InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
42 reviews
Great Hotel

I love this place, perfect except for one thing, they charge you like $15 to $30 a night just for... See full review

  • CalicoJack
  • Jun 15, 2013
Great Time. Weekend stay

This is a beautiful place to stay and is located close to everything in Downtown Austin. 6th street... See full review

  • J Andrews
  • Aug 25, 2014
A grand hotel in downtown Austin

Affectionately called the "Stephen F" by native Austinites, the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel has flourished in Austin's scene since it opened in 1924. Named for the state's founder, the luxury hotel sweeps guests into its intricately decorated lobby with a grand marble staircase, gold accents and dark wood furniture, restored to keep 1920s classic ambiance in perfect standing. The hotel contains the perfect mix of elegance, convenience and local flavor.

Highlights
  • Spacious fitness center with indoor lap pool
  • Massage treatments available onsite
  • One block from 6th Street nightlife
Location

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin is located in downtown Austin, a block from 6th Street.

Rooms

Rooms at the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel combine luxury with local flavor by incorporating decorative touches such as framed prints of the Texas state flower and wooden headboards emblazed with a lone star. This adds to the upscale elegance that saturates each room using features like Italian furniture, marble bathrooms with gold accents and French doors in suites. Guests enjoy wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

The InterContinental Stephen F. Austin hotel's on-site health and fitness center provides guests with plenty of space to work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment with individual TVs, as well as a heated indoor lap pool, changing rooms and shower facilities. Book a massage or relax in the hotel's Jacuzzi. With an executive club level room, guests enjoy use of the executive floors where they can have breakfast or enjoy a drink.  Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

Stephen F's Bar & Terrace draws locals and visitors with its high-end, club-like atmosphere and impressive tequila menu. The Terrace serves drinks and appetizers and has outside seating overlooking Congress Avenue and 7th Street. Go for a fine dining experience at the Roaring Fork restaurant, where fresh entrees are cooked over a wood fire.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (1 block)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Capitol Building (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

30.269 -97.742
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International, (AUS), 9.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Perry s Steakhouse and Grille
Perrys Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downtown landmarks. This location features unique decor, patio seating and Perrys award winning menu.
Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's Wood Fired Cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Manuel's
Award wining Mexican Cooking in the heart of Downtown. Famous for its Margaritas and the Sunday Brunch with Live Music.
The Coffeeshop at the Hideout Theatre
Located at 617 Congress Ave is the Hideout Coffeehouse, right below the Hideout Theatre. Locally owned and operated, the coffeehouse is open morning to night, weekdays and weekends, and serves beer, wine, fresh sandwiches, pastries, Amys ice cream, as wel
South Congress Cafe
An Icon on SoCo, serving brunch all day and offering an extensive and eclectic dinner menu after 5 PM, the South Congress Cafe is known for its Boar Chili and Carrot Cake French Toast. Happy Hour Monday to Friday from 3 to 6 PM
Quattro Gatti Ristorante
Quattro Gatti is a contemporary Italian eatery in the heart of Austin. Enjoy a variety of menu items like spaghetti al pomodoro, margherita pizza, and salmone ala verde as well as an assortment of wines from a diverse wine list.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jadip7
Effingham, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Austin-Stephen Austin InterContinental

Great location for anyone participating in the Austin Marathon event. Starting line was 3 blocks away and finish was right outside the front door. Great restaurant (Roaring Fork) located adjacent to hotel. Chocolate Pecan Pie is the best ever! Stubbs Barbecue restaurant is a short walk away as is the Driskill Bar and Grill. Both are great ways to experience local favorites (barbecue and beef!!) Don't pass up a chance to get some Amy's Ice Cream. View of the Texas Capitol building is magnificent from the hotel and is only 4 short blocks up the hill. Just 2 more blocks past the Capitol gets you to the heart of the University of Texas campus. We also walked to Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop (Lance Armstrong's signature store) and found a great farmers market along the way. A lady selling scones at the market needs to go national with her product, they were outstanding!! Overall our experience was tremendous. The room was a good size, bed was comfortable, shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water! Above the hotel lobby was a bar (The Stephen F) with a great outdoor veranda/porch so you could sit outside and overlook the downtown area. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallas45
Dallas, TX
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

A great place to stay, but you will pay a lot for parking, taxes, and other little "add ons". A $150 night can easily turn into a $225 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Ala.
Dec 20, 2009

Stephen F. is great for work and play

I stayed for 1 night at the Stephen F. after interviewing for a job. I was exhausted when arriving. I had trouble locating the valet, probably because I was so tired, so be warned that it is fairly nondescript and you basically just pull up to it on the street. Check-in was a breeze and the room was an absolute retreat. I took full advantage of my stay and the noon checkout time. I did notice a few things that could use some maintenance -- the TVs in the rooms are small and haven't been upgraded to flat-screen. Also, the showerheads could use replacing and the water pressure was weak. Finally, there was a nice makeup mirror set up at the vanity area in the bathroom, but the hinge to hold it up was broken and therefore I couldn't make use of the mirror. In the morning, you can hear the sounds of the city very well, so it may not be the most quiet place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I did order room service for breakfast and it was divine. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Stephen F. and I hope to take my husband there for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel for ever
Paris, France
Nov 8, 2009

That dear Stephen F.

