$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
View map of 20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Good value for downtown Austin

Very helpful staff and great location to downtown Austin. See full review

  • Chad M.
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey... See full review

  • South Louisiana Traveler
  • Sep 2, 2014
Downtown Austin Hotel's Accommodations Will Please Less than a mile from the Austin Convention Center, our hotel's premier location is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Here at the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Austin - Town Lake hotel, our top priority is to make your stay unforgettable. Guests enjoy beautiful views of Lady Bird Lake and downtown Austin. Our hotel's business travelers love being just minutes from corporate destinations that include the State Capitol, Freescale Semiconductor, Intel and the Austin Convention Center. Other hotels can't compete with our professional amenities, including a well-equipped Business Center and a spacious meeting room for up to 200 guests. Overlooking scenic Lady Bird Lake, otherwise known as Town Lake, our hotel is the perfect place to stay for leisure travelers looking for outdoor activities. You can go fishing, hike or bike along the lake, visit Zilker Park or tour the State Capitol or Lyndon Johnson Presidential Library. We're proud to offer complimentary amenities that include Wi-Fi access and parking. Relax by the outdoor, rooftop pool with a cool drink or watch the latest hit in our private movie theater. You can burn calories in the Fitness Center and savor a delicious meal in the full-service Pecan Tree Restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
film fest attendee
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Nov 2, 2011

horror story

Dank room - smelled like cigarettes. had to hold the toilet lid to urinate. my wife & i stayed 3 nights. the second day the maid split glass cleaner on my wife's & my clothes, when i checked out i mention this to the front desk - they said they would call me with insurance reimbursement - they never called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Oct 19, 2009

Disappointed

For the money we were very disappointed. The hotel is very old and in dire need of updating. The parking garage was extremely dirty. When you stepped off the elevator, you could smell mold. It didn't have a very good smell. The windows in the room were filthy. You pay more for a view, so you would expect clean windows. The air conditioning vents in the room were dirty as well as the air they were blowing. It was making the curtains black. My husband and I both had headaches both days. Sorry, but we were not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the hike and bike trail and the hotel was within walking distance. We were there to look at high rise condos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 29, 2008

wow...horrible stay

I love austin but I hate this hotel. Made me check in at midnight. No AC in the first room. had to change rooms at 230am...just horrible. They gave no raincheck or rebates or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
business traveller,,,,,never again
Business
san jose,ca
Feb 26, 2011

Unhygenic and dirty ....

terrible hotel..Rooms don't have double paned windows, as a result, there is constant noise from I35.. There needs to be a study on the noise levels, it is definitely not healthy.. The carpets are old, dirty, bathrooms were smelly... Terribly unhygenic, for any price...I can't believe that FDA or some other authority hasn't looked in to this hotel.. And a 3-star rating is clearly false advertising...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2007

Be careful of paying premium price for lake view

The room was clean however one of the beds sunk in the middle and towards the foot of the bed. It was almost impossible to sleep in. The alarm clock turned off when we sat on the bed because the wall plug plate was missing and it would fall out of the socket. It really was an electrical saftey issue. The restaurant was suppose to open at 06:30 and at 06:45 we left because they still didn't even have lights on. We paid a premium price to have a lake view. What we got was a parking lot view with a large airconditioning unit, and in the back ground you could see a sliver of water. Very deceptive in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a park along the lake you can enjoy and you are not far from a lot of good dining choices up and down Congress street and along Riverside road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston
Dec 25, 2010

Good lake view but hotel needs upgrads

The air heater wasn't working proporley and I moved to another room, but it was same problem, the carpet smells bad in the 5th floor. generally the hotel looks inside old and needs upgrade to match the price. I liked the breakfast and sight view on the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt Lulu
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 25, 2012

Won't be going back

We were booked for a 3-night stay and checked out after the first night. The staff was very helpful in accomodating my request to check-out early. The bathtub was not clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Location was nice and convenient to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexican magic
Business
texas
Aug 8, 2011

Great location but nothing else

Didn't stay at the hotel for anything more than sleep. Bad hotel room view! Old bedroom and I wouldn't recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 18, 2011

Disappointed

bad location, bad hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oklahoma Stylist
Business
McAlester, OK
Sep 16, 2014

Great Staff

The room was very small. The hotel needed some updating. The Staff was fantastic and we had to use the shuttle service ALOT. The shuttle service and staff were also fantastic. The bar was accommodating on playing our college games for us too. Very appreciated. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top