$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
View map of 20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arman
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Reasonable rates, good location

The hotel is fairly close to downtown Austin (about 1 mile), so it is convenient if you need to go the convention center or anywhere near there. The hotel itself is average, could provide more amenities. Particularly good for SXSW, where the pricing is reasonable and you can actually still get a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SeaLTK
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good Value/Location, Rooms are basic

I stayed here for one night on a quick trip to Austin. It's near I-35 and easy to get to and from. The rooms are fairly basic..but I was only in the room for about 7 hours. I would recommend for business travel or a quick stop over, however not so much for a longer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Trudy's by the UT campus. Their queso is to die for.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Texan Road Warrior
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 10, 2012

great location

The Holiday Inn - Town Lake is in a great location. It is easy access to I-35 and Downtown/Capitol. The staff was friendly and seemed to look for ways to make your stay better. The Hotel shows its age but is clean. The hotel offers plenty of parking. The parking garage is great to keep your car out of the weather and Texas hot sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BDT 2012
Business
Austin Texas
Jun 18, 2012

Close and Great Amenities

Love the fact that the segway tour was offer. It was the main reason we stay there over the weekend. The hotel and segway staff and tour guide was amazing. The hotel needs to be update a little bit because we almost got caught in the hotel elevator with a group of people, other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cabo47
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 27, 2012

Not what I expected...

The relatively close location to downtown Austin was the first attraction we had to this hotel. Through an internet search and reading reviews, the Holiday Inn Town Lake seemed to be a nice, clean place to stay. That outlook changed as soon as we walked into our room. We found urine in the toilet, as well as a not so clean bathroom with random holes in the walls. The air condition unit was filthy with dirt and appeared to have been neglected by any dusting or proper cleaning. Parts of the ceiling were torn and coming down as well. After explaining our finds to the hotel manager, she kindly gave us another room. Overall, our stay was decent but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kilted Couple
Business
UK
Oct 22, 2012

Weekend in Austin

The hotel was in a good location by the lake and we enjoyed a walk there on Sun morning. Taxi was under $10 to take us to 6th street area and some of the tourist attractions. Our only complaint was that breakfast service was really slow and we feel there should have been more staff on duty. Also we noticed that they were going back to the kitchen empty handed when tables needed clearing when it would be simple to clear at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NH in NC
Business
North Carolina
Nov 6, 2012

Great location

The staff is very friendly. The pool and lounge were great amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Roper
Business
Del Rio, TX
Jan 21, 2013

Worked for what I needed

Check in was suppose to be at 3, but my room had not been cleaned, so I had to wait a half hour. That actually gave me some time to explore the park right outside the doors which is nice. Room was clean, beds comfortable, shower was hot, TV is old, Highway was loud, but was drowned out by the AC unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Its about a mile to all the night life you need and I did not feel unsafe walking that distance through downtown. But as always, dont walk alone.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whiney traveler
Business
dallas, tx
Sep 20, 2009

Old Holiday Inn

We stayed at this hotel because of their location and because they had a pool. The pool was dirty and not heated. Our room was nice and clean, but there was a gurgling noise on our last night we could only figure was the pipes. The elevator kept getting stuck with the door open and dinging every 5 seconds. We did walk to the downtown area from the hotel-not too far but a little shady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Real Estate Agent
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Mar 10, 2010

Won't be my first choice next time

The room was adequate at best, the carpet had stains and found an earring in the bed that didn't belong to me. For a room with 2 queen beds there was not a lot of space for anything else. The bathroom sink counter area is very small and tight quarters in the shower area also. The free shuttle, that is advertised on the Holiday Inn web page was difficult to arrange. I booked this hotel because of the shuttle and although they have 3 shuttle buses I only saw one run at a time, unless you are going to the airport you have to wait until shuttle is available or go to your destination early. I was in town for a convention at the convention center which is less than a mile away but had to arrive there earlier than the convention started because of the lack of transportation available, and getting back to the hotel sometimes took 45 minutes. I ordered rm service once and it was an hour late getting to my room so it didn't do me a whole lot of good. The front desk staff was very nice and it is definitely easier to set up your wake up call through the front desk rather than calling from you room. The restaurant inside the hotel was good and the staff is very friendly, just not always fast. This was my first visit to Austin, and the next time I go I might be willing to pay a little more just so I don't have to worry about the shuttle when I need or want it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top