Going back to the Stephen F.Austin is like going home. Its size is just right, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even if it is a pity some room service staff have no English. And even if, although I had paid all my expenses in full on leaving and made sure I had, my credit card has been debited for no valid reason...As I have not a US credit card I am charged by my bank a ridiculous amount for $3. It all had to do with phoning from the room I think. The charge for local calls is ludicrous: 1,50 $, whatever the time spent. Also it is a pity the public phone that used to be off the lobby has been removed and not been replaced. Which makes it awkward if you do not have a cell phone. as I did not, not living in the U.S. Have not had time to deal with that charge I did not owe yet. But pity that should happen. The bar on the second floor boasts with reason the best terrace in Austin. The view from there on the Capitol is great. The bar food is pretty uneven though and that side of things could be improved. The crab cake from the first floor restaurant, though, is incredibly good. As for the rooms, they are "friendly", comfortable without going overboard. Pity I had no light in the small lobby as it made the closet rather dark. The bathrooms are fine too. Will go back there with pleasure if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Modern Art Museum practically next door. Ransom Center on campus with great free exhibitions. The Capitol, of course,all of it, including its restaurant where you come across people working there. For music the South Congress Continental, for sure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2009

Great Stay in Austin

Love the location and Hotel. The bar is so nice and perfect for after dinner drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dalizzard
houston, texas
Oct 6, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

central location, great restarants, music venues. nice hotel with helpful polite staff, good facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

kennichi- great for sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2009

SFA Austin adds extra charges!

When booking the room on Orbitz you were given three option. 1)Traditional Room 2) Queen 3)King Now when you click on two persons and have these options one would assume two standards would be in the traditional room. No, that is not correct. They charged me an additional 30 dollars! Room has great beds but tiny and not worth the cost. Many other options in Austin that are much better and with friendlier staff! Will not stay here ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
don;t have one
McKinney, Texas
Aug 31, 2009

excellent hotel

Location was excellent( downtown) however the noise from the street and outside was excessive at 2-3:00 AM as people were leaving the down town area. other than that the stay was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Austins 6th street area is one block south of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 13, 2009

Cool, Comfortable and Welcoming

A friendly welcome and an efficient and quick check-in was how our stay at the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin began. The lobby, a cool, spacious and inviting area, is well decorated with several comfortable seating areas. Free internet access is available in this part of the hotel. The two concierges with whom we had spoken on several occasions were informative and always ready to help. The ever-cheerful desk staff were courteous and knowledgeable. Our room, an executive king, was large, immaculately clean and well decorated. It boasted a marvelously comfortable king-size bed with '7' fabulous pillows (and if these didn't suit, 3 other styles were available from housekeeping) and a cosy duvet cover. The room also contained a desk and chair, couch, occasional chair and coffee table. There was a closet with safe for valuables and a wardrobe that contained the television, drinks fridge and drawers for clothing storage. The marble-tiled bathroom was large with a shower (which my husband and I prefer to a shower / bathtub combination), pedestal sink and marble vanity. We thoroughly enjoyed our excellent Happy Hour dinner and drink in the Roaring Fork Restaurant and our breakfast on the Terrace (overlooking both Congress Avenue and 7th Street) was beautifully prepared. My husband made great use of the very well-equipped exercise/workout room and we both enjoyed our swim in the lap pool. The location of the Stephen F. Austin was perfect. It is in the centre of the downtown area close to shops, cafes, public transportation and the exciting Austin nightlife scene. We enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel and would, without reservation, recommend it to all visitors to this energetic and engaging city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food in Austin was remarkable - you will be spoiled for choice. I would heartily recommend: The Roaring Fork Restaurant in the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin, a sweet treat from the Driskill Hotel Grill and Cafe, a fabulous dinner at Lambert's (401 W. 2nd Street), Barbeque at Ruby's...The list goes on and on and on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna, happier at the Hyatt
Business
Vermont
Apr 22, 2009

Not a Trustworthy Hotel

I made my non-refundable reservation via Orbitz. I knew my flight into Austin would not arrive until after midnight, so I called the hotel to let them know I would not be checking in until after midnight. I was told over the phone that this was fine, and that they would make a note of this for the reservation desk. When I arrived, around 1am, I was told that my room had been sold and that they had no rooms left. They offered to pay for me to stay in another hotel for one night and then I could come back to them! Blow that! Like I want to pack and unpack for one night!!! I insisted they find me another comparable hotel and pay for my entire stay, not just one night. What is the point of making a reservation if it has no meaning to the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top