$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
74 reviews
Good experience

The rooms are clean and service is great, only disadvantage is that the bathroom is small... See full review

  • StanRay
  • Apr 25, 2013
Excellent

5 star hotel, vista views. outdoors enthusiasts book this hotel because city centre is within... See full review

  • Richardmet5550
  • Mar 27, 2013
Activities abound at this lakeside, downtown hotel

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake's main draw is a downtown Austin location by Lady Bird Lake. The hotel offers free shuttle service to Austin attractions or guests can take a mile-walk to the center of town. The hotel attracts active visitors with kayak, Segway and bike rentals in the hotel lobby for cruising hike and bike trails or exploring the lake. The rooftop pool has a gorgeous view of Lady Bird Lake, the perfect spot for swimming and sunbathing. For the latest blockbuster, hit up the hotel's private movie theater, with private concessions.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with bar
  • Private movie theater
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the hotel lobby
Location

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake is located on Lady Bird Lake, less than a mile from the convention center in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Guests find rooms at the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake comfortably appointed with contemporary furniture including a workspace, wooden armoire, an overstuffed chair and ottoman. Bright throws enliven soothing, muted beige and white tones dominating the rooms. A microwave and refrigerator offer added conveniences. Many executive rooms and suites offer stunning views of Lady Bird Lake.

 

Complimentary wireless Internet is available.

Features

Rent a Segway, kayak or bike in the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake lobby and cruise around Lady Bird Lake. Guests may also work out on up-to-date cardio equipment in the fitness center. After a long day, guests can relax and enjoy the view of the lake from the rooftop pool deck with a cold drink. The hotel's private movie theater screens the latest films. 

 

An easy walk or a free shuttle ride takes guests about a mile to downtown attractions, restaurants and music venues. The hotel's Pecan Tree Restaurant serves American food in a casual environment, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Complimentary self-parking is available, as well as complimentary wireless Internet access.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Austin Convention Center (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Zilker Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 13,677 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Hotel Map

30.2547 -97.7371
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 6.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
business traveller,,,,,never again
Business
san jose,ca
Feb 26, 2011

Unhygenic and dirty ....

terrible hotel..Rooms don't have double paned windows, as a result, there is constant noise from I35.. There needs to be a study on the noise levels, it is definitely not healthy.. The carpets are old, dirty, bathrooms were smelly... Terribly unhygenic, for any price...I can't believe that FDA or some other authority hasn't looked in to this hotel.. And a 3-star rating is clearly false advertising...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 29, 2008

wow...horrible stay

I love austin but I hate this hotel. Made me check in at midnight. No AC in the first room. had to change rooms at 230am...just horrible. They gave no raincheck or rebates or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Oct 19, 2009

Disappointed

For the money we were very disappointed. The hotel is very old and in dire need of updating. The parking garage was extremely dirty. When you stepped off the elevator, you could smell mold. It didn't have a very good smell. The windows in the room were filthy. You pay more for a view, so you would expect clean windows. The air conditioning vents in the room were dirty as well as the air they were blowing. It was making the curtains black. My husband and I both had headaches both days. Sorry, but we were not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the hike and bike trail and the hotel was within walking distance. We were there to look at high rise condos.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2007

Be careful of paying premium price for lake view

The room was clean however one of the beds sunk in the middle and towards the foot of the bed. It was almost impossible to sleep in. The alarm clock turned off when we sat on the bed because the wall plug plate was missing and it would fall out of the socket. It really was an electrical saftey issue. The restaurant was suppose to open at 06:30 and at 06:45 we left because they still didn't even have lights on. We paid a premium price to have a lake view. What we got was a parking lot view with a large airconditioning unit, and in the back ground you could see a sliver of water. Very deceptive in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a park along the lake you can enjoy and you are not far from a lot of good dining choices up and down Congress street and along Riverside road.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
film fest attendee
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Nov 2, 2011

horror story

Dank room - smelled like cigarettes. had to hold the toilet lid to urinate. my wife & i stayed 3 nights. the second day the maid split glass cleaner on my wife's & my clothes, when i checked out i mention this to the front desk - they said they would call me with insurance reimbursement - they never called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Houston
Dec 25, 2010

Good lake view but hotel needs upgrads

The air heater wasn't working proporley and I moved to another room, but it was same problem, the carpet smells bad in the 5th floor. generally the hotel looks inside old and needs upgrade to match the price. I liked the breakfast and sight view on the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 18, 2011

Disappointed

bad location, bad hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt Lulu
Dallas, Tx
Jun 25, 2012

Won't be going back

We were booked for a 3-night stay and checked out after the first night. The staff was very helpful in accomodating my request to check-out early. The bathtub was not clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Location was nice and convenient to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexican magic
texas
Aug 8, 2011

Great location but nothing else

Didn't stay at the hotel for anything more than sleep. Bad hotel room view! Old bedroom and I wouldn't recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
young guy
Business
NY.NY
Oct 26, 2009

Holiday inn get-a-way

In the pictures it looks great but its not really that nice and the location is not that convenient to the convention center or downtown without taking a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search