$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

You get what you pay for!

A bit scary...hotel door did not lock properly,could tell it had been "busted" in before and had been repaired a few times. Also witnessed a drug deal going on couple rooms over in parking lot. A bit sketchy but cheap...you get what you pay for and there was no better deal than this hotel in the entire Austin area. Nice that they allowed pets and it was an easy check-in and out. Stayed here for an entire week on a job assignment and nothing did happen that whole time. For peace of mind though, would be willing to spend a few more bucks and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jad a3krab
Business
McAllen, Tx
Aug 1, 2011

Not good at all

Well we had a bad experience with this hotel cause it smells ugly inside the rooms then we checked in late 5 hours and we asked to stay a little longer since we didnt use the room all day but the clerk said no! the next morning the housekeeper was knocking at the door at 10:00 am not even 12 noon she kept knocking and I didnt like that at all so i called the front office to request dry towels and they didnt have any towels at all . Can you believe that a Hotel without towels thats messed up also the AC wasnt working. I konw it was kinda a cheap price but c'mon ... Shukran Jazeelan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sh1th34d
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

ok

very militant towards anyone coming by to visit made friends leave the room by 10pm that is not cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen up
Business
Austin, Tx
Feb 2, 2014

Girls night out

While taking a birthday/girls trip the hotel seemed great the location was great and not bad for the price, yet my thoughts were soon changed when we were cleaning the room getting ready to check out and witnessed 2 baby roaches crawling out of the sockets on opposite sides of the room. So if you can whether that storm then I say enjoy, yet if bugs aren't your thing then this hotel is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoover's Cooking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mamie Kensington
Business
South texas
May 5, 2014

Facilities need work

Hotel is poorly kept.. One ice machine serves entire hotel. No landscaping except weeds. Outdoor locks don't work. Hair dryer missing from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Oct 12, 2010

Not as Promised

This hotel was advertised as a Howard Johnson and it was in fact not. It was a St. Michael hotel, which I had never even heard of. It was also advertised as an airport hotel and it was 20 minutes from the actual airport. The staff was unfriendly, they didn't have wifi as advertised and our sheets didn't get changed. There was mold in the bathrooms, leaky faucets and water damage on the ceilings. Very unsatisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tree
Business
Howard Johnson North Austin TX
Oct 12, 2010

I would not suggest this hotel at all.

I would never recommend a hotel that says you need a key to get in at night or day, to the main building and then the door just opens. Then you get to your room and each day and the key doesn't work- that happened 2 days. The 2nd morning I walked into the bathroom with 2 inches of water on the floor. I was in a handicapped room (which I didn't request- they overbooked that weekend). When I found out the shower didn't work the 2nd day and there wasn't anyone to clean up the floor I asked to be moved to another room. They said it couldn't happen until after 3 pm. I said I needed a room to put my things in- that toilet didn't work. When I left I had been in room 118, 206, told I'd be in 148 but that changed to 192. Unreal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hate this hotel
Business
houston tx
Oct 28, 2010

Sucked

The hotel sucked it had two sinks and when you turned on the faucet the water went to the other sink. Free breakfast! ha! everything they had was cold and needed to be heated and they had the cheapest waffels that you had to put in the toaster. Do not stay at this place you can find better places to stay at for the same amount of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Nov 3, 2010

Where not to stay in Austin

The room smelled, the couch was on the wall air conditioning unit, neither lamp worked, the bathroom sink leaked, and the bathroom's overall appearance was displeasing. How this hotel got 3 stars on [...] - I'll never know. I will never stay there again and I will seriously question the rating of hotels on [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new albany in.
Jan 10, 2011

sucked

I did not even stay there. It was terrible...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

San Marcos mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top