Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rami 2012
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 20, 2014

SXSW Trip

I was there for SXSW and rented a car. Was about a 15 min drive to downtown which I didn't mind considering the craziness of sxsw. Hotel is ok, I got an accessible room which I did not request and couldn't change it becuase they were sold out. Clean was clean but had a bad scent, I was only there to sleep. Would not repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

SXSW

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tami brittain
Business
dallas tx
Jul 2, 2014

I've stayed in hostels in thirld world countries cleaner than this.

The staff was good. The roaches... not so much. If you're wanting adventure in south Texas, here you go. Broken coffee makers, food stuck in carpet, roaches, broken toilet seats.... who needs a passport? Just cometo HoJo in Austin and you're instantly in Tijuana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Be armed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AustinSS
Business
Austin
May 18, 2014

Average Place - Do not expect great things

I have stayed at this place twice. This being the second stay was no different. Yet I chose this place for the location / poximity to my work. Other than that, average customer service, room and cleanliness. I have never seen the pool ready to be used. Cocroaches in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Goo places to shop within 5-10 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mamie Kensington
Business
South texas
May 5, 2014

Facilities need work

Hotel is poorly kept.. One ice machine serves entire hotel. No landscaping except weeds. Outdoor locks don't work. Hair dryer missing from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alli Oakley
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 19, 2014

First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental breakfast every morning. One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. During a bad thunderstorm, my ceiling leaked over the bed. They were very nice, got me a new room, and the man at the desk came and moved all my luggage for me to the other room. Plus it was a nicer room than I had booked!!! That is good customer service : ) Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great barbecue!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roy Rod
Business
South Texas
Feb 20, 2014

Average price, Average room

Nothing special here. Check in was smoothish. Received 2 keys. Neither worked. Employee accompanied me and he only managed to get one of the recoded keys to work. Door looked like it might have been knocked open at one point because it was loose in the frame and might have been the reason the keys were not working properly. The one key I had needed to be tried multiple times before it would unlock it. The room looked like it might have been a double at one point, but the put in a larger bed and added a sofa and coffee table along with a simple desk and chair. The sofa had a gash on one of the cushions. Everything looked neat if not super clean. Only 2 large towels were provided. There seemed to be a lack of outlets near the bed itself. Very gay as phones needed to be plugged in at the other end of the room. The tv was old but worked fine and had a normal amount of channels. There happened to be a dying roach in the bathroom, but I can blame them completely. It looked like the sucker was on its last legs and decided to come out of hiding to take its last breaths. Decent water pressure. The hotel is super long and its a nice walk back to the reception desk if you are at the end. Both ice machines were not working and had no sign saying so even though it looked like the staff was aware. They had an employee grab me some from somewhere in the back kitchen area from their ballroom which was nice of them, but took much longer than it should have for just an ice request. Overall, not a terrible hotel, but nowhere near great. The Days Inn across the highway is much cleaner and neater for maybe $10 more a night. Location is good as you can turn into it coming south on I-35 or from the East on Anderson Lane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Austin is only about 10minutes south on I-35.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
listen up
Business
Austin, Tx
Feb 2, 2014

Girls night out

While taking a birthday/girls trip the hotel seemed great the location was great and not bad for the price, yet my thoughts were soon changed when we were cleaning the room getting ready to check out and witnessed 2 baby roaches crawling out of the sockets on opposite sides of the room. So if you can whether that storm then I say enjoy, yet if bugs aren't your thing then this hotel is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoover's Cooking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
StyxRiver
Business
Austin, TC
Aug 2, 2013

First Time Ever Breaking Reservation

I've never done that before, but this place was an absolute rat's nest. The rooms were in bad shape (and I had a recently remodeled one!), there was broken drywall all over the hallways, the AC didn't work in the halls, the rooms smelled of something unmentionable. There were some seriously skeezy clientele, derelict vehicles in the parking lot. NOT a place for children at all. Just wow, and not the happy wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pet All
Business
Toronto
Jun 3, 2013

Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax from the West
Business
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Slow start, but got better

When we first arrived, we were put in room 270. Oh my, not very pleasant. We asked for a different room. The staff put us in one of the newer renovated room. If we started off with a renovated room I would have bumped up the room cleanliness, but I couldn't believe they would put us in that room to begin with. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top