$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Good value for downtown Austin

Very helpful staff and great location to downtown Austin. See full review

  • Chad M.
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey... See full review

  • South Louisiana Traveler
  • Sep 2, 2014
Activities abound at this lakeside, downtown hotel

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake's main draw is a downtown Austin location by Lady Bird Lake. The hotel offers free shuttle service to Austin attractions or guests can take a mile-walk to the center of town. The hotel attracts active visitors with kayak, Segway and bike rentals in the hotel lobby for cruising hike and bike trails or exploring the lake. The rooftop pool has a gorgeous view of Lady Bird Lake, the perfect spot for swimming and sunbathing. For the latest blockbuster, hit up the hotel's private movie theater, with private concessions.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with bar
  • Private movie theater
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the hotel lobby
Location

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake is located on Lady Bird Lake, less than a mile from the convention center in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Guests find rooms at the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake comfortably appointed with contemporary furniture including a workspace, wooden armoire, an overstuffed chair and ottoman. Bright throws enliven soothing, muted beige and white tones dominating the rooms. A microwave and refrigerator offer added conveniences. Many executive rooms and suites offer stunning views of Lady Bird Lake.

 

Complimentary wireless Internet is available.

Features

Rent a Segway, kayak or bike in the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake lobby and cruise around Lady Bird Lake. Guests may also work out on up-to-date cardio equipment in the fitness center. After a long day, guests can relax and enjoy the view of the lake from the rooftop pool deck with a cold drink. The hotel's private movie theater screens the latest films. 

 

An easy walk or a free shuttle ride takes guests about a mile to downtown attractions, restaurants and music venues. The hotel's Pecan Tree Restaurant serves American food in a casual environment, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Complimentary self-parking is available, as well as complimentary wireless Internet access.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Austin Convention Center (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Zilker Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 13,677 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
May 26, 2008

Better than expected

Favorable experiences- Hotel reception was first class. Immediate apologies extended for construction zones and accommodated my request to have a quiet corner room. All front desk personnel placed emphasis on guest satisfaction throughout my 2 week stay. Room Service was superb...swift, reasonably priced and delivered with first class attention. Housekeeping services - special requests for additional towels were handled with unbelievable expediency. Unfavorable experiences - Just one. During a few attempts to find information about hotel services, one of the operators (male with deep voice) appeared to be bothered by my requests. Each time he answered, it seemed like he was just waking up. He could barely pronounce his words. Horrible impression of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

1 mile to many live entertainment clubs. One of the best is The Belmont - outside seating with front row views of local entertainment complemented by an attractice dining experience. You can drive, but the long walk (1 mile) is better as parking is typically difficult in the Belmont's location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof_F
Business
ames, iowa
Aug 7, 2009

Great location by the lake

Stayed for 4 days on business. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning. The problem we encountered was that there were no quick services like getting snacks, gum, bottle of aspirin. The "gift shop" is run by a third party, has very limited hours. Worse yet, the hours posted we very rarely offered. When you want a bag of chips at 9:30pm, you are directed to the gas station across the parking lot. This seems to be a very simple service to offer, just run the gift shop and keep it open late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Jun 27, 2010

Good value, fair location

Room was clean. Service very friendly and helpful. Fronts on I35 but road noise in roomacceptable. In hot weather it is a tough walk to tourist areas andnightlife. Free parkingincovered garage. Lack of convenience a fair trade off for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, Texas
Sep 7, 2009

Average

Overall the stay was nice, I should have booked the "executive" Suite, Since the view of the lake was at somewhat of an odd angle, to see it clearly we had to step outside on the pool's balcony. I'm wondering if they have another pool on the tower which is part of that "executive" area. I hope they at least have another gym in it... The pool was small, and so was the gym area. The Hotel staff is courteous and helpful, just as others have mentioned before. The location is perfect for a short drive to downtown, and being next to the freeway makes it easy to get anywhere else in town. If you're up for a run around the lake, you can take a jog around at any time of the day since it's so close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the area around the time you want to see the Mexican Bats, it's a "Mid walk" down to Congress Bridge. Make sure that you study the Austin freeways if you're new to the area, a simple "U-turn" might take you 5-10 minutes due to the next underpass to get back to where you wanted to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizzy Brett
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 18, 2008

Off the Beaten Path

Stayed at the Holiday Inn during the recent Austin Marathon. About a mile from the warehouse district, I was pleased to discover the hotel shuttle would take me to the airport or downtown for free. The gym was kind of a joke, but the pool is not bad. Didn't use any of the restaurants or anything, but not a bad value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2008

great location

My husband and I were very pleased that the location was near the resturant we wanted to attend,the shopping needed to be done and most of all we were able to take a quick morning job on the beautiful lake. a little disappointed that we didnt have free breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Iron Cactus is a great family restarant right off of sixth street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2010

Better than expected

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the location, cleanliness and service offered by this hotel. We had a late check in(10pm) but when I asked them to call me a cab for a trip to 6th Street they provided a free shuttle ride. Did not expect that at all. The cab fare back to the hotel from 6th St. was a mere 7 dollars. The only reason I can't give a perfect score is because the bathroom looked a little worn and would like to have seen a little cheaper rate. Nonetheless, it was clean and that's what matters the most to my wife. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If going to sixth street, leave your car in the free hotel parking garage and take the hotel shuttle or a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 30, 2014

Holiday Inn in Austin

We enjoyed our stay here. The outdoor pool on the 6th floor was refreshing, and you have a great view up the Colorado River towards the Congress Street bridge where you can see the bats flying. Perfect for bat watchers that want a great spot. Close to great food, shopping and the capitol building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to great shopping and eating on Congress.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cecilia gesch
Business
Odessa tx
Sep 1, 2014

weekend getaway

Went to austin for the weekend. Had a blast and the hotel was great. People very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Louisiana Traveler
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 2, 2014

Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey St, and within walking distance to 6th St. The staff was friendly and helped us figure out the best places to eat and how to get there. The bar and restaurant areas felt comfortable and the staff was very welcoming. It is also very convenient that the hotel offers a shuttle service to downtown or to the airport! My only complaint is that the pool was closed for maintenance--it would have been a great view from the deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top