$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
162 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler1020120354
Austin, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

Easy to find location - value matches price

A good stay - but the construction needs to be completed, otherwise it's a mess outside and the rooms are booked in the back of the property :) It'll be much nicer when it's completed I'm sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Poke-e-Joe's Bar-Be-Que

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nomadic soul
Dallas, Texas
Aug 24, 2012

disclosures

We were unable to locate the hotel for a while, there was no sign above the hotel, just on it. I had requested a one bed room, with a cot. When we arrived, they said, "we'll try and get one to you". We walked around the building, to the room, set our stuff down, and they call us telling us that they don't have one, but they'll upgrade us to a 2 bed room. While walking back to the front there was a lot of construction going on. They also failed to mention that the pool was closed, which doesn't make any sense to me. It's the summer. We get to our new room, and the door to the patio, doesn't have a handle. Their version of "going green", is hanging towels and not fixing your bed. There was no "do not disturb sign", and the "free wifi" was not worth it. They have about 18 connections, and they're not secured. So it was incredibly slow. The best part about the place, was the pillows. Very good pillows. But, that's what you get when you pay $78 for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible Hotel 1
San Antonio, TX
Aug 9, 2012

Horrible experience!!

Don't ever book a night here, this place is horrible me and my friends were cursed at BY THE OWNER!! Please take my word for it DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL. Trust me the owner aren't very friendly, don't even book a night here last resort not worth it at all. Would give it 0 stars but had to give it one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shiverrr777
Melbourne, Fl
Aug 3, 2012

Great for the price

At the price you pay for this hotel You definately cannot complain, the staff is super helpful. The only thing that was an issue, but honestly not a big deal was that there was a smell in the hallway, but it wasn't so bad that it needs a bad review :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have applebees, and buffalo wild wings right across the road basically. and in one direction, you have a Red lobster and in the oppisite, you have Taco Bell and McDonalds, it's also near a walmart which has like a little strip mall, with a goodwill, ceasers, subway etc...

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edsgolfin
The Villages, FL
Jul 7, 2012

Restoration transformation

The sign outside says "under new management", the dumpster outside my window suggested work was underway and it all seemed appropriate to me. But, I didn't pay much so I sure can't expect much. I was looking for a place to sleep and be have a bathroon available and both were there and working fine. The internet and TV were both good. The access to and from I35 is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P F Changs in Austin.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goof blue
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jul 3, 2012

Great deal

I mainly just needed a place to shower, do laundry and sleep. I'm glad I had my phone as an alarm because there was no electricity on Saturday morning when I got up. It was back on Saturday night when I returned. Everything was clean and then I killed a cockroach on the wall, it was a water one, so who hasn't had those come in to their own homethis time of year. Overall it was a great value for the price I paid. The laundry room was also empty when I needed to get laundry done so I was very happy I didn't have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Time out
Business
Micigan
Jun 11, 2012

Only if you have to

Make sure to specify a non-smoking room. Don't arrive before 4 pm. Be aware that the security guards may do a random security check after 11 pm. If you stay more than a week be prepared to only have the room cleaned every other day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zot420
san antonio
Jun 2, 2012

fast getaway

good for a quick place to stay and put your stuff while you enjoy austin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walker3000
Phoenix, AZ
May 19, 2012

Good place for the money

This hotel had a great price. The only issue I had was that all the rooms were nonsmoking. Not a problem but the sheets had several cigarette burns. I would stay at this location in the future due to the price and location. However I would hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mbier
Business
Michigan, USA
May 16, 2012

Odor in the hallway

I assume the hotel allows pets. I did not feel it in the room, but maybe it is because the detergine kills the smell. There are a couple hotels down the block that advertise the lower price. Who knows, maybe those are even worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBird37
new York
May 9, 2012

One of the scariest moments in my life!!

This place should be condemned...no exaggeration at all. Blood on the ground by entry door that was unlocked, but should have been locked. Room was filthy, tub grout had thick layer of mold. When I went to shut the curtains, they looked like Swiss cheese, seriously...I had to laugh. We immediately used the wifi to find a better place, and got lucky to find a great deal on a marriot 10 minutes down the road. After about 45 minutes of fear we checked out and left to three people getting arrested, with cop cars littering the parking lot. Please, don't even waste your time with this place...we took pictures of the curtains just to show people because we didn't think they would believe us! Scary stuff! Beware. Not even worth one star, seriously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top