$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

2 stars
View map of 3105 N I-35, Austin, TX 78722

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
80 reviews
Cozy stay

I booked this hotel for my visiting parents, they liked the coziness ofbthe hotel. So I guess it is... See full review

  • Ratio Z
  • Mar 3, 2015
Great place to stay for a reasonable price

Great location near downtown, comfortable and affordable. Great place to book for a weekend. See full review

  • Mongon
  • Apr 28, 2014
Budget hotel near University of Texas at Austin with pool

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is two blocks north of the University of Texas, an easy walk to the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum and about two miles from the heart of downtown Austin and the 6th Street entertainment district. This budget hotel offers well-kept rooms with basic furnishings, mini refrigerators and microwaves, a small desk and TV with cable and HBO. The outdoor pool is very refreshing after a long day of tours or meetings and the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Location

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is located just off I-35, north of the University of Texas at Austin, two miles from 6th Street's entertainment district.

Rooms

Rooms are clean and quiet at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown and have a coffee maker, hair dryer, safe, iron with ironing board and cable TV with HBO. Guests also find microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Business travelers have a desk where they can work and enjoy a complimentary daily newspaper and free wireless Internet access. Smoking rooms are available upon request.

Features

Guests at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown can cool off in the pool after a long day of touring or meetings. Travelers appreciate the friendly hotel staff, complimentary continental breakfast and small business center for checking email. The hotel is located just two blocks north of the university and about two miles from downtown. Guests enjoy complimentary parking and free wireless Internet access. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (fees apply). The hotel is also pet friendly (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Attractions
  • LBJ Presidential Library (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.2mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary daily newspaper

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • 6th Street Entertainment District: 1.8 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • 6th Street Entertainment District: 1.8 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.3 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 3.3 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 3.4 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • One World Theater: 4.9 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 7.5 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 11.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.8 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 13 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Antonio Visitor
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Austin Outing

I was totally disappointed with the fact that the hotel failed to mention that they were remodeling the weekend I planned to stay in Austin. Had I known that, I would have chosen another hotel. When I called the front desk to ask if they can stop the noise, they said they would, but never did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner that was located right next to the hotel was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whyneednicknameeeeee
Business
Michigan
Jun 23, 2014

Extremely bad!

Full of cockroaches and ants! Extremely dirty. Never stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerome G.
Business
Libertyville
Mar 26, 2015

Days Inn Austin

The listing indicated that the hotel was 'downtown.' It is not. It is 2 miles from downtown. I paid $300 for this basic motel thinking it was downtown. I wanted something close. I could have save $150 by going another mile or two and end up with the same inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JUSTIN H.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

No cable an safe was not usable

when we arrived everythig seemed ok we we to eat dinner right across the street came back to shower then wanted to go out into Austin to go watch a movie an we wanted to leave our value belongings in the Safe an the safe was broken we went to manager an she said maintness guy had left for the night so we could go out an then realized the cable tv was not working either He fixed t in the morning. At 930 an had to leave by 11 not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Educator extraordinaire
Business
Houston, tx
Mar 3, 2014

Location is not the best

Walking distance to the University of Texas Austin but not a good place to walk after dark. The people were friendly. The room is old but clean. Had a fridge and microwave but no table or chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 11, 2010

Not Worth the Price

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I had a cold shower on three of the mornings. If you want hot water, get up early. The location isn't great, however, there is a funky little diner next door. It is open 24 hours, so it's great regardless of time of day. Otherwise, you'd need a car as there isn't anything else near by. You are literally right next to I-35 and a hospital, so this is not a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
SLC, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Don't expect to feel safe or cozy...

This hotel is quite basic, to that extent it seemed a bit overpriced compared to other Days Inns I've stayed at. My biggest concern though was that the second evening I was there I arrived to find my hotel door ajar after I had put the do not disturb sign and made sure the door was securely closed before I left. Luckily, nothing was missing but it was quite jarring as far as being a young women traveling on my own. The night manager couldn't look over the security camera footage and I never even got an explanation or apology from the rest of the staff as to what had occurred. In addition, this hotel is down the street from St. David's medical center and ambulances pass quite frequently so if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sao Paulo's on San Jacinto had pretty good fare and wasn't to expensive. Their chocolate dreamtini was tasty. I recommend using smartphone apps to find places and things to do, although I had trouble using the hotel wi-ii on my phone which made it difficult to find directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and Female
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2013

Basic and clean; Loud at night

The first two nights of my stay were fine. The room was clean and had the basic amenities I would expect at a motel. The staff was friendly and they provided a very basic continental breakfast in the morning. This motel is literally right next to the highway, so it is loud at night and makes walking to the University of Texas a bit difficult. I am a sound sleeper, so I was able to sleep through the highway sounds, though I expect many people would need ear plugs. I did walk to the University, though I had to cross two dangerous lanes of traffic to do so. On the third night of my stay (a Saturday), I was awoken at 3am by loud partiers in the courtyard area. They were yelling, breaking beer bottles, knocking on doors, and running around on the balconies of the motel. Alone in my room, I was nervous to tell them to quiet down or even to turn on my light. I was kept awake for hours. In all other respects, this motel was adequate; however, I was very displeased with the third night and would not recommend this motel to anyone staying alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UT Visitor
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 16, 2013

Handy

Close to UT. Easy access to airport. Clean. Helpful staff. No atmosphere. Can serve as a clean, inexpensive, handy, non-descrript place to stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chrissy Boymom
Business
Dallas, Tx
Apr 29, 2013

Did the job

We needed a hotel for one night in Austin. Just a place to lay our head and have a hot shower. This place was not fancy but it was clean and had water pressure! Happy with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top