Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
126 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jraceman
Business
Killeen, TX, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Would not return there, even if free

First we could not find it, there is not a sign that says Howard Johnson. When got to the room it was cool inside, and the carper was fairly new, however that was all that was good. there was old blood on the pillow cases, what looked like poo on the walls, torn upholstery on the couch, no chair of any kind. The bathroom was nasty with more poo under thee blow drier, mildew on the shower. and the ceiling tiles are about to fall out. AVOID this place like a bad decrease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
portiasdad
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Needs serious help

This hotel will probably be fantastic--when they're done fixing everything that's broken. My bath had no faucet. The shower would not provide cold water, and the hot water was scaldingly hot. Had to take a sponge-bath using the bathroom sink. The pillows provided were the best I have ever encountered in any hotel at any price. The pool had no water in it. The kiddie-pool had debris in it. Carpet needed fixing. This was obviously a low-rent hotel. I'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBird37
Business
new York
May 9, 2012

One of the scariest moments in my life!!

This place should be condemned...no exaggeration at all. Blood on the ground by entry door that was unlocked, but should have been locked. Room was filthy, tub grout had thick layer of mold. When I went to shut the curtains, they looked like Swiss cheese, seriously...I had to laugh. We immediately used the wifi to find a better place, and got lucky to find a great deal on a marriot 10 minutes down the road. After about 45 minutes of fear we checked out and left to three people getting arrested, with cop cars littering the parking lot. Please, don't even waste your time with this place...we took pictures of the curtains just to show people because we didn't think they would believe us! Scary stuff! Beware. Not even worth one star, seriously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mbier
Business
Michigan, USA
May 16, 2012

Odor in the hallway

I assume the hotel allows pets. I did not feel it in the room, but maybe it is because the detergine kills the smell. There are a couple hotels down the block that advertise the lower price. Who knows, maybe those are even worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Time out
Business
Micigan
Jun 11, 2012

Only if you have to

Make sure to specify a non-smoking room. Don't arrive before 4 pm. Be aware that the security guards may do a random security check after 11 pm. If you stay more than a week be prepared to only have the room cleaned every other day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible Hotel 1
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 9, 2012

Horrible experience!!

Don't ever book a night here, this place is horrible me and my friends were cursed at BY THE OWNER!! Please take my word for it DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL. Trust me the owner aren't very friendly, don't even book a night here last resort not worth it at all. Would give it 0 stars but had to give it one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KTK066
Business
Grand Prairie, Texas
Aug 27, 2012

Don't stay here!

Dirty, run down hotel! A roach crawled across me in the bed!!!!!!! The room smelt like an ashtray & the restroom had blood on the walls, a rusted tub, cracked walls, no water pressure and had the scratchiest sand paper towels known to man! Thank goodness, the coffee maker worked like champ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nomadic soul
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 24, 2012

disclosures

We were unable to locate the hotel for a while, there was no sign above the hotel, just on it. I had requested a one bed room, with a cot. When we arrived, they said, "we'll try and get one to you". We walked around the building, to the room, set our stuff down, and they call us telling us that they don't have one, but they'll upgrade us to a 2 bed room. While walking back to the front there was a lot of construction going on. They also failed to mention that the pool was closed, which doesn't make any sense to me. It's the summer. We get to our new room, and the door to the patio, doesn't have a handle. Their version of "going green", is hanging towels and not fixing your bed. There was no "do not disturb sign", and the "free wifi" was not worth it. They have about 18 connections, and they're not secured. So it was incredibly slow. The best part about the place, was the pillows. Very good pillows. But, that's what you get when you pay $78 for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truly disgusted
Business
from South Texas
Sep 4, 2012

worst hotel I have ever stayed in

The smell when we first entered was a moldy, old smell. tehre were wet spots on the ceiling in our room. The bathroom had no courtesy soap or shampoo. There was mold all over the shower. I rented 3 rooms. The last time I ever stay at a Howard Johnson. I am so disgusted and disappointed. The staff didn;t do a thing to make the stay better or even try to make it at all pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OldBoyJoe
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 4, 2012

Old Boys weekend

Stayed here for 4 nights since it was cheap, but if given another chance will stay elsewhere. Even though it is cheap, it is a $25 cab ride from downtown (one-way). The facilities are in very poor condition. I think there may have been bed bugs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top