Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
126 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waco, TX
Nov 29, 2010

Good location and price

The room that I stayed in need to be vaccumed. But overall it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Nov 3, 2010

Where not to stay in Austin

The room smelled, the couch was on the wall air conditioning unit, neither lamp worked, the bathroom sink leaked, and the bathroom's overall appearance was displeasing. How this hotel got 3 stars on [...] - I'll never know. I will never stay there again and I will seriously question the rating of hotels on [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hate this hotel
Business
houston tx
Oct 28, 2010

Sucked

The hotel sucked it had two sinks and when you turned on the faucet the water went to the other sink. Free breakfast! ha! everything they had was cold and needed to be heated and they had the cheapest waffels that you had to put in the toaster. Do not stay at this place you can find better places to stay at for the same amount of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 14, 2010

Bad service! No AC!

First, they gave us a room where someone was already staying in. Then they moved us to another room where the AC was not working. We called and they did send someone in, it worked for a little while and never turned back on. The next day we called again about the AC, they said they would send someone to fix it. We arrived at night and still not working. We called front desk and the guy said he would give us another room , so he would call us back, never did! I called two hours later and the only thing they had available was a very smoke filled room. So we slept another night without AC, we opened the windows for a little while but could not leave them open too long since our room faced the busy freeway so there was too much noise and too many lights! Really bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Oct 12, 2010

Not as Promised

This hotel was advertised as a Howard Johnson and it was in fact not. It was a St. Michael hotel, which I had never even heard of. It was also advertised as an airport hotel and it was 20 minutes from the actual airport. The staff was unfriendly, they didn't have wifi as advertised and our sheets didn't get changed. There was mold in the bathrooms, leaky faucets and water damage on the ceilings. Very unsatisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tree
Business
Howard Johnson North Austin TX
Oct 12, 2010

I would not suggest this hotel at all.

I would never recommend a hotel that says you need a key to get in at night or day, to the main building and then the door just opens. Then you get to your room and each day and the key doesn't work- that happened 2 days. The 2nd morning I walked into the bathroom with 2 inches of water on the floor. I was in a handicapped room (which I didn't request- they overbooked that weekend). When I found out the shower didn't work the 2nd day and there wasn't anyone to clean up the floor I asked to be moved to another room. They said it couldn't happen until after 3 pm. I said I needed a room to put my things in- that toilet didn't work. When I left I had been in room 118, 206, told I'd be in 148 but that changed to 192. Unreal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Tx
Oct 12, 2010

Bad Mistakes and Worse Service

Had a hard time finding the hotel due to the fact that the sign they use says St. Michael Plaza, and not Howard Johnson, which they are [...]. The first keys that were given were to a room that was already booked. Luckily the room's occupants were not there.The room's electricity went out twice and did not get fixed the second time for over 24 hours. The room did not get cleaned one day. We ran out of toilet paper and clean towels.The keys to our room were deactivated.There was a maintenance room open with alcohol in plain sight.The manager was extremely rude. Did not take any action to fix our problems nor was she sympathetic. There was no sense of urgency on her part, despite the fact that the lobby was full of waiting customers (many of whom did not have a room due to overbooking). It took several minutes for her to find her business card, and when she couldn't find it, it took another several minutes to write her name on a slip of paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

6th Street is a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Oct 12, 2010

not satisfied

I checked in and they gave me two card keys that belong to someone elses room....maintence knocked on every door then entered to find a vacant room...did they not have a computer .Patio handle was broken...they didnt have any towels available...room stunk...restroom rail was broken...no cold water just hot water.....i will never go there again.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 12, 2010

Horrible Experience

I went to check in after being at ACL festival and was told by the front desk that they had overbooked the hotel and there was no room for me. I had specifically let them know I would be arriving late and the front desk had no suggestions for me. Told me to [...] have a nice life basically. Every hotel in the area was booked and had I not had friends staying at another hotel, I don't know what I would have done, probably had to sleep in my car. Horrible customer service, horrible experience, I will never go back to a Howard Johnson, ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 11, 2010

DONT GO

The hotel was overbooked, even if you had made a reservation weeks in advance. There was about 20+ people that didnt have a room, I was left with no where to stay for the weekend and had to spend 159.99 just for one night at a random hotel. It took me about 2 hours to find hotel as the person at the front desk kept giving me wrong directions. It ended up being because it has two names.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top