$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roy Rod
South Texas
Feb 20, 2014

Average price, Average room

Nothing special here. Check in was smoothish. Received 2 keys. Neither worked. Employee accompanied me and he only managed to get one of the recoded keys to work. Door looked like it might have been knocked open at one point because it was loose in the frame and might have been the reason the keys were not working properly. The one key I had needed to be tried multiple times before it would unlock it. The room looked like it might have been a double at one point, but the put in a larger bed and added a sofa and coffee table along with a simple desk and chair. The sofa had a gash on one of the cushions. Everything looked neat if not super clean. Only 2 large towels were provided. There seemed to be a lack of outlets near the bed itself. Very gay as phones needed to be plugged in at the other end of the room. The tv was old but worked fine and had a normal amount of channels. There happened to be a dying roach in the bathroom, but I can blame them completely. It looked like the sucker was on its last legs and decided to come out of hiding to take its last breaths. Decent water pressure. The hotel is super long and its a nice walk back to the reception desk if you are at the end. Both ice machines were not working and had no sign saying so even though it looked like the staff was aware. They had an employee grab me some from somewhere in the back kitchen area from their ballroom which was nice of them, but took much longer than it should have for just an ice request. Overall, not a terrible hotel, but nowhere near great. The Days Inn across the highway is much cleaner and neater for maybe $10 more a night. Location is good as you can turn into it coming south on I-35 or from the East on Anderson Lane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Austin is only about 10minutes south on I-35.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACL Adventurer
Houston, TX
Oct 16, 2012

Renovation = Cheap and Dingy

Hotel is super cheap -- best part. It's also being remodeled because it really needs it. The rooms are dingy: water spots on ceilings, spots in tub, scary looking carpet, a hole in the wall, old lamps, etc. That said, sheets were fine, bed was comfy, and staff was very friendly. For the money, it was definitely worth it, and when you think about it, a run-down room is still just a room. I'd stay there again in a second because it's so cheap. On our hallway about half the rooms were empty for remodeling -- which gave the hotel a creepy vibe, but it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recmm
USA
Apr 5, 2008

Served Its Purpose

This is a slightly overpriced hotel. It met my needs in providing a room on an otherwise sold-out weekend in Austin. However the room was rundown and the water pressure and temperature was at besy adequate for showering and shaving. The location was OK, but hard to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A few miles from downtown Austin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thedallasite
Dallas, TX
Oct 3, 2011

Cheap good hotel overall

The second time I stay here. One of the general managers (Geizi I think is his name) is pretty good and can work tihngs out for you. Unfortunately one of the girls at the front desk took forever to switch my room from a bad one to the one I preferred. Had to eventually waste 30 mins and talk to the manager because all she was able to do was give me a more expensive room that was equally useless as the one before. However, the hotel is not bad. It has a lot of party people in it as it seems, but from your room you don't feel that and plus I am not easily upset by that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from downtown (5 mins). So it's worth paying just 40 bucks for a cheaper hotel with 2 double beds in the room, if you have a car. This comes out to about 10$ per person if you really have 4 people!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randy85
Business
Brookshire.
May 3, 2012

Ok place

Room ok for the price. Dirty in alot of hallways but service people ate ok .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shiverrr777
Melbourne, Fl
Aug 3, 2012

Great for the price

At the price you pay for this hotel You definately cannot complain, the staff is super helpful. The only thing that was an issue, but honestly not a big deal was that there was a smell in the hallway, but it wasn't so bad that it needs a bad review :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have applebees, and buffalo wild wings right across the road basically. and in one direction, you have a Red lobster and in the oppisite, you have Taco Bell and McDonalds, it's also near a walmart which has like a little strip mall, with a goodwill, ceasers, subway etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goof blue
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jul 3, 2012

Great deal

I mainly just needed a place to shower, do laundry and sleep. I'm glad I had my phone as an alarm because there was no electricity on Saturday morning when I got up. It was back on Saturday night when I returned. Everything was clean and then I killed a cockroach on the wall, it was a water one, so who hasn't had those come in to their own homethis time of year. Overall it was a great value for the price I paid. The laundry room was also empty when I needed to get laundry done so I was very happy I didn't have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AustinSS
Business
Austin
May 18, 2014

Average Place - Do not expect great things

I have stayed at this place twice. This being the second stay was no different. Yet I chose this place for the location / poximity to my work. Other than that, average customer service, room and cleanliness. I have never seen the pool ready to be used. Cocroaches in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Goo places to shop within 5-10 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin tx
Jan 18, 2012

not bad

was a fair stay. Room could have been cleaner but staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thebikesir
San Mateo, CA
Oct 11, 2010

The Hidden Dog Turd

Stayed at this hotel during the ACL festivities. My girlfriend found a small dog turd hidden in the dark on the side of the couch in the room. I have no clue how she found it, but it was there. The staff at the front desk promptly switched us to the room next door. The new room seemed cleaner, albeit smelled a bit smokey. Towels were only replaced one of the 3 days and we had to contact the front desk for fresh towels everyday. Finding this hotel was such a hassle. They don't have a howard johnson sign outside. Instead it has the name of another hotel. I don't even know if it really was a howard johnson. who can say? The rooms were plenty large and had a fridge and microwave. The hotel was quiet and it has a larger clean gym. Also the overall cost was pretty low. I would not object to staying here again if needed, but definitely would try to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search