Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
127 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

23% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax from the West
Business
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Slow start, but got better

When we first arrived, we were put in room 270. Oh my, not very pleasant. We asked for a different room. The staff put us in one of the newer renovated room. If we started off with a renovated room I would have bumped up the room cleanliness, but I couldn't believe they would put us in that room to begin with. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dtjreed
Business
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
May 28, 2013

Remodeling

remodeling! no phone and the phone plug had no cover the electrical plug cover was broken,the bath room sink is not secured to the wall,it wobbles, the toilet wobbes too.needs to be shimmed. needs to be inspection better! the rooms, building is looking better each time we stay there. stayed here for three mornings Two of them they did not have any waffles mix

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cdn flaggers
Business
Winnipeg
May 15, 2013

Good place to stay near Austin

Good: staff was wonderful; great location. Very quiet even though it was close to the freeway. Bad: They ran out of breakfast basics, like milk. Lots of other stuff to eat. Internet was slow in the room, but fast in the lobby; other rooms are probably fine. Room had been beat up by previous tenants; too bad as this was once a really nice place. I would stay here again for this price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before you 'move in' look over rooms, and try your computer. Many motels have slow internet in rooms, and most have really fast internet close to the wifi antenna. We enjoyed the History Museum downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thyung3
Business
Houston, Tx
Apr 2, 2013

"Cheesy hotel"

No chairs in the room, torn matresses, dirty walls, hole in ceiling, lots of mold/mildew in shower, dirty carpet. Smelled like a smokey bar room, even though it is a "smoke free" hotel. I would not recommend at any price, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoeyDFW
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 3, 2012

Hotel was dirty

The lobby wasn't bad, but once I got to my room I was upset with myself for thinking I found a bargain. The carpet was stained. The ceiling had stained tiles. The paint on the walls was all over the place. Saw a roach climb down a curtain. I reserved 2 nights, but I check out after the first one and went to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donald j
Business
austin, tx
Nov 29, 2012

spontaneous

THe hotel was a little below average they were doing alot of construction . The room smeleed and the walls didn't look good & the bedding either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sixth Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rastaboogie
Business
Florida
Nov 20, 2012

Worst Hotel Ever!

This was not a 3 star hotel far from it, i have seen motels better than this, the room was extremely dirty and mold in the bathroom, i saw a rat in the room and got sick as a result of staying there. The hotel smelled very bad i couldn't take it anymore so i left and stayed at the days inn accross the street. Construction was going on at the hotel in all the surrounding rooms and it was the worst experience ever! better to sleep in the car, beware you shouldn't stay at this hotel even if its free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disapponted Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 19, 2012

Most horrible hotel stay ever!

Not at all a three star stay. To many issues to put down so, I will share the most important three items you should know. Hotel was under renovation and they were renting rooms in the wings where construction workers had large items in the hallways which I had to climb over to get to the room. My room was old and sheets were yellow, woke up in the night to find roaches climbing on the walls. In addition, there was absolutely no shower water pressure. Spoke to the staff and they indicated that I would get a refund, however, have not seen or heard anything to date. Asked for General Manager of property to give me a call and still have not received a call. Completely disappointed and not worth any portion of the money I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rastaboogie
Business
Florida
Nov 16, 2012

Stay Very Far Away.

Was aware that this hotel wasn't the highest rated I've stayed at similar places, no problem. But this place was horrendous, yes they are under construction understood, but it is apparent that who ever is in charge of this so called project has no idea how to go about it. Instead sectioning off a couple of rooms at a time it appears as if they are choosing rooms haphazardly to remodel, so picture construction workers everywhere, including their equipment / appliances etc to be installed in the rooms (note lawsuit just waiting to happen). If the base of the mattress in the room was literally falling apart, water marks on the ceiling, hair in the towels and the bedsheets. We were really biting our lip trying to tough it out for the night but it was not possible. Told the guy posted at the front ( who by the way was very pleasant and accommodating not his fault) and he offered to let us see two of the other rooms to choose from, both of which smelled like cigarettes, were spotted with paint on the carpet and curtains, water marks...sigh. Oh by the way they had a side door for guest access only propped open by a (soon to be installed toilet seat unfortunately) for the construction workers to have access. Even though the hotel seems to have friendly staff would rather have a clean room. Went to the hotel across the street so much better. Oh by the way not the one by the funeral home! Good Luck. Sleep at your own risk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRWZY421
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Nov 13, 2012

OLD, Under Construction

I chose this hotel for location and price, but did not know it was being renovated. OLD smell in most rooms and hall. Booked a non-smoking room, but had STRONG smoke odor. Was allowed to change to recent renovated room, but it still had moldt smell. OK if you want cheap and don't mind old smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top