$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
162 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tami brittain
dallas tx
Jul 2, 2014

I've stayed in hostels in thirld world countries cleaner than this.

The staff was good. The roaches... not so much. If you're wanting adventure in south Texas, here you go. Broken coffee makers, food stuck in carpet, roaches, broken toilet seats.... who needs a passport? Just cometo HoJo in Austin and you're instantly in Tijuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Be armed.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Oct 14, 2010

Bad service! No AC!

First, they gave us a room where someone was already staying in. Then they moved us to another room where the AC was not working. We called and they did send someone in, it worked for a little while and never turned back on. The next day we called again about the AC, they said they would send someone to fix it. We arrived at night and still not working. We called front desk and the guy said he would give us another room , so he would call us back, never did! I called two hours later and the only thing they had available was a very smoke filled room. So we slept another night without AC, we opened the windows for a little while but could not leave them open too long since our room faced the busy freeway so there was too much noise and too many lights! Really bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jan 29, 2011

Welcome to the dump!

No towels. No security. No staff. Dirty. Smokey, especially on the non-smoking floor. Ceiling falling in. One half roll of toliet paper. All dirty towels left in a cart in the hall. Been a Howard Johnson's for over six months and still no external sign. It's a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
blahblahblah
Fort Hood, TX, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Used room?

We were put in a room with no toilet paper, used towels, and only one (half full) shampoo. Kind of made me feel like was our room even cleaned before we were put in it?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the toll roads through Austin to avoid I-35's daily traffic.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2007

If I only Knew

This hotel, the Howard Johnson's at 7800 N IH35 in Austin , Texas was awful. Location was awful. No Lounge or restaurant, under repair. Microwave in room didn't work. Get this!!! My fiancee went to use the complimentary mouthwash in the bathroom and happened to see the lipstick after the cover was off before she swished. Is that nasty or what ???? What is up with that. The pool was dirty and we were supposed to stay for 5 days, but I checked out after one nite. I will never go to another HoJo's again. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen up
Austin, Tx
Feb 2, 2014

Girls night out

While taking a birthday/girls trip the hotel seemed great the location was great and not bad for the price, yet my thoughts were soon changed when we were cleaning the room getting ready to check out and witnessed 2 baby roaches crawling out of the sockets on opposite sides of the room. So if you can whether that storm then I say enjoy, yet if bugs aren't your thing then this hotel is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoover's Cooking

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
i dont have a nickname
sulphur louisiana
Sep 6, 2011

not a 3 star hotel

hotel was out of coffee.the room was dirty,dirty sheets,chair was worn out and chair upholstry torn completly through to wood.front desk does not answer phone.I had to go and hunt down staff to get clean sheets on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OldBoyJoe
Philadelphia
Sep 4, 2012

Old Boys weekend

Stayed here for 4 nights since it was cheap, but if given another chance will stay elsewhere. Even though it is cheap, it is a $25 cab ride from downtown (one-way). The facilities are in very poor condition. I think there may have been bed bugs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TurtleTowne
Arvada, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Needs attention to the details.

Assigned room 222. Found water-stained ceiling tiles. No fan in bathroom. Wall damaged. Heat-Light falling through ceiling from severely water-stained ceiling tile. Mold in the bathroom caulking. Enamel coating on tub chipping away. Really needs paint throughout the entire facility, not just the room. Phone books from 2007. Trim ring around shower / tub control loose. Loose shower wall panel. Phone in bathroom (?). Outside. Trashy. Needs basic landscape maintence, clean-up. Here's what gets me; AMERICAN FLAG torn and tattered. Hallways. Carpet worn and torn. Water leaks evident in walls' peeling paint. Hot tub not working. Lobby. Dirty light fixtures with wrong / different bulbs in them. Chipped tiles. Huge hole in front desk counter where computer used to be. Dirty, worn and torn carpet. Computer not working. Dog playing in lobby. (That I did not mind. It distracted me from the rest of the place.) Continental Breakfast. Broken cereal dispensers. "Tub" of butter. "Tub" of jelly. Stale white bread. Orange "drink" (not juice). Nothing else except coffee. Informed front desk. Said aware of some of these. Roof out to bid. Other purchases need corporate approval. Then excuses. They were nice enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sophie25
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Not a good choice

The Howard Johnson-North Austin (or St. Michael Plaza Hotel, as it said on the sign) definitely had some things it needs to work on. Our room was on the furthest end of the hotel, even though it seemed like we were the only guests there. It had a very strong odor of cigarette smoke. The paint was peeling in some places, and there were scuff marks in others. We had a coffee maker, but nothing to make coffee with. The bathroom was a whole other story. The water coming out of the sink, shower, and the toilet was scalding hot. The hot water in the toilet bowl was actually steaming up the bathroom. We reported the water situation, and it was "fixed" (warm instead of hot). There were also a bug or 2 in the bathtub over the course of 4 days. Housekeeping came to the room around 8am each day. This wouldn't have been a problem if we had a Do Not Disturb sign. There was an overall lack of professionalism from all of the employees at the hotel. The hot tub was broken, the continental breakfast was disappointing, and the free wi-fi didn't always work. Overall, we got what we paid for. I will not go back to Howard Johnson-Austin North.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

6th Street is awesome! Bars, clubs, live music... It was so much fun.

Back to menu Return to top