$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Good value for downtown Austin

Very helpful staff and great location to downtown Austin. See full review

  • Chad M.
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey... See full review

  • South Louisiana Traveler
  • Sep 2, 2014
Activities abound at this lakeside, downtown hotel

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake's main draw is a downtown Austin location by Lady Bird Lake. The hotel offers free shuttle service to Austin attractions or guests can take a mile-walk to the center of town. The hotel attracts active visitors with kayak, Segway and bike rentals in the hotel lobby for cruising hike and bike trails or exploring the lake. The rooftop pool has a gorgeous view of Lady Bird Lake, the perfect spot for swimming and sunbathing. For the latest blockbuster, hit up the hotel's private movie theater, with private concessions.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with bar
  • Private movie theater
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the hotel lobby
Location

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake is located on Lady Bird Lake, less than a mile from the convention center in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Guests find rooms at the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake comfortably appointed with contemporary furniture including a workspace, wooden armoire, an overstuffed chair and ottoman. Bright throws enliven soothing, muted beige and white tones dominating the rooms. A microwave and refrigerator offer added conveniences. Many executive rooms and suites offer stunning views of Lady Bird Lake.

 

Complimentary wireless Internet is available.

Features

Rent a Segway, kayak or bike in the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake lobby and cruise around Lady Bird Lake. Guests may also work out on up-to-date cardio equipment in the fitness center. After a long day, guests can relax and enjoy the view of the lake from the rooftop pool deck with a cold drink. The hotel's private movie theater screens the latest films. 

 

An easy walk or a free shuttle ride takes guests about a mile to downtown attractions, restaurants and music venues. The hotel's Pecan Tree Restaurant serves American food in a casual environment, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Complimentary self-parking is available, as well as complimentary wireless Internet access.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Austin Convention Center (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Zilker Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 13,677 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richardmet5550
Business
USA
Mar 27, 2013

Excellent

5 star hotel, vista views. outdoors enthusiasts book this hotel because city centre is within reasonable proximity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StanRay
Business
Richardson, TX
Apr 25, 2013

Good experience

The rooms are clean and service is great, only disadvantage is that the bathroom is small...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Brunswick
Dec 31, 2008

Very friendly employees

I was in town on business, but also to visit my family. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I arrived about 10:00 p.m. on the first night I was there. The bar was still open but the restaurant was closed. However, the bar tender told me I could order any of the appetizers. Apparently there was someone in the kitchen staying late who was willing to feed me. Very nice!!! I loved my view of Lady Bird Lake, which reminds me that I need to send all the pictures I took with my camera to my computer. I'll stay at this Holiday Inn again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hike and Bike Trail around Lady Bird Lake is just outside the front door of the hotel. The trail is filled with runners, walkers, joggers, and the occasional happy dog being walked. Rowers can be seen most of the time, with their coach in a boat coaching them. Just lovely!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conroe
Jul 5, 2008

Looked Professional

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful. They made our 4th of July an enjoyable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entainment, shopping, and resturants are very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Holiday Inn

Stayed one night to attend event on 6th street. Great location & pool. Staff and Manager - [...] were very accomodating! Plan to stay here every visit to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairhope, AL
Feb 2, 2011

Great hotel & location

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rpkt
Business
Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

awesome view and location

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room with the view of the lake was gorgeous! and the cab ride to sixth street was only $6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockwall, TX
Jul 27, 2008

Great Get Away

My teenage boy girl twins and I stayed at the hotel, and we were very pleased. We worked out, ran the trail by the lake just outside the hotel, and we loved the pool and its view of the lake. It is also very centrally located to fun things to do in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Town Lake and a great trail is right outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Apr 22, 2007

Pleasant and accomadating staff

As soon as I checked in to my room at the Holiday Inn Towne Lake, Austin, TX; I realized it would not work for me. The room was diectly across from the elevator that had a rather loud bling every time the elevator passed by the floor. I immediately closed the door to the room and returned to the front desk. I explained to the concierge that the bling would keep me awake all night. With no questions asked and a very friendly attitude, he set me up with another room that was no where near an elevator door. It is nice to receive friendly service right off the bat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located far enough away from the party district of Austin that you don't get any spill over but close enough that you can get there quickly, with a small cab fare, for dining or drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 17, 2008

Pleasantly Pleased

It had been quite a few years since I had stayed here and was concerned about what the years had done to the Hotel but was very pleased with the updates that were done. The Hotel staff was exceptionally helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

6th Street very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top