$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 10, 2015

Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

3 stars
20 North Ih-35, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Good value for downtown Austin

Very helpful staff and great location to downtown Austin. See full review

  • Chad M.
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location and helpful staff

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was in a great location--right around the corner from Rainey... See full review

  • South Louisiana Traveler
  • Sep 2, 2014
Activities abound at this lakeside, downtown hotel

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake's main draw is a downtown Austin location by Lady Bird Lake. The hotel offers free shuttle service to Austin attractions or guests can take a mile-walk to the center of town. The hotel attracts active visitors with kayak, Segway and bike rentals in the hotel lobby for cruising hike and bike trails or exploring the lake. The rooftop pool has a gorgeous view of Lady Bird Lake, the perfect spot for swimming and sunbathing. For the latest blockbuster, hit up the hotel's private movie theater, with private concessions.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with bar
  • Private movie theater
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the hotel lobby
Location

The Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake is located on Lady Bird Lake, less than a mile from the convention center in downtown Austin.

Rooms

Guests find rooms at the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake comfortably appointed with contemporary furniture including a workspace, wooden armoire, an overstuffed chair and ottoman. Bright throws enliven soothing, muted beige and white tones dominating the rooms. A microwave and refrigerator offer added conveniences. Many executive rooms and suites offer stunning views of Lady Bird Lake.

 

Complimentary wireless Internet is available.

Features

Rent a Segway, kayak or bike in the Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake lobby and cruise around Lady Bird Lake. Guests may also work out on up-to-date cardio equipment in the fitness center. After a long day, guests can relax and enjoy the view of the lake from the rooftop pool deck with a cold drink. The hotel's private movie theater screens the latest films. 

 

An easy walk or a free shuttle ride takes guests about a mile to downtown attractions, restaurants and music venues. The hotel's Pecan Tree Restaurant serves American food in a casual environment, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Complimentary self-parking is available, as well as complimentary wireless Internet access.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Austin Convention Center (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Zilker Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 13,677 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.9 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 2.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • One World Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.5 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 5.2 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 5.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 10.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Dining

Pecan Tree Restaurant
The Pecan Tree Restaurant is a full service, family friendly, casual dining atmosphere. We offer traditional favorites along with Austin's famous Tex Mex cuisine and locally inspired specialty entrees. We offer a full breakfast buffet seven days a week an
Tavern At Town Lake
Contemporary furniture, white leather sofas, club chairs, coctail tables, stools at the bar. Black granite bar and tables. Open airy feel, comfortable feel, computer friendly. Flat screen TVs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Roper
Business
Del Rio, TX
Jan 21, 2013

Worked for what I needed

Check in was suppose to be at 3, but my room had not been cleaned, so I had to wait a half hour. That actually gave me some time to explore the park right outside the doors which is nice. Room was clean, beds comfortable, shower was hot, TV is old, Highway was loud, but was drowned out by the AC unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Its about a mile to all the night life you need and I did not feel unsafe walking that distance through downtown. But as always, dont walk alone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devin L
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 14, 2013

Great vacation, top floor!

I loved this hotel. It was nice and clean and easy to get to. It was located right by Town Lake in Austin. We were on the top floor too which was exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonui
Business
HOuston
Nov 19, 2012

Great location and not expensive for the quality.

Great location and not expensive for the quality. Great location and not expensive for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NH in NC
Business
North Carolina
Nov 6, 2012

Great location

The staff is very friendly. The pool and lounge were great amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kilted Couple
Business
UK
Oct 22, 2012

Weekend in Austin

The hotel was in a good location by the lake and we enjoyed a walk there on Sun morning. Taxi was under $10 to take us to 6th street area and some of the tourist attractions. Our only complaint was that breakfast service was really slow and we feel there should have been more staff on duty. Also we noticed that they were going back to the kitchen empty handed when tables needed clearing when it would be simple to clear at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianW
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Oct 3, 2012

Conference

In town for a conference- shuttle service was excellent. Staff was friendly. Walking distance (a good little walk) to the convention center. Halls were a little drab, but I'd stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cabo47
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 27, 2012

Not what I expected...

The relatively close location to downtown Austin was the first attraction we had to this hotel. Through an internet search and reading reviews, the Holiday Inn Town Lake seemed to be a nice, clean place to stay. That outlook changed as soon as we walked into our room. We found urine in the toilet, as well as a not so clean bathroom with random holes in the walls. The air condition unit was filthy with dirt and appeared to have been neglected by any dusting or proper cleaning. Parts of the ceiling were torn and coming down as well. After explaining our finds to the hotel manager, she kindly gave us another room. Overall, our stay was decent but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoelB
Business
Dallas
Aug 20, 2012

Great hotel!

I haven't stayed here in over ten years and was afraid that over time, there would be a dropoff. It was spectacular and just as I remembered it. The pool view overlooking the lake is amazing. The breakfast was fantastic. Thanks so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt Lulu
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 25, 2012

Won't be going back

We were booked for a 3-night stay and checked out after the first night. The staff was very helpful in accomodating my request to check-out early. The bathtub was not clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Location was nice and convenient to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn AUSTIN-TOWN LAKE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BDT 2012
Business
Austin Texas
Jun 18, 2012

Close and Great Amenities

Love the fact that the segway tour was offer. It was the main reason we stay there over the weekend. The hotel and segway staff and tour guide was amazing. The hotel needs to be update a little bit because we almost got caught in the hotel elevator with a group of people, other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top