$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Hyatt Regency Austin

4 stars
View map of 208 Barton Springs Rd, AUSTIN, TX 78704

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Austin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockTheGlobe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Could've been better...

I had fairly high expectations, partially because the place had gotten such good reviews and partially because it's a Hyatt and I'd come to expect good things from Hyatts in general, especially since we're Gold Passport members. Sadly, I was a little put off by the Hyatt Regency Austin -- things started going downhill from the second my wife and I walked in the door when the front desk clerk insisted that we booked a room with 2 double beds and they didn't have anything available with 1 king. [...]finally found us a room on the 4th floor with a king bed.Other fails from the weekend: Two of the three elliptical machines in the gym were busted when I tried to exercise (and the third was being used), so I had to work out using other equipment. The parking lot gate goes up when you put your room key in the card slot, but I never could get it to work, so every time we returned to the hotel, I kept trying to activate the gate for a few minutes with my hand out in the rain until I finally gave up and just took a regular ticket. Plus it was the weekend of the AFC playoffs and the Golden Globes, but for some reason, reception of all of the local network TV channels was incredibly snowy to the point where we could barely see what was going on. We had to sign up for some paid online streaming TV service after getting the front desk to agree to comp our WiFi for a night (since WiFi costs $9.99 a day through T-Mobile Hotspot) in order to watch the Golden Globes. Unfortunately, the guy who agreed to comp our WiFi didn't put any notes on our account, so I had to convince them when we checked out that someone had offered to give us a free day of WiFi. Also, last call at the hotel bar was at midnight on a Friday night... not exactly what I expected from a city known for its nightlife.The hotel is located on the south side of the Congress Street Bridge, with much easier access to the stretch of restaurants and stuff south of the city center. If you're going to Austin to hit stuff downtown like 6th Street or the Convention Center or UT, it is not an easy walk from the Hyatt -- it's a half-mile just to get from the hotel over the bridge and another half-mile to 6th Street, so I would recommend staying somewhere on the other side of the Congress Street Bridge.On the upside, the bed was comfortable, the room was well-appointed, and everything was very clean. We initially feared the noise level from the atrium would spill into the rooms (since the hotel is triangular and all of the room doors face into the open air atrium, with sound from the ground floor easily carrying up the height of the interior of the hotel), but we were happy to find that despite the noise level on each open-air hallway, our room was quiet inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jan 10, 2011

Wonderful Weekend

Service was wonderful. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Room service was fast, but food could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy view of river and city from Hotel while a short ride to Sixth street provides food and fun outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Logan M
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 2, 2011

Just what we needed!

We arrived in Austin after a long day of driving, and the hotel was just what we needed. The room was great, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was big (and clean!), and the staff was very helpful. I'd definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
earlsson
Business
scottsdale, az
Nov 28, 2010

Thanksgiving Trip

I grew up in Austin and have always enjoyed downtown. We went to the UT A&M game, visited family in Northwest Austin and made a quick trip to Marble Falls. This Hyatt is a great central location. The guest room was modern and I liked the floorplan. The best was a bit too firm for me but I otherwise enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to UT and only steps away from the running trails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ET601
Business
Madison, MS
Aug 16, 2010

Nice location. Convenient to nightlife

Nice time. Concierge picked up and delivered tickets to a concert on the morning of the show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

Austin

Close to everything. Easy in/out. Room comfortable and up-to-date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends and fun
Business
Austin
Jun 14, 2010

Austin

Nice, clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia-I miss Texas, especially Austin
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 4, 2010

Great Choice for Austin Lodging

It had been years since I had stayed at the Hyatt Regency Austin. It has undergone a spectacular renovation. Everything was spotless and the hotel had all the amenities necessary to a pleasant stay. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the city and even a view of the Congress Avenue bridge from under which the bats fly out at dusk. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Uchi on South Lamar has some of the best sushi I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 19, 2010

Austin Hotel for the Future

Loved the bar!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tulip girl
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 24, 2010

Great location!!!!

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. Staff and concierge were very friendly and attentive. The location was great and I was easily able to rent a bike from the concierge to go around Lady Bird Lake. The location of the hotel is perfect and downtown is just across the bridge. Overall, the interior of the hotel shows some aging, but the rooms were nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

South Congress is a great neighborhood for a walk and brunch/dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top