$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
162 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland OR
Apr 20, 2011

Will never stay at another HOJO

I will NEVER stay at a Howard Johnson hotel again. (First off... when looking for another hotel because we were NOT staying at this one I asked a police officer where a good area was and i was told by the police officer that this is a crack hotel.) We had called this hotel before making our reservations to ask them what the pet fee was and what pet rules they had. I was told there were no pet rules and no pet fee. I was actually told no pet fee twice on two seperate occasions. When we got to the hotel the place didnt even look like a howard johnson...the sign was for a different hotel and they just had a banner up to let you know it was now a HJ. The picture they show you is NOT this hotel. The place was realy run down looking and really creepy. When we went to check in they tried charging us $50 fee for our dog. I informed them we had called and were told there was no pet fee and the clerks response was "oh well we have a lot of new employees so they must have told you wrong..." I feel as though they should follow through with what their employees say! We called the Howard Johnson company directly to try and resolve this issue and had no luck. They kept saying the reason we were unhappy was due to the pet fee. We repeated multiple times that noooo it was the fact we were lied to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
portiasdad
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Needs serious help

This hotel will probably be fantastic--when they're done fixing everything that's broken. My bath had no faucet. The shower would not provide cold water, and the hot water was scaldingly hot. Had to take a sponge-bath using the bathroom sink. The pillows provided were the best I have ever encountered in any hotel at any price. The pool had no water in it. The kiddie-pool had debris in it. Carpet needed fixing. This was obviously a low-rent hotel. I'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
StyxRiver
Austin, TC
Aug 2, 2013

First Time Ever Breaking Reservation

I've never done that before, but this place was an absolute rat's nest. The rooms were in bad shape (and I had a recently remodeled one!), there was broken drywall all over the hallways, the AC didn't work in the halls, the rooms smelled of something unmentionable. There were some seriously skeezy clientele, derelict vehicles in the parking lot. NOT a place for children at all. Just wow, and not the happy wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nomadic soul
Dallas, Texas
Aug 24, 2012

disclosures

We were unable to locate the hotel for a while, there was no sign above the hotel, just on it. I had requested a one bed room, with a cot. When we arrived, they said, "we'll try and get one to you". We walked around the building, to the room, set our stuff down, and they call us telling us that they don't have one, but they'll upgrade us to a 2 bed room. While walking back to the front there was a lot of construction going on. They also failed to mention that the pool was closed, which doesn't make any sense to me. It's the summer. We get to our new room, and the door to the patio, doesn't have a handle. Their version of "going green", is hanging towels and not fixing your bed. There was no "do not disturb sign", and the "free wifi" was not worth it. They have about 18 connections, and they're not secured. So it was incredibly slow. The best part about the place, was the pillows. Very good pillows. But, that's what you get when you pay $78 for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suffer guy
TX
Dec 27, 2010

Cheaper but suffer n uncomfortable

Didn't know it changed new hotel name not Howard Johnson. Saw three big bugs in bathroom. Bed mattress is like wood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
soccer mom13
austin
Sep 4, 2012

not good experience

The room had roaches .also the bathroom ceiling looked as if it was Chung to fall down at ant moment. The hotel itself had things wrong. It had water leaking from the ceiling on the way to the lobby. Also the exercise room had part of the room covered as if it was not finished. The whole place had a dirty atmosphere about. It.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Bed Bugs!!! Noisy Fundamentalist Church Services!

Thje staff was nice enough to check me in an hour ahead of time. That was it. The room they gave me stank. It had bed bugs on it (I felt itchy, but noticed the bites only after my stay) The hall side door was open so the halls are not air conditioned. There is a fundamentalist christian church celebrating service in the fuinction room there every wednesday night and sunday. Their mic is in full colume and they keep the doors open so you cant sleep or relax for 6 hours while they are there. 3 hours for service and 3 more hours for break out session. Its a bit scary too because the church goers wander off to the suites/halls and they dont keep themselves in the function areas The hotel was hard to find because it no longer is a Howard Johnson but some other hotel. The restaurant below is closed. The pool looked dirty. The washer and dryer was expensive and rusty. The room cleaners knock on your door at 9AM even though you have a sign that says do not disturb and check out time is 12 noon. They blocck the front entrance to the front parking everryday and the "guard" will force you to park behind the hotel where it feels like your car will be robbed Im not very picky. I stay in cheap hotels all the time. I never write reviews because I expect so-so service when paying a low price. BUT . I think its the lack of sleep (from noisy church services), hot halls, and mostly the bed bugs that makes me look down on this place. I will never go back here unless they do a major change up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Game Day
Fairmont,WV
Oct 17, 2012

Room wasn't up to standard.

Phone didn't work and no alarm clock. Ceiling in room and hallways had water damage. One section of the hall way was very trashy. Carpet in room needed replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thyung3
Houston, Tx
Apr 2, 2013

"Cheesy hotel"

No chairs in the room, torn matresses, dirty walls, hole in ceiling, lots of mold/mildew in shower, dirty carpet. Smelled like a smokey bar room, even though it is a "smoke free" hotel. I would not recommend at any price, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SXSW music lover
Allen, TX
Mar 21, 2011

Motel level price - motel level quality

It was a SXSW week in Austin and hotel prices were really inflated - except this one's. Unfortunately there was a good reason for low price - low quality. The hotel's condition does not match what you'd expect from a respectable chain: old scratched furniture, old TV set, broken electric switch in the bathroom, etc. Our non-smoking room had a suspiciously strong smell of desinfectant as if staff was fighting the smell of tobacco smoke, there was no toilet paper in the bathroom and no towels (we got them, of course, but these are things you normally don't have to ask for), bedsheets did not look fresh. Free breakfast was very poor: they ran out of food (!), did not have enough utencils, napkins, jam and cream cheese were served out of family size jars instead of individual packs, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top