$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
127 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 127
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.5

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mamie Kensington
South texas
May 5, 2014

Facilities need work

Hotel is poorly kept.. One ice machine serves entire hotel. No landscaping except weeds. Outdoor locks don't work. Hair dryer missing from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shiverrr777
Melbourne, Fl
Aug 3, 2012

Great for the price

At the price you pay for this hotel You definately cannot complain, the staff is super helpful. The only thing that was an issue, but honestly not a big deal was that there was a smell in the hallway, but it wasn't so bad that it needs a bad review :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have applebees, and buffalo wild wings right across the road basically. and in one direction, you have a Red lobster and in the oppisite, you have Taco Bell and McDonalds, it's also near a walmart which has like a little strip mall, with a goodwill, ceasers, subway etc...

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edsgolfin
The Villages, FL
Jul 7, 2012

Restoration transformation

The sign outside says "under new management", the dumpster outside my window suggested work was underway and it all seemed appropriate to me. But, I didn't pay much so I sure can't expect much. I was looking for a place to sleep and be have a bathroon available and both were there and working fine. The internet and TV were both good. The access to and from I35 is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P F Changs in Austin.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
portiasdad
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Needs serious help

This hotel will probably be fantastic--when they're done fixing everything that's broken. My bath had no faucet. The shower would not provide cold water, and the hot water was scaldingly hot. Had to take a sponge-bath using the bathroom sink. The pillows provided were the best I have ever encountered in any hotel at any price. The pool had no water in it. The kiddie-pool had debris in it. Carpet needed fixing. This was obviously a low-rent hotel. I'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
downinthedumps
Tampa, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Howard Jonhson or St Micheal's???????

I can not express my disappointment enough. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! First I was put in the back as I was driving back I could see multiple windows boarded up. My opinion was slowing changing of the hotel because the lobby will fool you. Once I got to the room it was run down and outdated. At this time I became highly upset . I felt that I had been miss lead by the Star rating . I was expecting 3 stars when it was only a half of star. To be honest I think I would have rather slept in the car. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and when I asked for extra pillows I was pretty much told NO. I guess there was a two pillow max per room. I came for business and pleasure but the suppose to be free wifi they have in the rooms didnt even work thank God I had a Hopspot on my phone this could of cost me a great deal of money.In the morning when I awoke I went to the car to drive to get the continental breakfast When I got in my car I could see roaches crawling on the back of the curtain in the room my car was park in front of. I proceed to the front of the property to get breakfast there they had stale cereal and milk and day old bread needless to say I passed. Please dont waste your time staying here,you will regretit I promise. Learn from my mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylver Sky
San Antonio, Tx
Feb 3, 2012

Good Room for The Price

This hotel is located miles (2+) from any stores, so i did alot of walking. The pool was closed and there was some renovations but no big deal. The only issue with this stay was requesting towels or an extra pillow, they could not supply any, glad i was only there for 2 days. Nice big room and shower, very relaxing stay. Could use a bunch of TLC to make this place as good as other "real" howard johnson's (name outside said ' St. Michaels Plaza Hotel)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you rent a car not bad place to stay, if on budget it worked too just bring some walking shoes.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TurtleTowne
Arvada, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Needs attention to the details.

Assigned room 222. Found water-stained ceiling tiles. No fan in bathroom. Wall damaged. Heat-Light falling through ceiling from severely water-stained ceiling tile. Mold in the bathroom caulking. Enamel coating on tub chipping away. Really needs paint throughout the entire facility, not just the room. Phone books from 2007. Trim ring around shower / tub control loose. Loose shower wall panel. Phone in bathroom (?). Outside. Trashy. Needs basic landscape maintence, clean-up. Here's what gets me; AMERICAN FLAG torn and tattered. Hallways. Carpet worn and torn. Water leaks evident in walls' peeling paint. Hot tub not working. Lobby. Dirty light fixtures with wrong / different bulbs in them. Chipped tiles. Huge hole in front desk counter where computer used to be. Dirty, worn and torn carpet. Computer not working. Dog playing in lobby. (That I did not mind. It distracted me from the rest of the place.) Continental Breakfast. Broken cereal dispensers. "Tub" of butter. "Tub" of jelly. Stale white bread. Orange "drink" (not juice). Nothing else except coffee. Informed front desk. Said aware of some of these. Roof out to bid. Other purchases need corporate approval. Then excuses. They were nice enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TigerJody
San Antonio, TX, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great Central Location

Despite the fact that their computer system was down the service was great and my short stay was worth wile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
i dont have a nickname
sulphur louisiana
Sep 6, 2011

not a 3 star hotel

hotel was out of coffee.the room was dirty,dirty sheets,chair was worn out and chair upholstry torn completly through to wood.front desk does not answer phone.I had to go and hunt down staff to get clean sheets on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wash, dc
Mar 18, 2011

WAS DENIED ACCESS TO MY ROOM!

I got there 1230 pm when i first got into town and was told you can check in until 3pm. I went about the rest of my day and came back that night... They then told me there were no ROOMS available even though I had one reserved. My name did not even come up in the system. I slept in the rental car at the airport. Truly disturbed by the experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search