$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CalicoJack
Business
Arkansas
Jun 15, 2013

Great Hotel

I love this place, perfect except for one thing, they charge you like $15 to $30 a night just for internet. Really really frustrating...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacciM
Business
Ohio
Feb 28, 2013

Business Trip

Hotel was great for my business trip. Would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorn Fan 96
Business
Dallas
Sep 10, 2012

Good value for tune up game weekend

Because UT had a tune up game, room rate was discounted and very good value for this downtown, very accessible location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Great old/non-tricked up quality hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs.K71
Business
Austin
Aug 6, 2012

Less than Perfect

The hotel and staff were perfectly fine, but there were some discomforts that we experienced (maybe due to the age of the hotel or maintenance problems). Our hotel room never got below 82 degrees the length of our stay( and there are no ceilling fans and the windows do not open) and the tub drained slowly. When we checked out we mentioned this to the hotel staff who said they would look into it. I was slightly disappointed that we were not a discount on our valet parking or something that would have made us feel that they wanted to make up for the uncomfortable temperature in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Business
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdia
Business
TN
Jun 16, 2012

Austin Vacation

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation to Austin! We enjoyed the hotel so much. It was the perfect location to walk to many of our downtown destinations. The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greenie444
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 2, 2012

We Know the Generators Work

We were there the night the lights went out on Sixth Street. Someone crashed into a transformer or something. We made a bee-line for the hotel, which was a short walk from the Blue Moon Bar and were pleasantly surprised that the lobby lights were on. People were in the hotel restaurant under low lighting and the elevators functioned just fine. No lights in the room all night, but who cares? Had to wait until 9:30am for hot water, but who cares? It was a Sunday morning. Thankfully, the whole staff kept their composure as they handled the more irate guests. I thought things went well, given the circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all valet, so plan to cruise up and down the area until you know where you want to go and then have the car parked for the remainder of your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheOtherDude
Business
California, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Stuck in the last century

Nice hotel in a great part of downtown Austin. The view from the hotel bar is awesome. My major complaint is they don't offer internet in any of the rooms. You have to pay extra per day and they put a 6MB limit on internet usage, thats just ridiculous. Also the tv was one of those old small boxy tube sets, so lame, who uses these anymore? Also the fridge in the room is stocked with cheap soft drinks and waters that cost an arm and a leg-- so there's zero room to put anything you buy in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for one burgers at the Jackalope on Thursdays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GettaRoom
Business
Hawaii
Oct 18, 2011

worn out carpet

I had worn out carpet and a vacuum tube television, but the the Driskill across the street had worn out carpet too, although it had an LCD TV the reception was poor. Both hotels had those annoying refrigerators that are full of $8 dollar beers and $7 peanuts. I think the Bottom line is that they know they have the best location so they don't try to make the rooms that nice. I had several meals at both hotels and they were good but nothing I would call incredible and fairly high priced, the embassy suites up congress two blocks had nice rooms with a huge free breakfast, but not having the location it wasn't quite "it" although these weren't "it" either. In my opinion Austin is lacking in a first class Historic Hotel. A really nice staff doesn't compensate for not keeping the place up.That goes for the Stephen F. and The Driskill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive across the river a couple miles and up congress ave and go to the continental club, great music in a decent old bar, and if you can get in, stay at the Austin Motel across the street for about 20% of the cost of this room or the room at the Driskill.Eat at the Magnolia cafe or try a Franz hamburger. in one weekend you would save enough money to buy a nice high end pair of cowboy boots at Allen Boots up the street two blocks.All within walking distance of the Austin Motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Jane
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 13, 2011

In the heart of downtown

This hotel is right smack in the middle from all the action, on the east and west side. Want something more rowdy with great drinks and amazing live music? Head on over to East 6th St. Want to chill? Go in the opposite direction on the West side. It's all within walking distance. If you have a car, you can easily head on over to South Austin, where there's plenty to boast of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top