$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Hyatt Regency Austin

4 stars
208 Barton Springs Rd, AUSTIN, TX 78704
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Great experience

I only soent two days kn the hotel but the staff went out of their way to make me and my puppy feel... See full review

  • MARY QUEEN OF HEARTS
  • Dec 2, 2014
Beautiful Stay

This hotel has beautiful views overlooking Lady Bird Lake and the Austin skyline, the walking/bike... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • Dec 1, 2014
Luxury Austin hotel steps from downtown
The Hyatt Regency Austin caters to both city and nature lovers, thanks to views of Lady Bird Lake and downtown Austin. The modern property keeps guests active with an outdoor pool, fitness center and in-room YogaAway kits. Live entertainment keeps the vibe upbeat at the lakeside lounge, Marker 10 Spirits & Cuisine, while a trendy restaurant nourishes foodies with specialties like fresh guacamole prepared tableside.   

Highlights
  • Bikes for rent to cruise the trail around Lady Bird Lake
  • Outdoor pool with deck and views of downtown and the lake
  • Live entertainment at Marker 10 Spirits & Cuisine

Location

Austin's famous Congress Avenue "bat bridge" is directly across from the hotel and opposite, downtown Austin, where shops and restaurants abound.   

Rooms

Hyatt Regency Austin rooms sport soothing beige and brown hues and dark wood furniture. Most spaces have a king or two doubles with down duvets, oversized pillows and triple sheeting. Rooms also include 32-inch flat-screen TV, work desk, iHome stereo and more. Guests with allergies can request a hypoallergenic room that has been sterilized for airborne particles and irritants. Business plan king rooms treat executives to free shirt or blouse pressing, breakfast, bottled water and a free newspaper. Fees apply for Wi-Fi.  

Dining

SWB Restaurant embraces regional cuisine made from fresh, seasonal ingredients such as guacamole prepared tableside. Stop for a drink and enjoy live music at the lakeside lounge, Marker 10 Spirits & Cuisine.

Recreation
Visitors can relax in the pool or whirlpool overlooking Lady Bird Lake and downtown Austin or grab a  workout in the 24-hour Stay Fit gym, with TVs, cardio and weight machines. For outdoor calorie burning, rent a bike and cycle around the 10-mile Lady Bird hike-n-bike trail.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (across the street)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (across the street)
  • 2nd Street shopping (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Austin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Austin Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Standard
Standard guestroom features either 2 double beds or one King bed, high-speed Internet access, work station, private bath, flat screen TV, two phones, in room safe, and iHome docking station. Bathrobes & amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.4 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zach Theater: 0.8 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.1 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.4 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.9 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.4 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zach Theater: 0.8 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.1 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.4 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.1 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.9 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.8 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.8 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.4 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.3 mi

Dining

SWB
SWB restaurant features breakfast & lunch. SWB's fajitas voted Best In Austin for the last 4 years by the readers of the Austin Chronicle.
Marker 10
Lobby bar set in an outdoor atmosphere overlooking scenic Lady Bird Lake.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Austin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott from Louisiana
Business
Louisiana, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Very Nice Location

Very nice stay in Austin. Hotel is close to everything in town. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BernieLou
Business
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Amazing couples getaway

The Hyatt Regency hotel was the perfect couple's getaway. The beautiful view of downtown Austin and town lake was magical. The location was ideal for visiting excellent restaurants and shops in South Austin (SoCo). SoCo is the high energy and new "it" spot in Austin. The Hyatt Regency has a transitional decor that beautifully compliments the elements of Central Texas and the hill country with a touch of Austin flare. The Hyatt Regency is the perfect getaway for couples of all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hop Doddy's in SoCo Great burgers with fresh baked buns and fresh produce from local vendors. The bar drinks are top quality and made with fresh ingredients. The BEST Margarita with delicious lava salt around the rim. I almost forgot to mention the hand-cut fries. YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Sep 16, 2011

great room

it was very clean and the view of the river was great also. I would stay there again when i go to Austin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great steaks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph11111
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 12, 2011

The best location

Wake up looking at the lake and downtown, go jogging in the lake side, and be walking distance from downtown! Unbeatable in Austin. The nicest staff. Keep making Austin an awesome place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AFTCD
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Do not stay here!

