$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayanamilisa
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 4, 2010

Amazing hotel at a great price

I stayed at this hotel so I could see a concert that was located near 6th street. The hotel is very close to all the action and just far enough that you don't feel overwhelmed. I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Dallas but it was not as luxurious as this hotel.The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are kind and very helpful. The gym was great with water and towels provided along with baskets of fruit. I slept very very well which is pretty rare for me while I'm traveling. I had somewhat of a stressful road trip there but felt instantly relaxed at this hotel. I plan on staying again the next time I'm in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfect for those ready to hit sixth streets. Its also a safe haven to run back to when you are done partying

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 28, 2010

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Liked the great location, decent rooms (size and amenities), and the proper staff. Didn't like the TV that was probably the worst TV I've ever seen in any hotel room. I expected more from the Intercontinental on that part. Otherwise, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars all around to walk to. Excellent location for a weekend stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Feb 22, 2010

nice cozy room...

Nice location, beautiful lobby... excellent service and a well maintained building; though the carpet was in need of cleaning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Feb 22, 2010

nice cozy room...

Nice location, beautiful lobby... excellent service and a well maintained building; though the carpet was in need of cleaning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jadip7
Business
Effingham, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Austin-Stephen Austin InterContinental

Great location for anyone participating in the Austin Marathon event. Starting line was 3 blocks away and finish was right outside the front door. Great restaurant (Roaring Fork) located adjacent to hotel. Chocolate Pecan Pie is the best ever! Stubbs Barbecue restaurant is a short walk away as is the Driskill Bar and Grill. Both are great ways to experience local favorites (barbecue and beef!!) Don't pass up a chance to get some Amy's Ice Cream. View of the Texas Capitol building is magnificent from the hotel and is only 4 short blocks up the hill. Just 2 more blocks past the Capitol gets you to the heart of the University of Texas campus. We also walked to Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop (Lance Armstrong's signature store) and found a great farmers market along the way. A lady selling scones at the market needs to go national with her product, they were outstanding!! Overall our experience was tremendous. The room was a good size, bed was comfortable, shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water! Above the hotel lobby was a bar (The Stephen F) with a great outdoor veranda/porch so you could sit outside and overlook the downtown area. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallas45
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

A great place to stay, but you will pay a lot for parking, taxes, and other little "add ons". A $150 night can easily turn into a $225 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel for ever
Business
Paris, France
Nov 8, 2009

That dear Stephen F.

Going back to the Stephen F.Austin is like going home. Its size is just right, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even if it is a pity some room service staff have no English. And even if, although I had paid all my expenses in full on leaving and made sure I had, my credit card has been debited for no valid reason...As I have not a US credit card I am charged by my bank a ridiculous amount for $3. It all had to do with phoning from the room I think. The charge for local calls is ludicrous: 1,50 $, whatever the time spent. Also it is a pity the public phone that used to be off the lobby has been removed and not been replaced. Which makes it awkward if you do not have a cell phone. as I did not, not living in the U.S. Have not had time to deal with that charge I did not owe yet. But pity that should happen. The bar on the second floor boasts with reason the best terrace in Austin. The view from there on the Capitol is great. The bar food is pretty uneven though and that side of things could be improved. The crab cake from the first floor restaurant, though, is incredibly good. As for the rooms, they are "friendly", comfortable without going overboard. Pity I had no light in the small lobby as it made the closet rather dark. The bathrooms are fine too. Will go back there with pleasure if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Modern Art Museum practically next door. Ransom Center on campus with great free exhibitions. The Capitol, of course,all of it, including its restaurant where you come across people working there. For music the South Congress Continental, for sure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel for ever
Business
Paris, France
Nov 8, 2009

That dear Stephen F.

Going back to the Stephen F.Austin is like going home. Its size is just right, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even if it is a pity some room service staff have no English. And even if, although I had paid all my expenses in full on leaving and made sure I had, my credit card has been debited for no valid reason...As I have not a US credit card I am charged by my bank a ridiculous amount for $3. It all had to do with phoning from the room I think. The charge for local calls is ludicrous: 1,50 $, whatever the time spent. Also it is a pity the public phone that used to be off the lobby has been removed and not been replaced. Which makes it awkward if you do not have a cell phone. as I did not, not living in the U.S. Have not had time to deal with that charge I did not owe yet. But pity that should happen. The bar on the second floor boasts with reason the best terrace in Austin. The view from there on the Capitol is great. The bar food is pretty uneven though and that side of things could be improved. The crab cake from the first floor restaurant, though, is incredibly good. As for the rooms, they are "friendly", comfortable without going overboard. Pity I had no light in the small lobby as it made the closet rather dark. The bathrooms are fine too. Will go back there with pleasure if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Modern Art Museum practically next door. Ransom Center on campus with great free exhibitions. The Capitol, of course,all of it, including its restaurant where you come across people working there. For music the South Congress Continental, for sure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2009

Great Stay in Austin

Love the location and Hotel. The bar is so nice and perfect for after dinner drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top