$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
want2run262
san jose, ca
Nov 16, 2011

1 night stay during transit

carpet is torn and worn out, some marks on clean sheets, lighting not functional in rec room, the place is old and will need renovation to attact customers. Staff are nice and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
feffer
Business
new york, ny
Nov 14, 2011

disappointing

Hotel name was changed so had difficulty finding it. Room was clean but hallways hade bad odor. Breakfrast exceptionally poor: bread, almost empty butter substitute, empty grape jelly jar, 2 kinds of cold cereal, cold, poor coffee. Party in public space with loud music until 3 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TigerJody
San Antonio, TX, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great Central Location

Despite the fact that their computer system was down the service was great and my short stay was worth wile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Former Austinite
WA
Oct 23, 2011

Adventures in lodging

Inexperienced staff, system was down, hotel being renovated (and definitely needs it), but has no business being open until it's ready - it's not ready! Give it a few more months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shoujo
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Not Worth It

It wouldn't be worth staying at this hotel a second time. We had a different location this trip so I was attempting to make new reservations. Turns out that it was directly across from the Days Inn where we always stay. The bed was fine, but the TV had no remote, there was one roll of toilet paper with an empty tissue box and NO TOWELS! When I called the front desk the girl was very uncaring and she said "I'll have to find the maid staff and see when they can bring them." After I told her that I was in need of a shower right at the time, she got upset that I was making her work. They eventually bring 2 small "towels" and said that they would bring more in the morning (but we had to leave at 6.. we never got more towels for morning showers). The headboard and all tables were dusty, the tub was molding and the walls had stuff on them that I didn't want to get near. The "patio" wasn't fenced in and anyone could walk up to the sliding back door if they wanted. Next time, we are staying at the Days Inn across the street where we have been loyal stayers and they are friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NMPhotocatcher
Elephant Butte, NM
Oct 14, 2011

Probably was a nice motel at one point.

When we were trying to find the motel we drove by it once as the huge sign in the air out in front said "St. Martin Motel" but coming back around again we saw a banner tacked on the side of the building that said "Howard Johnson". Not sure what was up with that. When we got to our room we had no pillows, no ice bucket, no glasses, very little toilet paper, a couple of towels. We called the front desk and they told us to go to housekeepiing which we did. They told us they would put the missing items in our room. When we got back from supper all that had been done was the pillows. That meant another trip to housekeeping which was closed. The ice machine didn't work but then I noticed that you had to insert your room key to get ice. New one on me. The supposed security doors that would normally require a room key to get into the building was broken so anyone could just walk in. You can get into the buildig but don't count on getting any ice. We had booked the room for 4 nights but left after 2 never to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

LBJ Library is amazing and don't miss the State Capital and of course the IKEA store.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dadio
Butte, Mt, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Be careful what you hope for!!!

Wow, where do I start ? First off they should fire the maintenance staff. The room was filthy as far as the walls needed repairing and a good paint job. It wreaked of a mustiness. The only real bright spot to this stay was that it had hot water and a shower. If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have stayed there even if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thedallasite
Dallas, TX
Oct 3, 2011

Cheap good hotel overall

The second time I stay here. One of the general managers (Geizi I think is his name) is pretty good and can work tihngs out for you. Unfortunately one of the girls at the front desk took forever to switch my room from a bad one to the one I preferred. Had to eventually waste 30 mins and talk to the manager because all she was able to do was give me a more expensive room that was equally useless as the one before. However, the hotel is not bad. It has a lot of party people in it as it seems, but from your room you don't feel that and plus I am not easily upset by that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from downtown (5 mins). So it's worth paying just 40 bucks for a cheaper hotel with 2 double beds in the room, if you have a car. This comes out to about 10$ per person if you really have 4 people!

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kabe
Rockville, MD, USA
Oct 1, 2011

Horrible place

This place had cigarette smell when we entered the room and then bathroom had roaches and the shower curtain had mold, couldnt they even change the shower curtain???? Had the booking for 2 nights but made it for one night with a great difficulty as it was pretty late in the night when we reached there and we had no choice. Seriously this place is a never on my list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sophie25
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Not a good choice

The Howard Johnson-North Austin (or St. Michael Plaza Hotel, as it said on the sign) definitely had some things it needs to work on. Our room was on the furthest end of the hotel, even though it seemed like we were the only guests there. It had a very strong odor of cigarette smoke. The paint was peeling in some places, and there were scuff marks in others. We had a coffee maker, but nothing to make coffee with. The bathroom was a whole other story. The water coming out of the sink, shower, and the toilet was scalding hot. The hot water in the toilet bowl was actually steaming up the bathroom. We reported the water situation, and it was "fixed" (warm instead of hot). There were also a bug or 2 in the bathtub over the course of 4 days. Housekeeping came to the room around 8am each day. This wouldn't have been a problem if we had a Do Not Disturb sign. There was an overall lack of professionalism from all of the employees at the hotel. The hot tub was broken, the continental breakfast was disappointing, and the free wi-fi didn't always work. Overall, we got what we paid for. I will not go back to Howard Johnson-Austin North.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

6th Street is awesome! Bars, clubs, live music... It was so much fun.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search