hotel with helpful polite staff, good facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

kennichi- great for sushi

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2009

SFA Austin adds extra charges!

When booking the room on Orbitz you were given three option. 1)Traditional Room 2) Queen 3)King Now when you click on two persons and have these options one would assume two standards would be in the traditional room. No, that is not correct. They charged me an additional 30 dollars! Room has great beds but tiny and not worth the cost. Many other options in Austin that are much better and with friendlier staff! Will not stay here ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
don;t have one
Family
McKinney, Texas
Aug 31, 2009

excellent hotel

Location was excellent( downtown) however the noise from the street and outside was excessive at 2-3:00 AM as people were leaving the down town area. other than that the stay was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Austins 6th street area is one block south of the hotel

Back to menu Return to top