$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

2 stars
3105 N I-35, Austin, TX 78722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
71 reviews
Great place to stay for a reasonable price

Great location near downtown, comfortable and affordable. Great place to book for a weekend. See full review

  • Mongon
  • Apr 28, 2014
Our Favorite

The staff is attentive and responsive. They are what keep us coming back. Thank you for another... See full review

  • Muse3sqrd
  • Jan 29, 2014
Budget hotel near University of Texas at Austin with pool

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is two blocks north of the University of Texas, an easy walk to the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum and about two miles from the heart of downtown Austin and the 6th Street entertainment district. This budget hotel offers well-kept rooms with basic furnishings, mini refrigerators and microwaves, a small desk and TV with cable and HBO. The outdoor pool is very refreshing after a long day of tours or meetings and the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Location

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is located just off I-35, north of the University of Texas at Austin, two miles from 6th Street's entertainment district.

Rooms

Rooms are clean and quiet at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown and have a coffee maker, hair dryer, safe, iron with ironing board and cable TV with HBO. Guests also find microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Business travelers have a desk where they can work and enjoy a complimentary daily newspaper and free wireless Internet access. Smoking rooms are available upon request.

Features

Guests at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown can cool off in the pool after a long day of touring or meetings. Travelers appreciate the friendly hotel staff, complimentary continental breakfast and small business center for checking email. The hotel is located just two blocks north of the university and about two miles from downtown. Guests enjoy complimentary parking and free wireless Internet access. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (fees apply). The hotel is also pet friendly (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Attractions
  • LBJ Presidential Library (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.2mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary daily newspaper

Hotel Map

30.2888 -97.7228
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.3 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 3.3 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 3.4 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • One World Theater: 4.9 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 7.5 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 11.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.8 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 13 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Antonio Visitor
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Austin Outing

I was totally disappointed with the fact that the hotel failed to mention that they were remodeling the weekend I planned to stay in Austin. Had I known that, I would have chosen another hotel. When I called the front desk to ask if they can stop the noise, they said they would, but never did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner that was located right next to the hotel was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whyneednicknameeeeee
Business
Michigan
Jun 23, 2014

Extremely bad!

Full of cockroaches and ants! Extremely dirty. Never stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Educator extraordinaire
Business
Houston, tx
Mar 3, 2014

Location is not the best

Walking distance to the University of Texas Austin but not a good place to walk after dark. The people were friendly. The room is old but clean. Had a fridge and microwave but no table or chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 11, 2010

Not Worth the Price

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I had a cold shower on three of the mornings. If you want hot water, get up early. The location isn't great, however, there is a funky little diner next door. It is open 24 hours, so it's great regardless of time of day. Otherwise, you'd need a car as there isn't anything else near by. You are literally right next to I-35 and a hospital, so this is not a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
SLC, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Don't expect to feel safe or cozy...

This hotel is quite basic, to that extent it seemed a bit overpriced compared to other Days Inns I've stayed at. My biggest concern though was that the second evening I was there I arrived to find my hotel door ajar after I had put the do not disturb sign and made sure the door was securely closed before I left. Luckily, nothing was missing but it was quite jarring as far as being a young women traveling on my own. The night manager couldn't look over the security camera footage and I never even got an explanation or apology from the rest of the staff as to what had occurred. In addition, this hotel is down the street from St. David's medical center and ambulances pass quite frequently so if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sao Paulo's on San Jacinto had pretty good fare and wasn't to expensive. Their chocolate dreamtini was tasty. I recommend using smartphone apps to find places and things to do, although I had trouble using the hotel wi-ii on my phone which made it difficult to find directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and Female
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2013

Basic and clean; Loud at night

The first two nights of my stay were fine. The room was clean and had the basic amenities I would expect at a motel. The staff was friendly and they provided a very basic continental breakfast in the morning. This motel is literally right next to the highway, so it is loud at night and makes walking to the University of Texas a bit difficult. I am a sound sleeper, so I was able to sleep through the highway sounds, though I expect many people would need ear plugs. I did walk to the University, though I had to cross two dangerous lanes of traffic to do so. On the third night of my stay (a Saturday), I was awoken at 3am by loud partiers in the courtyard area. They were yelling, breaking beer bottles, knocking on doors, and running around on the balconies of the motel. Alone in my room, I was nervous to tell them to quiet down or even to turn on my light. I was kept awake for hours. In all other respects, this motel was adequate; however, I was very displeased with the third night and would not recommend this motel to anyone staying alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UT Visitor
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 16, 2013

Handy

Close to UT. Easy access to airport. Clean. Helpful staff. No atmosphere. Can serve as a clean, inexpensive, handy, non-descrript place to stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chrissy Boymom
Business
Dallas, Tx
Apr 29, 2013

Did the job

We needed a hotel for one night in Austin. Just a place to lay our head and have a hot shower. This place was not fancy but it was clean and had water pressure! Happy with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Collie Parents
Business
Canada
Nov 19, 2013

"Seen Better Days" Inn

Unfortunately, there were more negatives than positives for this hotel, which was showing its age. Let's start with the positives - the room was spotlessly clean, looked like it had been recently redecorated, and was a reasonable size. The fridge worked and the water was hot. The wireless internet was free and worked well. The staff was friendly. The floors were hard (i.e. not carpet# - not sure whether that is a pro or a con. I guess it depends on personal taste. It just surprised us. On the down side - room doors are to the outside #i.e. no indoor corridors#, which left me feeling less than secure. The area of town is quite run down. The worst, though, was the unimaginable, constant traffic noise of two levels of the I-35 so close that you could hand coffee to the drivers out the window. Fortunately, though, the roar of the air conditioning unit almost blocked that out. There is no closet at all #just a rail on the bedroom wall to hang things on# and, most importantly for us, no room safe. This forced us to carry electronics and passports wherever we went, which was a bit of an inconvenience. Upon filling the bathroom sink, we found that there was no way to raise the plug #the mechanism on the tap was broken), so we had to climb under the vanity to operate the plug from there. We were here for the Grand Prix weekend. This location was a moderate driving distance from the track and about 10 minutes' drive from downtown. Unfortunately, we did not feel safe walking around the immediate area of the hotel. That was not a big loss, though, as there is not much by way of restaurants and/or things to do in this area of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not stay here during the Grand Prix weekend as prices increase to the absurd for this type of accomodation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Mar 14, 2011

Days Inn

We decided to head up to Austin to hit 6th street. It just so happened to be South by Southwest weekend. The hotel price was extremely inflated for the weekend which was understandable. The location was great since it was walking distance to UT and a taxi cab ride of about 12.00 to 6th street. However, the hotel is literally right next to IH 35 so you can hear the traffic while sleeping. The amenities were very simple and little old. The room kind of shaked while you walked in certain places of the room for one season. Needless to say the price of the hotel was certainly not a 200.00 stay but it was lower then other hotels. I wouldn't stay there again if other hotels were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top