$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

2 stars
3105 N I-35, Austin, TX 78722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
Great place to stay for a reasonable price

Great location near downtown, comfortable and affordable. Great place to book for a weekend. See full review

  • Mongon
  • Apr 28, 2014
Our Favorite

The staff is attentive and responsive. They are what keep us coming back. Thank you for another... See full review

  • Muse3sqrd
  • Jan 29, 2014
Budget hotel near University of Texas at Austin with pool

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is two blocks north of the University of Texas, an easy walk to the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum and about two miles from the heart of downtown Austin and the 6th Street entertainment district. This budget hotel offers well-kept rooms with basic furnishings, mini refrigerators and microwaves, a small desk and TV with cable and HBO. The outdoor pool is very refreshing after a long day of tours or meetings and the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Location

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is located just off I-35, north of the University of Texas at Austin, two miles from 6th Street's entertainment district.

Rooms

Rooms are clean and quiet at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown and have a coffee maker, hair dryer, safe, iron with ironing board and cable TV with HBO. Guests also find microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Business travelers have a desk where they can work and enjoy a complimentary daily newspaper and free wireless Internet access. Smoking rooms are available upon request.

Features

Guests at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown can cool off in the pool after a long day of touring or meetings. Travelers appreciate the friendly hotel staff, complimentary continental breakfast and small business center for checking email. The hotel is located just two blocks north of the university and about two miles from downtown. Guests enjoy complimentary parking and free wireless Internet access. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (fees apply). The hotel is also pet friendly (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Attractions
  • LBJ Presidential Library (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.2mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2888 -97.7228
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.3 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 3.3 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 3.4 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • One World Theater: 4.9 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 7.5 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 11.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.8 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 13 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 107
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lexi fay
texas
Mar 19, 2014

Good for sxsw

I was a good price for sxsw. It was right next to the free way so you had the freeway noise. But other than that it's a overall good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Educator extraordinaire
Houston, tx
Mar 3, 2014

Location is not the best

Walking distance to the University of Texas Austin but not a good place to walk after dark. The people were friendly. The room is old but clean. Had a fridge and microwave but no table or chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sashito
Torrance, CA
Feb 8, 2013

It's alright.

A decent place to stay if you come to visit university.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and Female
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2013

Basic and clean; Loud at night

The first two nights of my stay were fine. The room was clean and had the basic amenities I would expect at a motel. The staff was friendly and they provided a very basic continental breakfast in the morning. This motel is literally right next to the highway, so it is loud at night and makes walking to the University of Texas a bit difficult. I am a sound sleeper, so I was able to sleep through the highway sounds, though I expect many people would need ear plugs. I did walk to the University, though I had to cross two dangerous lanes of traffic to do so. On the third night of my stay (a Saturday), I was awoken at 3am by loud partiers in the courtyard area. They were yelling, breaking beer bottles, knocking on doors, and running around on the balconies of the motel. Alone in my room, I was nervous to tell them to quiet down or even to turn on my light. I was kept awake for hours. In all other respects, this motel was adequate; however, I was very displeased with the third night and would not recommend this motel to anyone staying alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos A.
Brownsville, Texas
Nov 29, 2012

Good enough for a night

Used this hotel to visit with my daughter who recently went to college here, the best feature for this trip was property location, otherwise a very plain hotel, clean and reasonably comfortable but nothing really special about it. I wouldn't use it for a family vacation or couple getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cartmom
Seattle
Jun 28, 2012

decent place near the university

It was a fine place to stay to be near the University and quick access to the interstate. The rooms were clean and it was nice to take a dip in the pool. But not a place for lounging or sunbathing due to the heavy traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you purchase a short sightseeing tour through the visitor center you can show your stub to get discounts at a variety of places.

Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBMMHall
Monterey, CA
May 1, 2011

Good value for your money.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning worked! The 24 hour cafe on the corner if very cute and has great food. Only downside was being literally under the I-35 overpass. But hey, for these rates, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBMMHall
Monterey, CA
May 1, 2011

Good value for your money.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning worked! The 24 hour cafe on the corner if very cute and has great food. Only downside was being literally under the I-35 overpass. But hey, for these rates, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly musician
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 9, 2011

A decent Days Inn

I stayed here while visiting UT Austin as a potential grad school. It's pretty much your average Days Inn (ie you get what you pay for). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping staff keeps things clean. [...] There are better hotel options around the UT campus. The walls are pretty thin and I was woken up a few times by people chanting "shots" next door the last night of my stay. There's a diner in front of the hotel, but not many other restaurants within walking distance. If you don't have a car with you, you'll need to take public transportation or cab it to most places outside of the UT Campus. Coming from the northeast (land of the yellow cab), I found Austin's public transportation and cab system to be lacking. Overall, it's a decent hotel option for someone visiting UT that doesn't have a friend to stay with, especially if you're on a student budget. I wouldn't recommend this place for parents unless they're strapped for cash. You can probably find somewhere better for not that much more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's really close to the UT campus. That's pretty much the best thing this hotel's got going for it.

Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly musician
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 9, 2011

A decent Days Inn

I stayed here while visiting UT Austin as a potential grad school. It's pretty much your average Days Inn (ie you get what you pay for). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping staff keeps things clean. [...] There are better hotel options around the UT campus. The walls are pretty thin and I was woken up a few times by people chanting "shots" next door the last night of my stay. There's a diner in front of the hotel, but not many other restaurants within walking distance. If you don't have a car with you, you'll need to take public transportation or cab it to most places outside of the UT Campus. Coming from the northeast (land of the yellow cab), I found Austin's public transportation and cab system to be lacking. Overall, it's a decent hotel option for someone visiting UT that doesn't have a friend to stay with, especially if you're on a student budget. I wouldn't recommend this place for parents unless they're strapped for cash. You can probably find somewhere better for not that much more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's really close to the UT campus. That's pretty much the best thing this hotel's got going for it.

Back to menu Return to top