$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

2 stars
3105 N I-35, Austin, TX 78722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Great place to stay for a reasonable price

Great location near downtown, comfortable and affordable. Great place to book for a weekend. See full review

  • Mongon
  • Apr 28, 2014
Our Favorite

The staff is attentive and responsive. They are what keep us coming back. Thank you for another... See full review

  • Muse3sqrd
  • Jan 29, 2014
Budget hotel near University of Texas at Austin with pool

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is two blocks north of the University of Texas, an easy walk to the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum and about two miles from the heart of downtown Austin and the 6th Street entertainment district. This budget hotel offers well-kept rooms with basic furnishings, mini refrigerators and microwaves, a small desk and TV with cable and HBO. The outdoor pool is very refreshing after a long day of tours or meetings and the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Location

The Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown is located just off I-35, north of the University of Texas at Austin, two miles from 6th Street's entertainment district.

Rooms

Rooms are clean and quiet at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown and have a coffee maker, hair dryer, safe, iron with ironing board and cable TV with HBO. Guests also find microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Business travelers have a desk where they can work and enjoy a complimentary daily newspaper and free wireless Internet access. Smoking rooms are available upon request.

Features

Guests at the Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown can cool off in the pool after a long day of touring or meetings. Travelers appreciate the friendly hotel staff, complimentary continental breakfast and small business center for checking email. The hotel is located just two blocks north of the university and about two miles from downtown. Guests enjoy complimentary parking and free wireless Internet access. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (fees apply). The hotel is also pet friendly (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Attractions
  • LBJ Presidential Library (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.2mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary daily newspaper

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 0.4 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 1 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 1.4 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 2 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 2.1 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.3 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 3.3 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 3.4 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • One World Theater: 4.9 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 7.5 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 11.5 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.8 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 13 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2011

AMAZING STAY!

This hotel was conveniently located close to my apartment near UT's campus, so it was perfect for my parents. The staff was very sweet, the breakfast was delicious (and free!) and best of all, the mattress had a cover! Sounds strange, but I had the unfortunate experience of getting bed bugs in a foreign country, so I always check the mattress before unpacking anything. I will definitely set them up again here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a Segway Nation tour! They were fun, informative, and the best way to see the city without hiking all about town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls Tx
Apr 18, 2011

Wonderful Stay!

Front desk was very helpful and courtious..Rooms were nice and I had a wonderful stay. Will definitley recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Apr 6, 2011

Good stay

Good decent hotel. Nothing fancy but just the basics. Close to UT Austin and much cheaper than the downtown hotels. Simple breakfast. Worked good for a one-night stay in Austin for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
SLC, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Don't expect to feel safe or cozy...

This hotel is quite basic, to that extent it seemed a bit overpriced compared to other Days Inns I've stayed at. My biggest concern though was that the second evening I was there I arrived to find my hotel door ajar after I had put the do not disturb sign and made sure the door was securely closed before I left. Luckily, nothing was missing but it was quite jarring as far as being a young women traveling on my own. The night manager couldn't look over the security camera footage and I never even got an explanation or apology from the rest of the staff as to what had occurred. In addition, this hotel is down the street from St. David's medical center and ambulances pass quite frequently so if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sao Paulo's on San Jacinto had pretty good fare and wasn't to expensive. Their chocolate dreamtini was tasty. I recommend using smartphone apps to find places and things to do, although I had trouble using the hotel wi-ii on my phone which made it difficult to find directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orestesv
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 25, 2011

surprisingly good

went for SXSW. the location was very good, staff was very helpful. They provided a average breakfast and there was a 24hour cafe right next door. I would stay again. Its not fancy but will do for a weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

a cab to 6th street for 4 people was about 12bucks one way. Well worth it parking down there is 20bucks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Helloman
Business
Daly City, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Downtown??

The staff was really nice and the rooms were clean. TV much larger than the Mark Hopkins, where I stayed a few weeks earlier. The only issue I had was location. Great hotel if you are going to a game at Texas stadium but a bit of distance from SXSW. (2 miles) Not an issue but they called this "downtown". Normally I hate it when people use those quotation marks. If you are staying here for SXSW then you will take the 37 bus to/from. Download the application The staff was super nice, rooms were clean, just a bit far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 37 Bus to/from Downtown. Get the application so you are not sitting around like an idiot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Mar 14, 2011

Days Inn

We decided to head up to Austin to hit 6th street. It just so happened to be South by Southwest weekend. The hotel price was extremely inflated for the weekend which was understandable. The location was great since it was walking distance to UT and a taxi cab ride of about 12.00 to 6th street. However, the hotel is literally right next to IH 35 so you can hear the traffic while sleeping. The amenities were very simple and little old. The room kind of shaked while you walked in certain places of the room for one season. Needless to say the price of the hotel was certainly not a 200.00 stay but it was lower then other hotels. I wouldn't stay there again if other hotels were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKDBOY
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Just a cheap clean place to stay

In Austin for a Taekwondo tournament.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Near convention center, 6th street bars, I-35, and Univ. of Texas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Espanola NM
Feb 10, 2011

Good location for the price,

We visit with our Grandson who is leaving for Iraq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is best to take a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly musician
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 9, 2011

A decent Days Inn

I stayed here while visiting UT Austin as a potential grad school. It's pretty much your average Days Inn (ie you get what you pay for). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping staff keeps things clean. [...] There are better hotel options around the UT campus. The walls are pretty thin and I was woken up a few times by people chanting "shots" next door the last night of my stay. There's a diner in front of the hotel, but not many other restaurants within walking distance. If you don't have a car with you, you'll need to take public transportation or cab it to most places outside of the UT Campus. Coming from the northeast (land of the yellow cab), I found Austin's public transportation and cab system to be lacking. Overall, it's a decent hotel option for someone visiting UT that doesn't have a friend to stay with, especially if you're on a student budget. I wouldn't recommend this place for parents unless they're strapped for cash. You can probably find somewhere better for not that much more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's really close to the UT campus. That's pretty much the best thing this hotel's got going for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top