$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Hyatt Regency Austin

4 stars
View map of 208 Barton Springs Rd, AUSTIN, TX 78704

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Austin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Onehthony
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Location, Location, Location!

Centrally located in the heart of everything. Great access to downtown and South Congress. Bike path runs right next to the hotel and you can rent mountain bikes at the concierge. Breakfast was included in our package and buffet offered many options. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AFTCD
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Do not stay here!

The location of this place is great and the common areas are amazing but the 4 stars ends here. The parking situation is awful and caused long waiting lines at night to get in. Also I paid for and reserved a king bed, upon check in I was told they could only give me a room with double beds because I chose to book through Orbitz and they only honor reservations made through their own website but luckily they could still fit us in a room. Than the room we were in had a bad a/c system that never got cold and when we complained we were told they were already filled to capacity. I would rather stayed in a budget inn than this over priced rude hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to MoMo's for great live music!

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 12, 2011

Poor Food Service, Nice Room

The hotel room was nicely updated. Front desk staff were polite and helpful. Don't eat here. The hot food was all served cold. The servers were clueless. It took forever to get drinks, forget refills on water. Servers never check their station when passing through the room. I got up to get water from the service area, three pitchers - all empty. 4 tables total in the dining room that evening. Food would have been ok (not great) if it had been hot. I'm in the business and can tell you that the shrimp appetizer I was served had been prepared at least 5-6 hours prior to my arrival. The soup was not even close to being warm, much less hot. Go to a nearby fast food chain. Better food and service are sure to be found there for much less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at this hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rarespecies
Business
brooklyn ny
Jun 6, 2011

Friendly Service! Clean!

Super friendly staff and service, clean bathroom, overall clean. Can't expect much for the price. Right off the freeway, tiny pool that only goes up to 5 feet but at least there's a pool. Only weird part was the blanket...really icky texture and I made the mistake of picking a smoking room because there was a cigarette burn on the blanket. Wasn't really into it at first but the staff was really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Shell gas station right next to it.

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
den
May 11, 2011

the good the bad

no free internet paid 10.00 a day parking 14.00 a day. this ruined what was a nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Mar 3, 2011

Terrible customer service

Hotel staff was terrible. Booked a king size bed, they gave me a double, then glared rudely when I kindly asked for the reserved room type. Needless to say the room type stayed as a doubleHousekeeping couldn't be bothered to make the bed so that the sheets didn't come totally un-tucked and the matress pad balled up for 3 consecutive nights.The staff balked at my request for a receipt for travel reimbursement purposes since I booked the hotel through [...]. Instead of a helpful escalation to a manager that could help me they outright refused and acted as though this was the first time they had ever issued a room receipt.The only redeeming part of the stay was the super helpful doormen and the location along the river! Will avoid Hyatt's in the future based on their terrible service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockTheGlobe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Could've been better...

I had fairly high expectations, partially because the place had gotten such good reviews and partially because it's a Hyatt and I'd come to expect good things from Hyatts in general, especially since we're Gold Passport members. Sadly, I was a little put off by the Hyatt Regency Austin -- things started going downhill from the second my wife and I walked in the door when the front desk clerk insisted that we booked a room with 2 double beds and they didn't have anything available with 1 king. [...]finally found us a room on the 4th floor with a king bed.Other fails from the weekend: Two of the three elliptical machines in the gym were busted when I tried to exercise (and the third was being used), so I had to work out using other equipment. The parking lot gate goes up when you put your room key in the card slot, but I never could get it to work, so every time we returned to the hotel, I kept trying to activate the gate for a few minutes with my hand out in the rain until I finally gave up and just took a regular ticket. Plus it was the weekend of the AFC playoffs and the Golden Globes, but for some reason, reception of all of the local network TV channels was incredibly snowy to the point where we could barely see what was going on. We had to sign up for some paid online streaming TV service after getting the front desk to agree to comp our WiFi for a night (since WiFi costs $9.99 a day through T-Mobile Hotspot) in order to watch the Golden Globes. Unfortunately, the guy who agreed to comp our WiFi didn't put any notes on our account, so I had to convince them when we checked out that someone had offered to give us a free day of WiFi. Also, last call at the hotel bar was at midnight on a Friday night... not exactly what I expected from a city known for its nightlife.The hotel is located on the south side of the Congress Street Bridge, with much easier access to the stretch of restaurants and stuff south of the city center. If you're going to Austin to hit stuff downtown like 6th Street or the Convention Center or UT, it is not an easy walk from the Hyatt -- it's a half-mile just to get from the hotel over the bridge and another half-mile to 6th Street, so I would recommend staying somewhere on the other side of the Congress Street Bridge.On the upside, the bed was comfortable, the room was well-appointed, and everything was very clean. We initially feared the noise level from the atrium would spill into the rooms (since the hotel is triangular and all of the room doors face into the open air atrium, with sound from the ground floor easily carrying up the height of the interior of the hotel), but we were happy to find that despite the noise level on each open-air hallway, our room was quiet inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jan 10, 2011

Wonderful Weekend

Service was wonderful. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Room service was fast, but food could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy view of river and city from Hotel while a short ride to Sixth street provides food and fun outside of the hotel.

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Logan M
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 2, 2011

Just what we needed!

We arrived in Austin after a long day of driving, and the hotel was just what we needed. The room was great, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was big (and clean!), and the staff was very helpful. I'd definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
earlsson
Business
scottsdale, az
Nov 28, 2010

Thanksgiving Trip

I grew up in Austin and have always enjoyed downtown. We went to the UT A&M game, visited family in Northwest Austin and made a quick trip to Marble Falls. This Hyatt is a great central location. The guest room was modern and I liked the floorplan. The best was a bit too firm for me but I otherwise enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to UT and only steps away from the running trails.

Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ET601
Business
Madison, MS
Aug 16, 2010

Nice location. Convenient to nightlife

Nice time. Concierge picked up and delivered tickets to a concert on the morning of the show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top