$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
View map of 20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoRoK
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 27, 2013

Family getaway

Staff was polite and friendly. Free parking and WiFi is great considering the location. Stayed in a tower room facing the highway, but the room was very well insulated from the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vactioners1
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 25, 2013

Average, nice, clean hotel

We stayed at this hotel in November 2013. The hotel was very clean. We didn't have a lake view room and our room was small, but very clean. The bathroom vanity was very small, but the rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves which is awesome. It was freezing so we didn't take advantage of the rooftop pool. The price reflects the location--you cannot walk to downtown from the hotel but it is a short cab ride and if you call ahead you can reserve a shuttle from the hotel for free, but you have to reserve it in advance. When we asked for one Friday night, there were none available b/c it was constantly going back and forth between the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short taxi/shuttle ride to downtown.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Youngproeng
Business
California, USA
Jun 2, 2014

Great location for value

Hotel has a great restaurant and bar area, walking distance to Rainey street and 6th street. For the value this is a good choice if you are trying to budget. They also having decent parking and parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DISGUSTED GREG
Business
Dallas,Tx.
May 3, 2009

Conveniently Located

The hotel was located right off the freeway, so it made it very easy to get to some of the spots we were interested in visiting. It's located just a stone's throw from 6th street and Congress Ave, where a lot of the "nightlife" was happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We especially enjoyed the shops and restaurants along Congress Ave.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 5, 2010

Good location for the price

The location was convenient to downtown Austin and provided easy access to the trails along Lady Bird Lake. Hotel was clean but outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
May 26, 2008

Better than expected

Favorable experiences- Hotel reception was first class. Immediate apologies extended for construction zones and accommodated my request to have a quiet corner room. All front desk personnel placed emphasis on guest satisfaction throughout my 2 week stay. Room Service was superb...swift, reasonably priced and delivered with first class attention. Housekeeping services - special requests for additional towels were handled with unbelievable expediency. Unfavorable experiences - Just one. During a few attempts to find information about hotel services, one of the operators (male with deep voice) appeared to be bothered by my requests. Each time he answered, it seemed like he was just waking up. He could barely pronounce his words. Horrible impression of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

1 mile to many live entertainment clubs. One of the best is The Belmont - outside seating with front row views of local entertainment complemented by an attractice dining experience. You can drive, but the long walk (1 mile) is better as parking is typically difficult in the Belmont's location.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof_F
Business
ames, iowa
Aug 7, 2009

Great location by the lake

Stayed for 4 days on business. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning. The problem we encountered was that there were no quick services like getting snacks, gum, bottle of aspirin. The "gift shop" is run by a third party, has very limited hours. Worse yet, the hours posted we very rarely offered. When you want a bag of chips at 9:30pm, you are directed to the gas station across the parking lot. This seems to be a very simple service to offer, just run the gift shop and keep it open late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Jun 27, 2010

Good value, fair location

Room was clean. Service very friendly and helpful. Fronts on I35 but road noise in roomacceptable. In hot weather it is a tough walk to tourist areas andnightlife. Free parkingincovered garage. Lack of convenience a fair trade off for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, Texas
Sep 7, 2009

Average

Overall the stay was nice, I should have booked the "executive" Suite, Since the view of the lake was at somewhat of an odd angle, to see it clearly we had to step outside on the pool's balcony. I'm wondering if they have another pool on the tower which is part of that "executive" area. I hope they at least have another gym in it... The pool was small, and so was the gym area. The Hotel staff is courteous and helpful, just as others have mentioned before. The location is perfect for a short drive to downtown, and being next to the freeway makes it easy to get anywhere else in town. If you're up for a run around the lake, you can take a jog around at any time of the day since it's so close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the area around the time you want to see the Mexican Bats, it's a "Mid walk" down to Congress Bridge. Make sure that you study the Austin freeways if you're new to the area, a simple "U-turn" might take you 5-10 minutes due to the next underpass to get back to where you wanted to go.

Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizzy Brett
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 18, 2008

Off the Beaten Path

Stayed at the Holiday Inn during the recent Austin Marathon. About a mile from the warehouse district, I was pleased to discover the hotel shuttle would take me to the airport or downtown for free. The gym was kind of a joke, but the pool is not bad. Didn't use any of the restaurants or anything, but not a bad value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top