$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

2 stars
View map of 3105 N I-35, Austin, TX 78722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKDBOY
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Just a cheap clean place to stay

In Austin for a Taekwondo tournament.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Near convention center, 6th street bars, I-35, and Univ. of Texas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Espanola NM
Feb 10, 2011

Good location for the price,

We visit with our Grandson who is leaving for Iraq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is best to take a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly musician
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 9, 2011

A decent Days Inn

I stayed here while visiting UT Austin as a potential grad school. It's pretty much your average Days Inn (ie you get what you pay for). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping staff keeps things clean. [...] There are better hotel options around the UT campus. The walls are pretty thin and I was woken up a few times by people chanting "shots" next door the last night of my stay. There's a diner in front of the hotel, but not many other restaurants within walking distance. If you don't have a car with you, you'll need to take public transportation or cab it to most places outside of the UT Campus. Coming from the northeast (land of the yellow cab), I found Austin's public transportation and cab system to be lacking. Overall, it's a decent hotel option for someone visiting UT that doesn't have a friend to stay with, especially if you're on a student budget. I wouldn't recommend this place for parents unless they're strapped for cash. You can probably find somewhere better for not that much more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's really close to the UT campus. That's pretty much the best thing this hotel's got going for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Feb 8, 2011

Serviceable motel in Austin

The Days Inn is located next to I-35 in a slightly seedy part of town. However the room was clean and nice and neither the highway nor the neighborhood was an issue. It was fine for an overnight stay, and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richardson, TX
Jan 24, 2011

Great stay for price and Location.

Has doors that go directly to the outside and right off highway. Asked for a room in the back and the motel backs up to houses, they were having a fire reminded me of camping. Older motel, newly remodeled, worked for us since we were not in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there to visit the convention center and it was less that 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firkinub
Business
Long Island NY
Nov 26, 2010

Central Basic & Clean

I have previously stayed at this Days Inn while visiting my son who is a student at the University. The location of the hotel is ideal, as it is right next to the campus. However, being on 1-35 (literally ON it) is somewhat of a noise deterrent. However, requesting a room furthest from the road at check in helps. Also, running the fan continuously in the room creates a white noise background that blocks out other noise. Bear in mind this is a MOTOR COURT STYLE hotel--it is more like a MOTEL in terms of the layout/style/amenities. If you can go with this type of lodging, then it is fine. If you are expecting a 'hotel', then you will be let down big time. The price reflects this. However it is clean and beds are firm, with the standard style bedding. Not exactly a 'romantic getaway' place. But it definitely serves a purpose as a centrally-located utility lodging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is quick shopping a couple of minutes up the road on 1-35... Exit 238A has a big shopping center with a Target, Ross (Dress for Less), Dollar Tree, plus a bunch of smaller stores...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Nov 14, 2010

Great Location

The location was perfect for game day. In walking distance to stadium. Cheap cap ride to 6th st, you can walk but it is a long walk. Rooms were updated, but the there was a hot water issue. But overall great for what we needed it for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grt
Business
Corpus Christi tx
Oct 23, 2010

Nice

The stay was nice. Service was friendly and rooms were clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 11, 2010

Not Worth the Price

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I had a cold shower on three of the mornings. If you want hot water, get up early. The location isn't great, however, there is a funky little diner next door. It is open 24 hours, so it's great regardless of time of day. Otherwise, you'd need a car as there isn't anything else near by. You are literally right next to I-35 and a hospital, so this is not a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 8, 2010

Excellent Stay

Good stay, helpful staff facilitated an early departure with full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Next door is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top