The location of this place is great and the common areas are amazing but the 4 stars ends here. The parking situation is awful and caused long waiting lines at night to get in. Also I paid for and reserved a king bed, upon check in I was told they could only give me a room with double beds because I chose to book through Orbitz and they only honor reservations made through their own website but luckily they could still fit us in a room. Than the room we were in had a bad a/c system that never got cold and when we complained we were told they were already filled to capacity. I would rather stayed in a budget inn than this over priced rude hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to MoMo's for great live music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 12, 2011

Poor Food Service, Nice Room

The hotel room was nicely updated. Front desk staff were polite and helpful. Don't eat here. The hot food was all served cold. The servers were clueless. It took forever to get drinks, forget refills on water. Servers never check their station when passing through the room. I got up to get water from the service area, three pitchers - all empty. 4 tables total in the dining room that evening. Food would have been ok (not great) if it had been hot. I'm in the business and can tell you that the shrimp appetizer I was served had been prepared at least 5-6 hours prior to my arrival. The soup was not even close to being warm, much less hot. Go to a nearby fast food chain. Better food and service are sure to be found there for much less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rarespecies
Business
brooklyn ny
Jun 6, 2011

Friendly Service! Clean!

Super friendly staff and service, clean bathroom, overall clean. Can't expect much for the price. Right off the freeway, tiny pool that only goes up to 5 feet but at least there's a pool. Only weird part was the blanket...really icky texture and I made the mistake of picking a smoking room because there was a cigarette burn on the blanket. Wasn't really into it at first but the staff was really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Shell gas station right next to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
den
May 11, 2011

the good the bad

no free internet paid 10.00 a day parking 14.00 a day. this ruined what was a nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Mar 3, 2011

Terrible customer service

Hotel staff was terrible. Booked a king size bed, they gave me a double, then glared rudely when I kindly asked for the reserved room type. Needless to say the room type stayed as a doubleHousekeeping couldn't be bothered to make the bed so that the sheets didn't come totally un-tucked and the matress pad balled up for 3 consecutive nights.The staff balked at my request for a receipt for travel reimbursement purposes since I booked the hotel through [...]. Instead of a helpful escalation to a manager that could help me they outright refused and acted as though this was the first time they had ever issued a room receipt.The only redeeming part of the stay was the super helpful doormen and the location along the river! Will avoid Hyatt's in the future based on their terrible service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockTheGlobe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Could've been better...

I had fairly high expectations, partially because the place had gotten such good reviews and partially because it's a Hyatt and I'd come to expect good things from Hyatts in general, especially since we're Gold Passport members. Sadly, I was a little put off by the Hyatt Regency Austin -- things started going downhill from the second my wife and I walked in the door when the front desk clerk insisted that we booked a room with 2 double beds and they didn't have anything available with 1 king. [...]finally found us a room on the 4th floor with a king bed.Other fails from the weekend: Two of the three elliptical machines in the gym were busted when I tried to exercise (and the third was being used), so I had to work out using other equipment. The parking lot gate goes up when you put your room key in the card slot, but I never could get it to work, so every time we returned to the hotel, I kept trying to activate the gate for a few minutes with my hand out in the rain until I finally gave up and just took a regular ticket. Plus it was the weekend of the AFC playoffs and the Golden Globes, but for some reason, reception of all of the local network TV channels was incredibly snowy to the point where we could barely see what was going on. We had to sign up for some paid online streaming TV service after getting the front desk to agree to comp our WiFi for a night (since WiFi costs $9.99 a day through T-Mobile Hotspot) in order to watch the Golden Globes. Unfortunately, the guy who agreed to comp our WiFi didn't put any notes on our account, so I had to convince them when we checked out that someone had offered to give us a free day of WiFi. Also, last call at the hotel bar was at midnight on a Friday night... not exactly what I expected from a city known for its nightlife.The hotel is located on the south side of the Congress Street Bridge, with much easier access to the stretch of restaurants and stuff south of the city center. If you're going to Austin to hit stuff downtown like 6th Street or the Convention Center or UT, it is not an easy walk from the Hyatt -- it's a half-mile just to get from the hotel over the bridge and another half-mile to 6th Street, so I would recommend staying somewhere on the other side of the Congress Street Bridge.On the upside, the bed was comfortable, the room was well-appointed, and everything was very clean. We initially feared the noise level from the atrium would spill into the rooms (since the hotel is triangular and all of the room doors face into the open air atrium, with sound from the ground floor easily carrying up the height of the interior of the hotel), but we were happy to find that despite the noise level on each open-air hallway, our room was quiet inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top