$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin TX
Mar 4, 2011

Scary and dirty. Bad area.

The security doors were broken so you didn't need a key to enter the building and non-guests were roaming the halls all night. I'm pretty sure the guy across the hall was dealing drugs out of his room. He had many visitors but didn't invite them in, just talked to them through a cracked door. Not very hospitable for such a popular guy. We did not like to leave or enter the room because if we interrupted his activities, we received menacing glares. When I inspected the bedding, I found that our bed's mattress had been sliced at the end and hollowed out, perfect for stashing whatever you like. Lovely. The shower curtain had mold, the smoke detector had been taken down and was placed on the bedside table (you'd think Housekeeping would have noticed that) but apparently they hadn't been there in the while because there was no toilet paper upon check-in. There were wrappers under the bed. And a DIRTY USED QTIP on the windowsill. Noisy at night, scary. Little things like lack of cleanliness were overshadowed by the fact that crackheads were everywhere, in the halls, in the parking lot. We felt nervous staying here. And forget going out to get something out of the car at night. On the third night of our week stay, we came back to our room after dinner to find that the police were in the lobby, called there (yet again) for the third night in a row. When we asked the police officers if we should continue to stay there, they said "Only if you want to see us every night." I asked if it was unsafe and they said, "I wouldn't let my family stay here." I asked if we should check out and they said, "Absolutely." We took the advice of Austin's Finest and checked out immediately. When we arrived at our next hotel, we told the desk clerk where we had stayed and she said, "Oh yeah, I think that is THE worst part of Austin." I'm pretty sure that if corporate HoJo's knew the situation there, they would take their name off the building. The only reason I rated anything there a "1" and gave it any stars at all is because "0" is not an option and it doesn't let you take stars away. Oh, but one of the desk clerks was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The most convenient and money saving hint I can give is that there are motels within 20 minutes of here where you won't feel the threat of assault, robbery and dismemberment, for only a few dollars more a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hoosier14
Indiana
Mar 17, 2012

Could Not Stay

Walked into lobby, seemed like renovation was about to begin. Checked out 3 rooms and had to get a refund. Rooms were so deplorable I could not let my family stay in this run down motel. Staff was understanding, and knew the pictures were not the real rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jumbotty
Business
Batn Rouge, La
Feb 27, 2012

It seems like someone gave up on this property

There was caution tape on the two rooms above mine and it looked like part of the roof had collapsed. The lawn on the property was badly overgrown. I had to move the microwave off the desk to do work and found crumbs and food particles underneath. A car was parked outside of my window playing loud music for over an hour. All that being said, everything else about the room was great for what i paid. Except they could really use plugs on the wall by the bed. I couldnt plug my phone in to charge and use as an alarm unless i put it across the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Uchiko. A few miles north of UT on N. Lamar. Expensive, but one of the best meals i've ever had. Executive chef is Paul from Top Chef Texas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shoujo
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Not Worth It

It wouldn't be worth staying at this hotel a second time. We had a different location this trip so I was attempting to make new reservations. Turns out that it was directly across from the Days Inn where we always stay. The bed was fine, but the TV had no remote, there was one roll of toilet paper with an empty tissue box and NO TOWELS! When I called the front desk the girl was very uncaring and she said "I'll have to find the maid staff and see when they can bring them." After I told her that I was in need of a shower right at the time, she got upset that I was making her work. They eventually bring 2 small "towels" and said that they would bring more in the morning (but we had to leave at 6.. we never got more towels for morning showers). The headboard and all tables were dusty, the tub was molding and the walls had stuff on them that I didn't want to get near. The "patio" wasn't fenced in and anyone could walk up to the sliding back door if they wanted. Next time, we are staying at the Days Inn across the street where we have been loyal stayers and they are friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
staying in our rv
Wv
Oct 9, 2012

No

WORST place ever stayed. Under upgrades while renting rooms.One example no ceiling tiles in broom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Agustin Traveler
Business
Waco, Texas
Dec 9, 2010

Austin Business Trip

I went to Austin for a Business trip. I used the hotel mainly to get some sleep. It was quiet disappointing. The Hotel was listed [...] as Howard-Johnson, instead the hotel in now called St. Michaels, it's a very old hotel, the room was awful, old sink, the toilet was clogged up, I mean, the TV didn't even have a remote. Compared to other places I've stayed at, this is probably the worst hotel i've stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I don't really know much about the sorroundings of this hotel, other than it was cheap to book and convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
corbina
austin,tx
Oct 17, 2012

needs work

hotel staff was great . room and hallways need work, that being said it did look like it was under construction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, Tx
Oct 12, 2010

Bad Mistakes and Worse Service

Had a hard time finding the hotel due to the fact that the sign they use says St. Michael Plaza, and not Howard Johnson, which they are [...]. The first keys that were given were to a room that was already booked. Luckily the room's occupants were not there.The room's electricity went out twice and did not get fixed the second time for over 24 hours. The room did not get cleaned one day. We ran out of toilet paper and clean towels.The keys to our room were deactivated.There was a maintenance room open with alcohol in plain sight.The manager was extremely rude. Did not take any action to fix our problems nor was she sympathetic. There was no sense of urgency on her part, despite the fact that the lobby was full of waiting customers (many of whom did not have a room due to overbooking). It took several minutes for her to find her business card, and when she couldn't find it, it took another several minutes to write her name on a slip of paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

6th Street is a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texasteacher
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

I didn't think the bad reviews could be true

I was completely disgusted by the room carpet as well as items that were found there. I can't believe that this hotel is on anyone's list for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
Oct 12, 2010

not satisfied

I checked in and they gave me two card keys that belong to someone elses room....maintence knocked on every door then entered to find a vacant room...did they not have a computer .Patio handle was broken...they didnt have any towels available...room stunk...restroom rail was broken...no cold water just hot water.....i will never go there again.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search