$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Bed Bugs!!! Noisy Fundamentalist Church Services!

Thje staff was nice enough to check me in an hour ahead of time. That was it. The room they gave me stank. It had bed bugs on it (I felt itchy, but noticed the bites only after my stay) The hall side door was open so the halls are not air conditioned. There is a fundamentalist christian church celebrating service in the fuinction room there every wednesday night and sunday. Their mic is in full colume and they keep the doors open so you cant sleep or relax for 6 hours while they are there. 3 hours for service and 3 more hours for break out session. Its a bit scary too because the church goers wander off to the suites/halls and they dont keep themselves in the function areas The hotel was hard to find because it no longer is a Howard Johnson but some other hotel. The restaurant below is closed. The pool looked dirty. The washer and dryer was expensive and rusty. The room cleaners knock on your door at 9AM even though you have a sign that says do not disturb and check out time is 12 noon. They blocck the front entrance to the front parking everryday and the "guard" will force you to park behind the hotel where it feels like your car will be robbed Im not very picky. I stay in cheap hotels all the time. I never write reviews because I expect so-so service when paying a low price. BUT . I think its the lack of sleep (from noisy church services), hot halls, and mostly the bed bugs that makes me look down on this place. I will never go back here unless they do a major change up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jony
houston, TX
Sep 7, 2011

no body in charge so no service for everything

There is no body in charge, no body answered the call, no towels, no pillow, no paper, everything you have to do yourself. The front desk person was not properly trained at all. Hotel looks like in Insolvency. Orbitz should take this hotel off from the list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
i dont have a nickname
sulphur louisiana
Sep 6, 2011

not a 3 star hotel

hotel was out of coffee.the room was dirty,dirty sheets,chair was worn out and chair upholstry torn completly through to wood.front desk does not answer phone.I had to go and hunt down staff to get clean sheets on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tstrange
Waco, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Not that bad

I will say you do get what you pay for. It is not the best hotel ever. The hotel is old and needs some remodeling. But it's a pretty clean nice hotel. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast...Not much of a selection. And when I went the sign did not say Howard Johnson it said St. Michael's so it took us about 45 minutes to find the hotel because the addresses we had were wrong. But it was not a bad hotel. I recommend it and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ashjj536
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 6, 2011

Not up to snuff

First of all, this hotel was hard to spot since the sign in front says "St. Michaels Church" and I, of course, was looking for Howard Johnson. When I finally got to the place, the room we were given did not have a working A/C. I had to change rooms and the person in front of me at the desk had to change rooms also because the A/C was not working. Hardly any staff working so it was impossible to be helped in a timely manner. The breakfast was so unhealthy. All that was available was white bread, bagel, pre-cooked pancakes, sugary cereal. Where was the fruit or vegetables or wheat stuff. Not sufficient for a meal. I won't ever come here again. May have been cheap, but not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chupacabra Restaurant on 6th street, close to hwy 35. The goat enchiladas are yummy!

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sh1th34d
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

ok

very militant towards anyone coming by to visit made friends leave the room by 10pm that is not cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aileen
California
Aug 21, 2011

doesn't deserve any star.

we drove 1500 miles from california hoping we will get to howard johnson easily since you hve a good sign. lo an behold it is the most frustrating trip looking for a hotel. called the hotel 5 times and the lady just told us on the fifth call that it doesn't have the howard johnson sign instead we had to look for a st michael sign. what the heck! we finally found the hotel but there was no access. the hotel gate were all chained up so we had to call again to ask for the access gate. we went around again and apparently the security guard unhook the chain so we got in the we were give a roon # 137 that was totally vandalized. the picture frames and mirrors were unhooked, bugs in the bathroom and spider webs all over the ceiling. i went back to the receptionist and asked for another room. that was already 11:p.m. the receptionist said that either he will give us another room or he will just refund the money. at ii:00 p.m. do you think we will able to get the sme hotel rate? just give us another room and we will try to live with it. howard johnson do something about this hotel. it is a disgrace to your name. my next trip i will avoid howard johnson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

You get what you pay for!

A bit scary...hotel door did not lock properly,could tell it had been "busted" in before and had been repaired a few times. Also witnessed a drug deal going on couple rooms over in parking lot. A bit sketchy but cheap...you get what you pay for and there was no better deal than this hotel in the entire Austin area. Nice that they allowed pets and it was an easy check-in and out. Stayed here for an entire week on a job assignment and nothing did happen that whole time. For peace of mind though, would be willing to spend a few more bucks and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jad a3krab
McAllen, Tx
Aug 1, 2011

Not good at all

Well we had a bad experience with this hotel cause it smells ugly inside the rooms then we checked in late 5 hours and we asked to stay a little longer since we didnt use the room all day but the clerk said no! the next morning the housekeeper was knocking at the door at 10:00 am not even 12 noon she kept knocking and I didnt like that at all so i called the front office to request dry towels and they didnt have any towels at all . Can you believe that a Hotel without towels thats messed up also the AC wasnt working. I konw it was kinda a cheap price but c'mon ... Shukran Jazeelan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waco, Texas
Apr 21, 2011

Great price, nice location

We had activities at UT all weekend and this was a great location! Not too close to be in all the traffic, but only 5 minutes away from campus and downtown. The bathrooms aren't very nice or spacious, but for such a cheap price the hotel was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search