$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
162 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sh1th34d
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

ok

very militant towards anyone coming by to visit made friends leave the room by 10pm that is not cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jad a3krab
McAllen, Tx
Aug 1, 2011

Not good at all

Well we had a bad experience with this hotel cause it smells ugly inside the rooms then we checked in late 5 hours and we asked to stay a little longer since we didnt use the room all day but the clerk said no! the next morning the housekeeper was knocking at the door at 10:00 am not even 12 noon she kept knocking and I didnt like that at all so i called the front office to request dry towels and they didnt have any towels at all . Can you believe that a Hotel without towels thats messed up also the AC wasnt working. I konw it was kinda a cheap price but c'mon ... Shukran Jazeelan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dangercat
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

mediocre place to crash

fixtures were old and broken, hall way was full of leaves each day i stayed there, hot tub was out of service, pool was green, full of debris and "closed for the season," saw a cockroach in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bigkidtx
Dallas, TX
Mar 14, 2011

You get what you pay for.

We are simple travelers. We believe that all you need in a hotel is a clean bed to sleep in and a good hot shower. This we had and we were satisfied, but we would only select this hotel again if it were the cheapest and only available option. To begin, we barely found the hotel. We drove by a few times before we found it by address because there is nothing that says that it is a Howard Johnson. The name of the hotel is the St Michael. From the outside, it made a very poor first impression. It appeared dirty and unkept. Once you entered the lobby, you felt like you were in a real hotel. It appeared clean; it had marble floors and a baby grand piano. We were greeted at the desk by a girl dressed than professionally, talking on her cell phone, wearing an old faded, too small, too tight tank top. She checked us in quickly and directed us to our rooms. She was apparently not the regular because when we went by the desk later there was another young man working. I do need to say that he was exceptional. He was dealing with a difficult customer. The hotel had overbooked and the gentleman had reserved 2 beds and requested a roller bed. There were only rooms with 1 queen available. Ironically, our room had a king and a sleeper sofa. The man was understandably upset but was being quite rude. The desk clerk kept his cool, was polite, and offered as much help as he could. As we brought in our luggage your could detect a faint odor of cat urine. The smell was no longer present in our room which once again appeared clean. There were no bed bugs, as we always inspect every hotel for. The room was well equipped with basic needs: hairdryer, iron, ironing board, microwave, refridgerrator. The only thing missing was a remote for the TV (we were given one promptly after contacting the front desk). As we walked around we found little things like a candy wrapper on the floor, a popscicle stick in the bathroom, a crumpled receipt in the trash, and dust on top of the TV cabinet. In the bathroom the base of the threshold was loose but easily kicked back into place. The first major issue was while washing our faces before bed, the bathroom flooded; but not from a clog but from lack of plumbing. The pipes under the sink were unassembled. The next thing, not so much major as annoying, was the flat sheet on the king bed was a sheet for a single bed turned sideways, so that when the covers were pulled back it appeared that therewas a true top sheet. On the king-sized bed there were only 3 regular sized pillows. Not good fluffy hotel pillows but soft squishy, "I need three or four" pillows. This we had to ask twice before it was taken care of. There were a bunch of minor things that really didn't bother us but reflect on the propery, like holes in the blackout curtain, satined celing tiles, torn carpet in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linda JD
Business
Alaska, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Disappointing

Ive always had great experiences with Howard Johnsons, until now. I was sadly disappointed. The hotel is in terrible condition, the room is collasping on the back side. The hot tub was not functioning. I asked for extra pillows and never got them. The bath towels were like hand towels. They need to close this hotel, remodel and then reopen. Sad, just very sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jad a3krab
McAllen, Tx
Aug 1, 2011

Not good at all

Well we had a bad experience with this hotel cause it smells ugly inside the rooms then we checked in late 5 hours and we asked to stay a little longer since we didnt use the room all day but the clerk said no! the next morning the housekeeper was knocking at the door at 10:00 am not even 12 noon she kept knocking and I didnt like that at all so i called the front office to request dry towels and they didnt have any towels at all . Can you believe that a Hotel without towels thats messed up also the AC wasnt working. I konw it was kinda a cheap price but c'mon ... Shukran Jazeelan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I am disappoint.
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 10, 2012

Stay Elsewhere

I wish I could upload the pictures I took. Location is poor and there were homless people hanging out by the side door. The side door itself was propped open. I assume this was done for conveince but it was a safety issue. The room itself had a strong cleaner oder. A ceiling tile in the bathroom had mold on it. Several of the outlet plates were broken. Overall, I felt cheap staying here and will avoid HoJos from now on. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They one thing I would say about this place is it is very centrally located/

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rosenberg Texas
Jan 24, 2011

The good the bad and the ugly

Went to a vollyball tournament in Austin three days two night, two rooms two nights. The place was clean but half the stuff did'nt work,light's, Ice machine, indoor hot tub but jet pump was broken. Continental breakfast not good toster pancakes and waffles only . Place was hard to find typed address into GPS [ no match ]took about 30 min to find the place. won't stay there agin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dtjreed
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Dec 30, 2011

help

tub very slow draining curtains have holes ice machines not working Hot-tub not working continental breakfast was only toast ,cereal,water down orange juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax from the West
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Slow start, but got better

When we first arrived, we were put in room 270. Oh my, not very pleasant. We asked for a different room. The staff put us in one of the newer renovated room. If we started off with a renovated room I would have bumped up the room cleanliness, but I couldn't believe they would put us in that room to begin with. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top