$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
78 reviews
Good experience

The rooms are clean and service is great, only disadvantage is that the bathroom is small... See full review

  • StanRay
  • Apr 25, 2013
Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey... See full review

  • South Louisiana Traveler
  • Sep 2, 2014
Activities abound at this lakeside, downtown hotel

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake's main draw is a downtown Austin location by Lady Bird Lake. The hotel offers free shuttle service to Austin attractions or guests can take a mile-walk to the center of town. The hotel attracts active visitors with kayak, Segway and bike rentals in the hotel lobby for cruising hike and bike trails or exploring the lake. The rooftop pool has a gorgeous view of Lady Bird Lake, the perfect spot for swimming and sunbathing. For the latest blockbuster, hit up the hotel's private movie theater, with private concessions.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with bar
  • Private movie theater
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the hotel lobby
Location

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake is located on Lady Bird Lake, less than a mile from the convention center in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Guests find rooms at the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake comfortably appointed with contemporary furniture including a workspace, wooden armoire, an overstuffed chair and ottoman. Bright throws enliven soothing, muted beige and white tones dominating the rooms. A microwave and refrigerator offer added conveniences. Many executive rooms and suites offer stunning views of Lady Bird Lake.

 

Complimentary wireless Internet is available.

Features

Rent a Segway, kayak or bike in the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake lobby and cruise around Lady Bird Lake. Guests may also work out on up-to-date cardio equipment in the fitness center. After a long day, guests can relax and enjoy the view of the lake from the rooftop pool deck with a cold drink. The hotel's private movie theater screens the latest films. 

 

An easy walk or a free shuttle ride takes guests about a mile to downtown attractions, restaurants and music venues. The hotel's Pecan Tree Restaurant serves American food in a casual environment, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Complimentary self-parking is available, as well as complimentary wireless Internet access.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Austin Convention Center (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Zilker Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 13,677 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Hotel Map

30.2547 -97.7371
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Jun 27, 2010

Good value, fair location

Room was clean. Service very friendly and helpful. Fronts on I35 but road noise in roomacceptable. In hot weather it is a tough walk to tourist areas andnightlife. Free parkingincovered garage. Lack of convenience a fair trade off for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2010

Better than expected

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the location, cleanliness and service offered by this hotel. We had a late check in(10pm) but when I asked them to call me a cab for a trip to 6th Street they provided a free shuttle ride. Did not expect that at all. The cab fare back to the hotel from 6th St. was a mere 7 dollars. The only reason I can't give a perfect score is because the bathroom looked a little worn and would like to have seen a little cheaper rate. Nonetheless, it was clean and that's what matters the most to my wife. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If going to sixth street, leave your car in the free hotel parking garage and take the hotel shuttle or a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso TX
May 20, 2010

convenient easy stay

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and efficient. Though there is no luxury here, it is convenient and makes travel stress free. Located close to the University of Texas, the Capital and downtown makes the free parking (NO VALET to pay or tip) an extra bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 5, 2010

Good location for the price

The location was convenient to downtown Austin and provided easy access to the trails along Lady Bird Lake. Hotel was clean but outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Real Estate Agent
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Mar 10, 2010

Won't be my first choice next time

The room was adequate at best, the carpet had stains and found an earring in the bed that didn't belong to me. For a room with 2 queen beds there was not a lot of space for anything else. The bathroom sink counter area is very small and tight quarters in the shower area also. The free shuttle, that is advertised on the Holiday Inn web page was difficult to arrange. I booked this hotel because of the shuttle and although they have 3 shuttle buses I only saw one run at a time, unless you are going to the airport you have to wait until shuttle is available or go to your destination early. I was in town for a convention at the convention center which is less than a mile away but had to arrive there earlier than the convention started because of the lack of transportation available, and getting back to the hotel sometimes took 45 minutes. I ordered rm service once and it was an hour late getting to my room so it didn't do me a whole lot of good. The front desk staff was very nice and it is definitely easier to set up your wake up call through the front desk rather than calling from you room. The restaurant inside the hotel was good and the staff is very friendly, just not always fast. This was my first visit to Austin, and the next time I go I might be willing to pay a little more just so I don't have to worry about the shuttle when I need or want it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parsippany, NJ
Jan 25, 2010

Good Value

room was updated and comfortable but why didn't they get new TVs? The one in the room must be 15 years old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of good places to run. Front Desk has good maps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jan 2, 2010

NYE good location

Check in was a breeze although the room was not quite ready..HK came in after I got to the room to finish up. It was a nice room but just off elevators so lots of noise plus noise frmo adjoining rooms. Although I was in a non-smoking room I could smell smoke from next room w/adjoining doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk a few blocks to pick up a Pedi cab to get around the 6th street area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Incaman
Business
Miramar,FL
Nov 9, 2009

OK for last minute

Great location but noisy for light sleepers if room is facing the always busy highway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for a short walk to the riverwalk, just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
young guy
Business
NY.NY
Oct 26, 2009

Holiday inn get-a-way

In the pictures it looks great but its not really that nice and the location is not that convenient to the convention center or downtown without taking a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S. Y.
Business
Pearland, TX
Oct 19, 2009

Dated but clean hotel

The hotel was a little dated, the elevators and carpeting in the hallways need to be changed, but they were clean. The carpeting in the rooms were clean, I didn't hesitate to walk on them with bare feet, the beddings were clean and comfortable. Needless to say, I'm a fan of clean. The rooms were small, the coffee machine was in the bathroom (I don't like that). On our budget though, it was a good price for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top