$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
little girl
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 4, 2011

2 stars standar

Hotel is old. No elevator. Room is old and the housekeeper did not replace the new towel as well. Do not stay on next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MandaS
Business
Glastonbury, CT, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Adequate & can't beat the price

So I guess you get what you pay for! This motel was recently purchased by HoJo, it still bears the sign of it's former name. It feels like they haven't gotten around to renovations yet. The staff is very friendly. Our room was oddly supplied, with only two pillows, two hand towels, one washcloth, two small bottles of hand cream, a packet of shave cream and a shower cap (note the absence of shampoo, conditioner, full sized towels and second set of pillows). The room itself was relatively clean, although the nonsmoking room was definitely not always nonsmoking. The "continental breakfast" was pretty hilarious, don't expect much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Moonshine Patio & Bar in downtown Austin. Great food at a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dtjreed
Business
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Dec 30, 2011

help

tub very slow draining curtains have holes ice machines not working Hot-tub not working continental breakfast was only toast ,cereal,water down orange juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juan Somar
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 5, 2012

PILLOWS

Room was what I expected for the money. BUT I had a king bed with two flat square pillows that looked like they were for a twin bed. I asked the front desk for extra pillows and was told when some help came in they would get them to me. I left for the evening and when I got back I still had no extra pillows. I asked the front desk again and was told they were out of pillows. The hotel was not full so I don't see how that was possible but bottom line is a king bed should have AT LEAST 2 king sized pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
August St. McGillicudy
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 7, 2012

Room Rate Reflected Value

We were surprised to discover that the Howard Johnson at which we reserved rooms is now the St. Michael. Amenities were few: only two pillows per room, one set of towels, no clock, etc. But everything was clean, the motel was quiet and the bed was comfortable. For the incredibly low rate we paid, we can't complain about outdated decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mbier
Business
Michigan, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great Value for the $

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days. It was the lowest price I could find. The appliances are old. If the dripping water tap drives you creasy, find another place (I just closed the door to the bathroom). The room was cleaned 3 out of 4 days. I used to stay at another hotel before (two exits north on I-35), but the price was 2$ higher, and the neighborhood was crawling with homeless people (or with the people who do not have the car I should say). The general area is close to the "bad (eastern) part of Austin", but I did not see any suspicious looking individuals around Howard Johnson. The hotel is not visible from the Highway, so there is less traffic (no place to park semi). If you need a cheap place to crash for a couple of days, this is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linda JD
Business
Alaska, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Disappointing

Ive always had great experiences with Howard Johnsons, until now. I was sadly disappointed. The hotel is in terrible condition, the room is collasping on the back side. The hot tub was not functioning. I asked for extra pillows and never got them. The bath towels were like hand towels. They need to close this hotel, remodel and then reopen. Sad, just very sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not happy with hotel
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 27, 2012

don't over value pictures and descriptions

We had a difficult time locating the hotel, under new mgmt & hadn't replaced sign with the new sign. description did not match amenities that were offered, for ex... indicated a hot tub... there wasn't one. indicated wifi.. was down on my end of the room. room smelled like mens cologne, the courtyard needed to be mowed. staff indicated they were changing ownership & in the last few days provided access to money to make repairs &paint rooms, the tub had mold in corners, wasn't a smoke detector-bare wires! not good experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call before arrival... clear up any questions about location and expectations so you can cancel and get a refund if possible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I am disappoint.
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 10, 2012

Stay Elsewhere

I wish I could upload the pictures I took. Location is poor and there were homless people hanging out by the side door. The side door itself was propped open. I assume this was done for conveince but it was a safety issue. The room itself had a strong cleaner oder. A ceiling tile in the bathroom had mold on it. Several of the outlet plates were broken. Overall, I felt cheap staying here and will avoid HoJos from now on. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They one thing I would say about this place is it is very centrally located/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dangercat
Business
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

mediocre place to crash

fixtures were old and broken, hall way was full of leaves each day i stayed there, hot tub was out of service, pool was green, full of debris and "closed for the season," saw a cockroach in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top