$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 125
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
1.6
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.5
Value:
2

17% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tami brittain
dallas tx
Jul 2, 2014

I've stayed in hostels in thirld world countries cleaner than this.

The staff was good. The roaches... not so much. If you're wanting adventure in south Texas, here you go. Broken coffee makers, food stuck in carpet, roaches, broken toilet seats.... who needs a passport? Just cometo HoJo in Austin and you're instantly in Tijuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Be armed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen up
Austin, Tx
Feb 2, 2014

Girls night out

While taking a birthday/girls trip the hotel seemed great the location was great and not bad for the price, yet my thoughts were soon changed when we were cleaning the room getting ready to check out and witnessed 2 baby roaches crawling out of the sockets on opposite sides of the room. So if you can whether that storm then I say enjoy, yet if bugs aren't your thing then this hotel is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoover's Cooking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Game Day
Fairmont,WV
Oct 17, 2012

Room wasn't up to standard.

Phone didn't work and no alarm clock. Ceiling in room and hallways had water damage. One section of the hall way was very trashy. Carpet in room needed replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OldBoyJoe
Philadelphia
Sep 4, 2012

Old Boys weekend

Stayed here for 4 nights since it was cheap, but if given another chance will stay elsewhere. Even though it is cheap, it is a $25 cab ride from downtown (one-way). The facilities are in very poor condition. I think there may have been bed bugs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truly disgusted
from South Texas
Sep 4, 2012

worst hotel I have ever stayed in

The smell when we first entered was a moldy, old smell. tehre were wet spots on the ceiling in our room. The bathroom had no courtesy soap or shampoo. There was mold all over the shower. I rented 3 rooms. The last time I ever stay at a Howard Johnson. I am so disgusted and disappointed. The staff didn;t do a thing to make the stay better or even try to make it at all pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nomadic soul
Dallas, Texas
Aug 24, 2012

disclosures

We were unable to locate the hotel for a while, there was no sign above the hotel, just on it. I had requested a one bed room, with a cot. When we arrived, they said, "we'll try and get one to you". We walked around the building, to the room, set our stuff down, and they call us telling us that they don't have one, but they'll upgrade us to a 2 bed room. While walking back to the front there was a lot of construction going on. They also failed to mention that the pool was closed, which doesn't make any sense to me. It's the summer. We get to our new room, and the door to the patio, doesn't have a handle. Their version of "going green", is hanging towels and not fixing your bed. There was no "do not disturb sign", and the "free wifi" was not worth it. They have about 18 connections, and they're not secured. So it was incredibly slow. The best part about the place, was the pillows. Very good pillows. But, that's what you get when you pay $78 for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible Hotel 1
San Antonio, TX
Aug 9, 2012

Horrible experience!!

Don't ever book a night here, this place is horrible me and my friends were cursed at BY THE OWNER!! Please take my word for it DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL. Trust me the owner aren't very friendly, don't even book a night here last resort not worth it at all. Would give it 0 stars but had to give it one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bad bad
lafayette, la
Mar 19, 2012

cheap room

we walked in the room and the people before us were booked into the same room as us. There were stains everywhere, always stunk and a joke of a pull out sleeper sofa. the address to the place is wrong. everything is wrong about it. cabs can not find this place and niether did my google maps. the limo service out front consisted of a dually pickup that was stretched with a camper shell on the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jjannnn
Laredo, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Average

Very friendly staff! Good location!! Average hotel aperience wise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Somar
Dallas, TX
Feb 5, 2012

PILLOWS

Room was what I expected for the money. BUT I had a king bed with two flat square pillows that looked like they were for a twin bed. I asked the front desk for extra pillows and was told when some help came in they would get them to me. I left for the evening and when I got back I still had no extra pillows. I asked the front desk again and was told they were out of pillows. The hotel was not full so I don't see how that was possible but bottom line is a king bed should have AT LEAST 2 king sized pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search