$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
162 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roc411
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 28, 2012

HoJo's Austin North

I had a great experience at HoJo's. Clean room and pleasant, helpful staff. A little hard to get to at first, but once I became familiar with the location i could get around easily. The staff is great and is excited about being in HoJo's chain. They are awaiting signage and renovation. I would stay there again and would recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fast food and restaurants are a short drive away.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alli Oakley
Austin, Texas
Apr 19, 2014

First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental breakfast every morning. One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. During a bad thunderstorm, my ceiling leaked over the bed. They were very nice, got me a new room, and the man at the desk came and moved all my luggage for me to the other room. Plus it was a nicer room than I had booked!!! That is good customer service : ) Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great barbecue!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hamilton Ohio
Apr 5, 2011

Enjoyed our stay

I had seen some bad reviews about this hotel, but after my stay I have to say they were wrong. I really enjoyed my stay here. And i would def stay again. I was never bothered, customer service was great, anything i asked for i was givin. Thanks for a great stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hamilton Ohio
Apr 5, 2011

Enjoyed our stay

I had seen some bad reviews about this hotel, but after my stay I have to say they were wrong. I really enjoyed my stay here. And i would def stay again. I was never bothered, customer service was great, anything i asked for i was givin. Thanks for a great stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pet All
Business
Toronto
Jun 3, 2013

Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 11, 2007

so so hotel

The breakfast at The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel and Conference Center was bette than most hotels because they offered scrambled eggs, crispy bacon and potatoes along with all the regular hotel beafast fare. However, they were in the process of installing new carpet during our stay. This made the property a bit noisey and unsightly. The people at the front desk were a bit flakey too. Another disappointment was the fact that the hotel lounge was never open once while we were staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler1020120354
Austin, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

Easy to find location - value matches price

A good stay - but the construction needs to be completed, otherwise it's a mess outside and the rooms are booked in the back of the property :) It'll be much nicer when it's completed I'm sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Poke-e-Joe's Bar-Be-Que

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roc411
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 28, 2012

HoJo's Austin North

I had a great experience at HoJo's. Clean room and pleasant, helpful staff. A little hard to get to at first, but once I became familiar with the location i could get around easily. The staff is great and is excited about being in HoJo's chain. They are awaiting signage and renovation. I would stay there again and would recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fast food and restaurants are a short drive away.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 11, 2007

so so hotel

The breakfast at The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel and Conference Center was bette than most hotels because they offered scrambled eggs, crispy bacon and potatoes along with all the regular hotel beafast fare. However, they were in the process of installing new carpet during our stay. This made the property a bit noisey and unsightly. The people at the front desk were a bit flakey too. Another disappointment was the fact that the hotel lounge was never open once while we were staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PortiaW
Business
Yonkers, NY
Feb 24, 2012

Good for the price

The staff was very nice and helpful. The wifi wasn't working in first room assigned to me. But, I was able to switch rooms (at no cost). It is apparent that the hotel needs upgrading and it appears that they are working on it. I think it was fine for the price I paid. ($45/night) Hopefully, within the next few months the hotel will be in better shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ceola
Cleveland, OH, USA
Aug 25, 2012

Good to get close to the city

If you want a cheap place to close to austin its great. we are like 15-20 from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top