Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
127 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

23% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hoosier14
Business
Indiana
Mar 17, 2012

Could Not Stay

Walked into lobby, seemed like renovation was about to begin. Checked out 3 rooms and had to get a refund. Rooms were so deplorable I could not let my family stay in this run down motel. Staff was understanding, and knew the pictures were not the real rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I am disappoint.
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 10, 2012

Stay Elsewhere

I wish I could upload the pictures I took. Location is poor and there were homless people hanging out by the side door. The side door itself was propped open. I assume this was done for conveince but it was a safety issue. The room itself had a strong cleaner oder. A ceiling tile in the bathroom had mold on it. Several of the outlet plates were broken. Overall, I felt cheap staying here and will avoid HoJos from now on. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They one thing I would say about this place is it is very centrally located/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jjannnn
Business
Laredo, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Average

Very friendly staff! Good location!! Average hotel aperience wise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shura
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Two nights business trip

Room was not clean, dirty walls, lots of things were broken. Continental breakfast very poor. But it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salt-grass, excellent steak house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roc411
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 28, 2012

HoJo's Austin North

I had a great experience at HoJo's. Clean room and pleasant, helpful staff. A little hard to get to at first, but once I became familiar with the location i could get around easily. The staff is great and is excited about being in HoJo's chain. They are awaiting signage and renovation. I would stay there again and would recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fast food and restaurants are a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not happy with hotel
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 27, 2012

don't over value pictures and descriptions

We had a difficult time locating the hotel, under new mgmt & hadn't replaced sign with the new sign. description did not match amenities that were offered, for ex... indicated a hot tub... there wasn't one. indicated wifi.. was down on my end of the room. room smelled like mens cologne, the courtyard needed to be mowed. staff indicated they were changing ownership & in the last few days provided access to money to make repairs &paint rooms, the tub had mold in corners, wasn't a smoke detector-bare wires! not good experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call before arrival... clear up any questions about location and expectations so you can cancel and get a refund if possible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jumbotty
Business
Batn Rouge, La
Feb 27, 2012

It seems like someone gave up on this property

There was caution tape on the two rooms above mine and it looked like part of the roof had collapsed. The lawn on the property was badly overgrown. I had to move the microwave off the desk to do work and found crumbs and food particles underneath. A car was parked outside of my window playing loud music for over an hour. All that being said, everything else about the room was great for what i paid. Except they could really use plugs on the wall by the bed. I couldnt plug my phone in to charge and use as an alarm unless i put it across the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Uchiko. A few miles north of UT on N. Lamar. Expensive, but one of the best meals i've ever had. Executive chef is Paul from Top Chef Texas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PortiaW
Business
Yonkers, NY
Feb 24, 2012

Good for the price

The staff was very nice and helpful. The wifi wasn't working in first room assigned to me. But, I was able to switch rooms (at no cost). It is apparent that the hotel needs upgrading and it appears that they are working on it. I think it was fine for the price I paid. ($45/night) Hopefully, within the next few months the hotel will be in better shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
downinthedumps
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Howard Jonhson or St Micheal's???????

I can not express my disappointment enough. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! First I was put in the back as I was driving back I could see multiple windows boarded up. My opinion was slowing changing of the hotel because the lobby will fool you. Once I got to the room it was run down and outdated. At this time I became highly upset . I felt that I had been miss lead by the Star rating . I was expecting 3 stars when it was only a half of star. To be honest I think I would have rather slept in the car. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and when I asked for extra pillows I was pretty much told NO. I guess there was a two pillow max per room. I came for business and pleasure but the suppose to be free wifi they have in the rooms didnt even work thank God I had a Hopspot on my phone this could of cost me a great deal of money.In the morning when I awoke I went to the car to drive to get the continental breakfast When I got in my car I could see roaches crawling on the back of the curtain in the room my car was park in front of. I proceed to the front of the property to get breakfast there they had stale cereal and milk and day old bread needless to say I passed. Please dont waste your time staying here,you will regretit I promise. Learn from my mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waterpolo22
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Not good

Room was dirty, they had no extra towels, pillows it was horrible. Please don't stay here it's just a bad area and dirty hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top